We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ViaVia

ViaVia
Jl. Prawirotaman 30, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
+62 27 4386557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 497 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: International, European, Middle Eastern, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW via mobile

We have been here many times and always good reliable food great western plus Indonesian menu and a good wine selection for Jogjakarta. it is in the hub of the eating and hotel area just off Jalan Parantritis which seems to attract all westerners to this area . also across the road is Poka Ribs another great place to eat . you are surrounded by so many eating places in this street ..a good place to visit and eat at .

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    262
    91
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice for treating yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

So, this place is not for the extreme budget backpacker (as I am), but I ended up here and just decided to treat myself a bit. I tried the daily Indonesian speciality, which was really good. If you're looking for a bit of a more Western feeling without wanting to go to the horrible tourist-restaurants - this is the place to go. Very chilled atmosphere, very nice staff. So if you just want some good food whilst in a modern environment - go for it!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"Ok" food for an "ok" price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

Wandering down prawirotaman we saw this restaurant and it was very crowded so we decided to try it out. The food was ok. If u read the menu it sounds very good as they describe exciting combinations. However the food itself was not keeping up with our expectations. It was all just ok. I expected a real burger. But instead I got a meatball pressed flat on a pita. The Ayam goreng was just like a kfc fried chicken but a little more bland. The most tasteful dish was the chicken rica rica. Despite their ok food and prices. They had a good and fast service. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Atmosfeer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

Not haute cuisine, but we had a good dinner here. The staff is friendly en they have a mixed menu: some Indonesian dishes but also some western stuff.
Being in the epicenter of the local backpacker scene, this means you get a nice atmosfeer, lots of travelers around you.
Oh, they also have really fast wifi.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Feels like Bali but with cheaper price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

I love jogjakarta when we talk about the price. It's very cheap. And also for the ambiance, feels like in Bali.
I had a penne pesto, and it taste quite good. I had a desert, banana almond cake. For a big piece just 14K rupiahs. Very cheap!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ViaVia also viewed

 

Been to ViaVia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ViaVia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.