We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky and lovable find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta to your Saves list
Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta
Gg Ngadinegaran 103B | Mantrijeron, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Central Pool Villa
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quirky and lovable find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was a great find. Quirky and eccentric are two good words to describe it. We stayed in the Gold Villa. The interior design is a bit antique shop meets thrift shop which makes it quite charming and unique. The location - once you find it - is great for exploring Yogyakarta. Definitely take advantage of their free airport pickup or you may never get there. We came from Borobudur and even though our driver was on the phone several times with the owners of VPT we drove around in circles for a long time until the hosts finally came out on the street and waved us down. Please understand that this is a house in a local neighborhood. It is busy and noisy and wonderful. Once you get your bearings it's an easy walk into town and lots of great restaurants and bars. And where else can you get a fully equipped one bedroom house with huge garden and swimming pool for this price. It would be great for a young family exploring the area. There are a few simple little repair jobs which could/should be attended to improve the standard. But we loved it and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our 4 nights stay in the newest villa 'bronze' and we like to go back. The villa's are situated next to a mosque (silver the closest) and despite of the Ramadan (praying in the middle of the night and early in the morning) it did not bother us very much and we found it charming: you are in Indonesia! However earplugs are very helpfull. The private pool is big enough and the villa very spacious. The mattress on the bed and sheets felt perfect so we slept very good. Concrete bed however needs some skills ;-)! Price-Quality of the villa is good! Breakfast is o.k however is plain and very simple presented. Cleanliness also fine but not spotless. In just 5 minutes walk you find some modern restaurants (f.e. kmeal with also payable French/Australian wines) and 10 minutes walk you are in Jalan Prawirotaman with a lot of modern restaurants (Easy going serves nice payable asian dishes and Hani's asian and international; ViaVia we did not try because looked very 'see and be seen'), tour offices and laundry service. Also a lot of food stalls with typical Indonesian food. The reason we do not give 4 stars is:
* we had to wait a very long time at the airport for our pick-up
* the villa bronze was new but not complete established f.e. no towel rack and minimal furnishing/inventory and felt not cosy yet (however we saw villa silver and looked complete and perfect)
* no mattresses in the sun beds and this was not comfortable (the owner promised us by e-mail next time we visit they have matresses)
* staff was very nice (we loved Roman) but did not speak English very well and were not really pro-active
* little square/entrance of the villa's and staff-area looked chaotic
After our visit I had e-mail contact with the owner and she agreed with me and told me to improve on these points (she was not around for some months). I believe she will and thats why I recommend these villa's!
and we definitely will return when we are in Yogya!

Room Tip: When you are a "light" sleeper is the silver villa (in time of Ramadan) not the best choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the diamond villa. A very nice en complete villa, with two bedrooms, a giant bathroom (two showers), and a fully equiped kitchen. Outside there is a nice veranda and terrace and your very own swimming pool. The staff is most generous and helpfull. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be arranged in the villa, but because of the location, you can very easily walk to nearby restaurants.
It is a marvelous little resort! One little detail: because of the mosque, which is at close distance from the villas, you will hear the prayers. We stayed in Yogjakarta during ramadhan, so also at 03.00 hrs you will here the morning prayers, but as already said in other reviews, you get used to it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the Gold Villa at this small resort. This villa is fully equiped and has 2 bedrooms which can easily house 4 persons. When you arrive at Pondok Terra you think you are in the wrong place. The villas are right in the middle of the Kampung and you think you are far away from the centre. But if you then walk for 5 minutes you find that you are actually right in the centre. This means that you can do anything you want by foot or by becak. That is a big advantage as you do not need taxis etc. You have your own swimming pool at the villa. The staff is very friendly and they can arrange breakfast, lunch or dinner for you. The villas are beatifull. The only disadvantage is that there is a mosque very close by so in the middle of the night you wake up because of the mosque, but after a while you get used to this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Most of the good reviews covered the good points. Will elaborate on what could be better and personal likes.

Likes:
Very near to many cafés/bistros. 5mins walk to K meal (steaks, pizzeria, breakfast), Warung Che Sule (fantastic bbq fish/chic along jln parangtritis entrance)
Peaceful, cosy and friendly village
Comes with a water dispenser

Could be better:
Lighting, some parts could use more lights/white lights. Bathroom shower stall is dark if you close the curtains(hence attracts mozzies), Patio lighting sparse and only near pool.
Cleanliness: generally clean but as the villa caters to international guests, staff needs to remember that generally Europeans/Americans wear footwear in house and mop the floor before next guest checks in. Fridge could do with a cleaning too.

Would I stay again?
Yes and will request for more cleaning (stayed 2 nights so didn't bother)

Room Tip: bronze room minimal greenery less mosquitoes Silver villa closest to mosque but morning prayers not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaYogyakarta, Owner at Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review. Our Bronze villa is just newly build and any suggestions for improvement are very much welcome. Based on your suggestions, we have now checked and improved the lightning of the villa's and also brightened the lightning of the patio/swimming pool area. All villa's are always mopped before new guests arrive! Our personnel is always happy to do extra cleaning if you feel it is necessary, they are available 24 hours for any help you may need. Thanks and looking forward to your next stay:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

As the title of my review suggests there was in unfortunate start to our stay at Pondok Terra. They forgot to pick us up from the airport!!!!!!! I had their number and had no luck getting through so we took a chance on a local taxi driver to find it. Believe me it wasn't too easy either. Still they were extremely apologetic. It's hard to be too upset as they were extremely nice and pretty much everything else was good. That's why I only gave a 4 out of 5. The house was extremely attractive (diamond villa) and the staff were super helpful. It seems like its in an obscure spot but after a couple of days getting to know the area we quickly leant is was well located. Especially for numerous restaurants and art galleries.
The house was clean and the pool a lovely treat. My only other gripe would be that I did not find the bed comfortable or the bed linen very nice. (Towels either) Still this would not stop me from returning. Overall it was a good experience being in he middle of a kampung and I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaYogyakarta, Owner at Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review. We really appreciate that you found villa Diamond extremely attractive and our staff super helpful and at least considered to give us 5 stars for your review. We always look for opportunities to further improve our service and have immediately checked all mattresses of all 4 villa's and replaced those which may not offer the best sleeping comfort. Furthermore, we have added a couple of bed linen sets and have added some new pillows to improve the attractiveness of the beds. Furthermore, Yogyakarta airport is getting more and more crowded and fortunately we can locate 99% of our guests for the free pick-up service at the airport. In your case unfortunately it didn't work out as planned (I was actually on the same flight), again my sincere apologies and we hope you have enjoyed your free breakfast we have offered you in return for this ''one big slip'' :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had a perfect stay at Villa Pondok Terra. I was there just for a short period, but would have liked to stay longer. Nice private pool and a lot around to see and many restaurants and supermarkets. Great place, recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta

Address: Gg Ngadinegaran 103B | Mantrijeron, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Pondok Terra is situated in the historical centre of Yogyakarta, close to Jl. Mallioboro and in the middle of a touristic area with restaurants, moneychangers, coffeeshops, cafe's, art galleries etc. on walking distance. Pondok Terra offers 4 luxurious private villa's with a traditional Javanese ambiance. Each villa has a 200-240 m2 garden and its own private swimming pool. While centrally located, the property provides a quiet, intimate hideaway in the middle of Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pondok Terra Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.