We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ministry of Coffee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ministry of Coffee to your Saves list
Ministry of Coffee
Jalan Prawirotaman I/15a, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 339 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here while we visited Jokja and really enjoyed it. I think we were here for about 3 nights total and its in a great location. There provide a great breakfast every morning, free wifi, there's a tv in each room (nothing in english though) and there is a nice spa across the street. The nicest thing was our flight left really early in the morning and typically breakfast starts much later BUT they woke up early and had a take away breakfast ready for us with hot coffee. It was like 5:30 AM! The hospitality they showed was better than anywhere else and I HIGHLY recommend them!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
37
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Very nice and cosy atmosphere. We usually would have a meal at viavia and then head to Ministry of Coffee for one of their delicious coffee or shake, along with a sweet dessert. It was a very welcoming atmosphere, encouraging us to stay for sometimes 2 hours reading and enjoying it !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is a nice & quiet place, but you better avoid the downstairs rooms that are dark , a bit mushy and more expensive. Upstairs you get a sunny balcony and also a room safe and you pay less too! The bathroom lights are like in a vault - that definitely needs to be changed! There´s WiFi and a PC with Internet but without working CD/DVD drive, webcam or micro for 4.500 rp/hour. Every hour you need a new password too, which is a bit inconvenient. The library is very helpful. Food is ok but not great - avoid coz there are plenty of restaurants nextby.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We turned up after booking months in advance after reading all the good things people have said in here. We arrived to a luke warm welcome and paid a one night deposit. When shown to our 'deluxe' Java room it was incredibly damp and unventilated, and tiny. Quite literally it stank. They had internet (which took some time for them to get working) and we investigated somewhere else to stay straight away. After reading ktelontour's review I went down to see the Eclipse hotel. For less than $10 more the room was superb. Spacious clean and much better value for money. They have a pool, and their staff were so much more accommodating from the minute we walked through the door. WE didn't get our deposit back from the Ministry of Coffee, but it seemed a small price to pay to stay somewhere SO much better.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

The location of the Ministry of Coffee is excellent. In the heart of the Jl Prawirotaman area of Yogya on the same road as some really good budget restaurants. It is just about within walking distance of Jl Malioboro - if it's not too hot to walk around! Quiet setting, above the large coffee shop, with refreshing features like a fountain and small balconies for the rooms. Around the corner there are loads of laundrettes and food stalls and an Indomarket 2 minutes walk away.

The room was overall a bit small, but it was well decorated and the ensuite bathroom was big enough. For a few days this place is big enough. Coffee and tea making facilities, A/C, free wifi and TV all in the room too. The balcony is a real treat.

We chose this place from the Lonely Planet and found their description of the food to be totally wrong! They must have polished up their cake & dessert making skills as the chocolate mousse was amazing and so unexpected in this part of the world! The breakfast choices were great and big portions too. I had cereals (albeit with odd milk!) for the first time in SE Asia here! My partner had the banana pancakes twice and both times couldn't finish them - to his disappointment!

The staff were quiet, attentive and very polite.

As well as being a cool place to stay, the downstairs coffee shop is a great quiet place to chill out away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Yogya. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

This is a nice place... actually that would be perfect with a swimming pool... and the price would be normal... as the rooms are spotless, the lobby is nice, breakfast really good, and yes, there is really good coffee!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed here last year on a trip from Singapore.
Lovely little hotel, nice layout. Rooms were very clean and well presented.
Staff very friendly.
Opposite is a place to drink civet coffee (Kopi Luwak), definitely worth it for a fiver.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ministry of Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ministry of Coffee

Address: Jalan Prawirotaman I/15a, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front Look of Ministry of Coffee Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ministry of Coffee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ministry Of Coffee Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ministry of Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.