We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for first-timers in Yogya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ViaVia

ViaVia
Jl. Prawirotaman 30, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
+62 27 4386557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 554 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: International, European, Middle Eastern, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for first-timers in Yogya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

a cool place with great ambiance and good foods (personally I could use a bit more spice, but should be perfect for Europeans) with affordable price. service was friendly, too even though I was a local tourists (unlike claims that their waiters were only providing good service for foreigners). Very recommended for first-timers in Yogyakarta as they also offers interesting activities for tourists such as tours, yoga class, and cooking class. Jazz gig on every Friday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    261
    90
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Backpackers Hang Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good food, low prices, friendly atmosphere. I ate there three times even though it was about 500 meters from my guesthouse but I was fully satisfied each time. There seems to be a small community of expat travelers who hang out there presumably drawn from the nearby guest houses. Half the building is taken up by the restaurant and the other half caters to these same people by promoting a number of low cost tours and other activities.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
“Excellent place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

An excellent place in Yogya ! Friendly and smiling staff, very good food and cheap enough, very nice ambience, jazz concerts on Friday nights, a sort of tourist agency much more knowledgable than the real tourist office of Yogya. I recommend it to everybody. Go early because there is a limited number of tables (especially during the jazz concert !).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If I had my way we would have eaten here every night. The atmosphere is quite good and the food is better. There is a variety of dishes to choose from and the ingredients are fresh.
We ate here twice. The first night I had the veg Mediterranean Mezze which my husband enjoyed so much he ordered it the next time. I then went for mix and match jaffles. You can choose up to three fillings. Try sun-dried tomato, pesto and cheese on brown bread!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good meals reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice dinner here on a Friday night. Jazz group started to play at 8 pm. There was a BBQ specials on for 78000 rupiahs but many Indonesian meals for < 30000 rupiahs. Service was fast. Food was good with ample portions. There are daily specials in the menu and others on the chalkboard. Well worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ViaVia also viewed

 

Been to ViaVia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ViaVia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.