We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem in the Prawirotaman Area in Yogyakarta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prambanan Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yogyakarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prambanan Guesthouse
Save
You added Prambanan Guesthouse to your Saves list
Jl. Prawirotaman 14, Yogyakarta, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 339 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“little gem in the Prawirotaman Area in Yogyakarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this little gem in the Prawirotaman Area in Yogyakarta. We had a double room with aircon for just 27000 the night. The room was clean and spacious enough for the two of us. The bathroom was really good for this price range. It was not only functional but also tastefully decorated. Our room was on the groundfloor and we had two chairs out front with view of the pool. This was the right place in the afternoon to relax and watch the day go by. The pool was always clean and well maintained so that you could have a swim any time during the day. The breakfast was great with a lot of fresh fruits and enough pancakes to keep you up and running at least half of the day. The staff was helpful and we had no problem getting transport to the interesting places in the area at the usual rates. There are several great restaurants just a couple of minutes away on foot. We would definitely stay here again. Have fun.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    47
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
60
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here for three nights over the new year period with my parents, brother, and his GF. It is basically a well-run and clean backpacker place just about 1 km from the Palace on a funky street that reminds me of a very small version of BKK's Koh-San road with cafes, bars, guest houses, etc.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the small pool and garden is a nice touch. Breakfast was pretty good but avoid the "Javanese coffee" in favor of Nescafe, it was just tepid water with some grounds floating in it (Ministry of Coffee down the road is excellent on that front!). Rooms were clean and about half of the beds were sleep-able. Walls were paper thin though and it is a bit of a loud place (esp on New years!) so light sleepers will want to avoid it. Staff was very adept at arranging tours and the like and the cold beer and water on sale is actually cheaper than the convenience store across the street.

Importantly, the WiFi was free of charge. While hardly fast it was manageable for email and the like. Kudos to this little place for realizing that charging for WiFi in this day and age is not really kosher. The Ayana Hotel in Bali charges more per day for WiFi than this this little gem charges for a night.

This all said, I would have been really happy with this place 20 years ago as a backpacker but now that I am a bit older (and affluent) I really wish my parsimonious father had booked a slightly more upscale place with things like aircon and hot water in every room as well as a TV with the EPL games on. At any rate, if you are on a budget this place is great.

Room Tip: Go for second floor rooms. More quiet and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel is on a street full of hotels, but seems pretty special. Although it is geared for foreign visitors, they really know how to please! We spent five nights there and the room was good, the staff really helpful, the breakfasts (although Western) excellent and the view from the top floor stunning. It was also good value. So, from our experience you should believe the good reviews!

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor and you'll have a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The hotel was one of the better value options on the trip. There is a nice pool and gardens, breakfast and afternoon snacks are served and the staff are friendly. The air con isn't very good and woke up sweaty most mornings.

Room Tip: Check that the air conditioning works first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have been here 4 night, it is nice place: rooms are simply but clean, there is a nice garden with a small pool, and the price is ok. The staff is really friendly and they can help u (without commission!) to arrange trips or rent motorbike. The position is good, near restaurants and pub, but it's a bit far from malioboro (anyway u can go evrywhere by cheap taxi or with a rented motorbike).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Near the end of our 3 weeks trip, we wanted to be in a nice place. For about 260 000 R, we took the most expensive type of room : quiet, nice bathroom (recently redone but look already old), pretty clean, but small. Nice swimming pool. Renovation really close to our room (next door) + the prayer (but it is almost everywhere). We only spend two nights. The service was impersonal, the environment not very welcoming. But the worse is the management. The travel agency close by is run by someone who looks like the manager or the owner. We needed to buy plane tickets to go back to Jakarta and did not really know when and if we should go directly to the airport (cheaper in our experience). We were not very decided but the guy was pressing us and at one point, he told us to come back tomorrow. Meanwhile, at one point, he said that one plane was full but it was not (he changed his mind after another phone call). His tone was rude. Maybe it was not his day... We went somewhere else to buy our plane tickets.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Very friendly staff, nice swimming pool, good breakfast, good location.
We were not happy with the matras as it was very old and uncomfortable, you could feel the springs sticking out. Bathroom very small. Toilet was almost in the shower. We were overall very pleased and would definately go back. Book in advance as they are very popular. We were only able to get a 2 night stay during our 4 day visit to yogya.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prambanan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prambanan Guesthouse

Address: Jl. Prawirotaman 14, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Prambanan Guesthouse Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prambanan Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.