We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ministry of Coffee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ministry of Coffee to your Saves list
Ministry of Coffee
Jalan Prawirotaman I/15a, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 339 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Jaipur, India
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
657 helpful votes 657 helpful votes
“Small but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This name is little new to me, so decided to book it for three nights stay. A Reasonable priced (with breakfast) Small hotel with few rooms: so each room has a name of it and not number. It has a library(Books and videos), Prayer room, Free WiFi, and a nice small garden like sitting area for food. If you want to go early for tour, they will give take-away breakfast.
They need to improve upon furniture, which seems to be old and ........
.
Very nice location: most of the hotels in Yogyakarta are around. Nearby plenty number of restaurants are located, offering all kind of food. The famous attraction in the town : 'Kraton' (Kings Palace and museum) is just three kilometers away. The famous streets Jalan A. Yani and Jl. Malioboro are further down from Kraton. So a one dollar Becak ride will take you to these places.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room if you are not a early riser because the Mosque loud-speakers at 5am will wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
37
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My first encounter with Ministry of Coffee was several years back when I was still studying in the city. It was really nice to do some college assignment or preparing for the semester examination there with its decent coffee, tempting pastries, and quite place.

Now that I have already left the city and move to the capital, visiting MoC is still a priority thing to do every time i visit Jogja. Tried the guess room also, and guess what, the experience is just as bolder as the coffee.

You can just stay the whole day in the coffee shop or in front of the room, reading your favorite books, or just have a chat with another traveler who love coffee as well. Or if you need more than just coffee and read, you can always go outside and have a walk through the crowd of prawirotaman.

What's so nice about MoC is the ambience, it is so crowded and loud outside, well it's prawirotaman after all, yet it's so relaxed inside. The serenity will let your mind rest for a while from the outburst of big city.

Last time i stayed there, i got free 1 night stay after 9 consecutive nights staying there, not sure if it's remain the same at the moment.

Over all, MoC is not too much, not too less, it fits.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The guesthouse only has a few rooms behind the cafe on a main tourist street in Jogja, so the location is good. and close to all kinds of tourist services. The room is fine, has AC, TV, DVD player so is comfortable.Biggest problem was the bathroom- for some reason everytime you shower it would flood the bathroom and this was difficult to avoid. Also, somewhat ironically, the coffee was not really that good. Overall a fine place to stay if you just want somewhere to rest your head after you have checked out the sights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Me and my family stay here for one day on February 2012. We booked two rooms, with no connecting door. We decided to stay there after read all the reviews in tripadvisor.

Most of the review say it, nice and clean room, friendly staff, and nice coffee. The room services and restaurant menus are generally western. We tried a lot of foods there, and i could not find one that impress me, maybe because basically i am not a big fan of western food.

So, nice and clean room, friendly staff, good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The guest rooms:
We stayed in Ministry of Coffee for 2 nights. We stayed in PM room. Good value, the staff let the AC running while we went out the whole day. That's a simple thing but shows that the staff care about the guests since Yogyakarta is really hot during the day and it felt like heaven to came back to a cool room. The breakfast is excellent, the staff are really helpful and provided really good service. They also let us borrow some DVD to be watched in the room. Good atmosphere, beautiful design, cozy place to stay and also to hang out.

The coffee shop:
We had complimentary tea/coffee once a day and it was good, I myself not a big fan of coffee but it was good for me. We also had nasi goreng and my boyfriend order kind of noodles and it was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was a really good find, loved the design of the hotel and the relaxed atmosphere in the cafe / lobby area. The room was excellent value and the staff were kind and gave very good service. It's a pretty good location and a short ride into the centre of Yoga. There's a few restaurants nearby and a travel bureau opposite which was handy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room overlooking the little fish pond, would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

There needs to be a distinction made here between the hotel and the coffee shop as I believe some reviews are getting a little mixed up, and this can lead to some confusion.

First of all, the hotel is absolutely superb! We stayed at a couple of different places in Yogya, and this was by far the best, and the best value for money too!

The rooms are perfect (we stayed in the basic room downstairs as the superiors were full), and were a fair size, not too large, but certainly not too cramped either. It was very quiet and tucked away, with the only disturbance being from the infuriating call to prayer at 0400!!!!! But this is a problem right across Yogya and will affect you no matter where you stay really. The room and the en suite were immaculate and spotlessly clean, with the cleaning staff doing a superb and very unobtrusive job. All the expected mod cons (strong air con, comfy bed, oversized pillows) were all there along with a few surprises (excellent international satellite channels, free DVD rental, free library, a free coffee from the cafe, etc) that just put a silver lining on everything. Our french windows opened up onto a tiny balcony with a water fountain directly adjacent to it. The balcony isn't large but it is okay for sitting with a book or a drink.

The value for money here is great. Immediately before staying here we stayed at a place just a few minutes away that cost a little more per night but came nowhere near here in terms of quality.

The staff were excellent, very friendly and extremely helpful. But sometimes they were not very visible, I had to look for them a couple of times when they were in the back. Saying that this wasn't a huge deal, and they went out of their way to help. I cannot fault them at all on that aspect of their service. The only problem was that they only had a night security guy on at night until 0800 when the coffee shop opened, one improvement they could make would be to have more staff around the clock, especially when most tours start much earlier. The same is true of the breakfasts, which were not great. They have a boxed takeout breakfast for those who want their breakfast before 0800, which is a great idea for those who are going on an early tour, but they are not the best quality and are pre made the night before, including the hot drinks which are microwaved. The normal breakfasts are a little better, but still average. However these should be offered from 0600 or 0700 hours really. To not have that choice before 0800 is a slight let down.

Which leads me onto the coffee shop itself which is simply average. The common areas are actually very nice (albeit with very strange art work) and great to relax in and chat over a drink or read a book, especially if you sit upstairs. However the food and drink is simply average, even the coffee, which is strange given its moniker. There are far better places to eat and drink on the same street.

Overall however, as a hotel, the Ministry of Coffee can not be beaten in this part of Yogya, and is one of the best places we stayed on our extended trip through Indonesia and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ministry of Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ministry of Coffee

Address: Jalan Prawirotaman I/15a, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front Look of Ministry of Coffee Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ministry of Coffee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ministry Of Coffee Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ministry of Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.