We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumah Palagan Yogyakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rumah Palagan Yogyakarta to your Saves list
Rumah Palagan Yogyakarta
JL. Palagan Tentara Pelajar km.7,8 | Mudal, Ngaglik, Sleman, Yogyakarta, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 120 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

This is a fantastic place to stay, i know this place when i browse the internet, see the place from the photo and expected as good as shown. but, when i reach to Palagan, it blows me out, it's fantastic, at the price they offered we have a very good accomodation.
For sure now, i will be back, and i will stay again at rumah palagan if i want to go to Jogjakarta (if there is avalaiable room) as such they only have 14 rooms or 16? i can't remember.
Nice surounding too, try walk down on the road, u will see a lot of typical kampung site. they all nice person.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Rumah Palagan is a boutique hotel with a "homestay" price. Palagan means "place of War" in Javanesse, that's explains why the hotel is decorated with some reproduction of Indonesia war photos, however it wont be scary at all.

The room is clean, homey and furnished, the staffs are helpfull and friendly. though the location is a bit far from the city centre, but meals are easily to be located at the surrounding. try Jimbaran resto if you love fresh seafood or RM Pak Parman at Damai Street if you love traditional Kalasan fried chicken.

breakfast is served at no charge, with traditional and local food from Indonesian vegetables, but toast with butter/jam and cornflakes are also available.

kid loved the place since they have outdoor swimming pool. as the adult loved the wifi connection that can be reached from our room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

The hotel staff was very honest, friendly and extremely polite. The hotel, on the other hand, has a value which is ten times worth what they charge. Extremely clean and spacious rooms. Location is not far from the center of the city. About fifteen minutes taxi-ride from Malioboro. A paradise in the Java.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Very nice place to stay. It's outside the city so you need to take a taxi to go downtown, but it's so quiet! For the price we paid, it's a very great value. Breakfast was better than average ( We liked a lot the fresh watermelon juice). Rooms are clean and with a/c ( we had a gecko for a night in our room :-) ). Staff is very helpful and I recommend you to rent a private car with driver, it's the best way to discover the area( 25$ for 6 hours )..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for only two nights, the time we spent in Yogya.
It is located outside town centre and is good for visiting surroundings; reaching Yogya downtown is easy and cheap using taxi.
Staff is great and absolutely kind. They were very helpful and fast responsive to arrange all our needs (e.g. local visits and the next trip towards other Java destinations): ask them and you'll be satisfied!
We found a familiar place, and we regret not to have had the opportunity to spend more time there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in Rumah palagan for only two nights while visiting Yogyakarta. The staff is extremely nice, the garden is lovley. I was not blown away by the rooms but for 2 nights, it was fine. The hotel is quite far from the city center so you have to take a cab to go there which is a bit inconvenient. When we there the hotel was still new and some taxi drivers didn`t know the way but I thinkt hat will change in time.Breakfast-nothing special, mostly local cuisine.Overall, a pleasant stay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in early Aug, and was impressed with the building..aesthetically very pleasing..it's modern Javanese look and feel gives it that unique local character.

Requested for a room right in front of the pool and what a beautiful sight to open your doors to! We're not particularly demanding and service was good. The breakfast buffet was more than reasonable for a hotel of this price range, & there's even wifi in the lobby (not sure if it's free as we didn't use it).
The rooms were clean & it was very quiet during our stay, something we appreciate, as we were to really relax amidst such peacefulness. My only gripe wld be the bed which creaked horribly (something which we forgot to highlight to the front desk..), but this was a minor inconvenience and overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumah Palagan Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Palagan Yogyakarta

Address: JL. Palagan Tentara Pelajar km.7,8 | Mudal, Ngaglik, Sleman, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumah Palagan guest house is the tradition of hospitality with decorated simple Java-Bali hotel Yogyakarta. Rumah Palagan is the ideal place to have rest and comfort. Hotel Facilities in Rumah Palagan - air conditioned rooms - minibar, telephone, complimentary breakfast - room service, color TV - freezer, hot & cold water, outdoor swimming pool, gazebo - complimentary shuttle service to airport & railway station - free hot spot / WiFi and welcome Javana drink - laundry service, ticket and packaging tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rumah Palagan Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Palagan Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Rumah Palagan Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumah Palagan Yogyakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.