We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ministry of Coffee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ministry of Coffee to your Saves list
Ministry of Coffee
Jalan Prawirotaman I/15a, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 329 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Macao
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Nice little hotel and extremely caring and helpful staff. We lived in the blue mountain room which has a private entrance. The staff were very courteous and helpful (rushing to bring us umbrellas when we arrived in rain, arranging for a breakfast box to take along when we left early in the morning to see Borobudur and a number of such actions that spoke of concern and consideration beyond obligation). The cafe has a good selection of cakes and eatables and we strongly recommend the chocolate banana pancake for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
35
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

First the good, very friendly and helpful staff at the hotel. Location was ok a short taxi ride to the main shopping n attraction area. but it all depend on the traffic, was there during the long weekend and it was pack. All taxi driver have no problem finding the hotel, also insist on using the meter for all trip.

Breakfast was ok but not alot of variety probably due to the amount of guest in the hotel. Tips take the local dishes instead :) taste much better at least for me.

Room was big and roomy. Very comfortable after a long day of shopping and touring. House keeping was wonderful one of the best we ever seen in our frequent traveling. And WIFI is provided FOC :)

Restaurant environment was good but the food so-so. But it is a good place unwind after a long day. No choice to try the cakes through course we are not into sweet stuff :)

Now for the bad, Room is starting to show it age, the bathroom and bathtub look old and a little dirty. The door leading to the balcony was not really in working condition had a hard time trying to close it after opening them. And hair dryer should be just placed in the room instead of requesting from the front desk.

Overall a very nice little hotel but with it flaws. I will recommand this hotel to anyone coming to jogya.

Notes: When going to Prambanan you can book a private transport to and fore for about 100k.and ya get a guide :). If you are looking for Dagadu they are located inside centro at Amplaz and basement of Malioboro Mall.

When try to upload the photo once i am free.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Ministry Of Coffee. Unique name and memorable. The hotel is minimalist, comfortable, also they provide library, coffee shop, and they mixed all the things pretty awesome !!! Yet, we can still feel traditional touch of Yogyakarta. Sometimes we have hard time to book and get room in this hotel, but just try your best and you can enjoy this unique boutique hotel.

Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

The MoC is located at Prawirotaman. It is possibly one of the best "hotels" / B&B's on the street.

(Note: There are 2 Prawirotaman streets. This is the cleaner one. Prawirotaman II is considerably seedier and does not seem very safe for guests)

We stayed in the deluxe room for 3 nights. The room itself is nice and airy with high ceilings. There is a small balcony and fish pond outside our room. However, the TV is a small old CRT that was wall mounted. It was so high that we practically had to crane our necks to watch TV.

Breakfast is 8-11am. The selection available is small but delicious. Be prepared to wait for your food as it is going to be cooked from scratch. If you need an early breakfast, MoC provides takeaways. Hint: Take the quiche. The fruits & yogurt have been left overnight and have turned brown by the time they give it to you. The croissant is cold and hard and the butter melted by the microwaving.

The staff there generally try to be helpful but we had 2 hiccups when we there a few days ago.

1) they screwed up our room bookings. We had booked three nights, confirmed 3 nights stay and in our bill paid for 3 nights.... but somehow, MOC had made an error and we had a nail biting few hours when they told us that we had only booked for 2 nights and needed to extend. I did not appreciate being told that our "extension" was approved by one of the staff. Hell, you screwed up... you should be apologising to me!!!! We had all the e-mails and confirmation in writing... man.

Anyway, the next morning, we saw 2 ppl waiting to check in. They were directed to another place and told that one day of their stay would be free. At least, they did service recovery for those guests. It didn't make me feel any better though for being slighted like that the day before.

2) The Cable Box in our room wasn't working well. It wasn't something that could be helped.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

My partner and I stayed for about 9 days in the Standard Double Bed Private Ensuite room. We really liked the place - the rooms were well kept, clean and light and airy. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room had wifi, TV, aircon, bedside lamp, and tea/coffee making facilities (kettle/instant coffee, cups, saucer). Two small bottles of water are complimentary every day. There was a little balcony (and I mean really little - about 1m by 2m) which had quite a good view as we were on the third storey (there are 3 storeys total). Because there aren't that many rooms, the place has more of a guesthouse feel than a big hotel, which is what we were hoping for.
The front of Ministry of Coffee is actually a cafe, and there is a ground area with outside seating, as well as a nice light mezzanine floor. The cafe has a library, and we were pleased to find a pretty good selection of books, both fiction and non-fiction.
Location: MoC is located on Prawirotaman which is a tourist strip, but not too crowded, and there are plenty of cafes and resturants nearby.
Food: Breakfast was included in the the room cost, and there were heaps of good options, including banana chocolate pancakes, fresh fruit platter and muesli. There was quite a big selection of cakes and the truffle torte and lemon grape cake were the best (stay away from the chocolate bread and butter pudding though, it's kind of gross!). We didn't really try any mains from the menu, as we're vegetarian and there weren't many vego options.

Best things: friendly staff, clean rooms, awesome breakfast.
Things that could have been improved: no swimming pool, no fridge.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in transit
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

The MoC is a little boutique hotel, set back a little off Prawirotaman. I stayed in the Deluxe room and everything was fantastic about it. Tub, good hot shower, free wifi in the room, daily cleaning, a good bed, a safe and a private balcony overlooking plants and a fish pond. Breakfast is included and you get to choose the night before. And it's not just a standard toast and jam breakfast. You get the works. Delicious.

The staff is very attentive. On my last morning, when I had to check out really early, the staff arranged for a take-away breakfast for me.

It might be slightly expensive for Yogyakarta, but you definitely get the five star treatment. If I would ever go back to Yogya, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Reservations are highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is a small guesthouse right in the center of a tourist area with many businesses catering to foreign travelers - tours, restaurants, bars, etc. But it's set back from the street a bit and is surprisingly quiet.

They offer a choice of rooms. The deluxe rooms have a small balcony and are a little larger than the standard room. I stayed in a standard room, which was priced quite reasonably and an excellent breakfast (and great coffee!) was included in the room rate. The room itself was quite small, but they did manage to put in all the important things - air conditioner and private bath, and a view of the courtyard. I was impressed by the cleanliness of the place - by any standard, it was squeaky clean, and the daily housekeeping was a plus.

Staff was helpful and proficient in English. There's a nice area upstairs from the lobby where you can read one of their many books or just kick back on one of the couches. The cafe downstairs offers excellent food. You get your choice of several hearty breakfasts, great muffins and - did I mention the excellent coffee?

If I return to this area, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ministry of Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ministry of Coffee

Address: Jalan Prawirotaman I/15a, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front Look of Ministry of Coffee Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ministry of Coffee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ministry Of Coffee Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ministry of Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.