We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice rooms, breakfast & ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duta Guest House

Save Saved
You added Duta Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duta Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl.Prawirotaman No 26, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 105 hotels in Yogyakarta
Okinawa, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very nice rooms, breakfast & ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The room was very nice, though of course the a/c barely worked (typical of Java in general, I found). It was nicely decorated & clean. There was even a bath tub! However, the shower was built for a midget. It hit my abdomen. I had to hold it by hand to get the upper part of my body. I guess I am a bit of a lazy showerer - I really like to just stand under the shower without having to expend any effort :) The breakfast was quite good - they will make you pancakes & omelets by request, there was also a good spread of fruits & hot food as well. The pool & waterfall is quite nice. & they bring you an afternoon tea & treat as well. The service was good, though they could have been a bit more knowledgeable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
41
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

duta guest house is in a great location - Prawirotaman I but the place is positively dirty and unkempt. everything has layers of dust and the doormats are unbelievably dirty. at 60 dollars a night in a city like yogya, just not value for money

and their gym or fitness centre is hillarious and unbeleivable. they have a bunch of antique treadmills and other equipment! its crazy! or maybe thye think its decorative value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Duta Guest House, was the 2nd hotel we stayed during our visit to Jogja and we spent 3 nights here. It is located at Jl.Prawirotaman, a street with many bed and breakfast inns, restaurants, cafes, tour agencies and massage/spa parlours. We were relieved as we knew we will not have any problem to get food and any other need is just within walking distance.
The first impression as you enter Duta Guest House is just like any plain bed and breakfast place, friendly staff greets you with welcome drink as usual, however the surprise awaits you as you are shown the way to your room. I was never expecting a beautiful room surrounded by such pretty garden, immediately I felt at home. The room we stayed was clean and our bath was very spacious and we even had a private garden in our bath, thumbs up for that concept. Wi-fi connection is excellent at the lobby and room area but was poor around the dining area. They served different local varieties for breakfast and the food was good even though the choice is limited. I would say I enjoyed the breakfast here. They also do serve some light snack for tea time.
Only comment I have is that the cleanliness/tidiness of the middle portion of the hotel (from lobby) which connects you to the rooms should be given some attention. Otherwise Duta Guest House is surely recommended as the location is very convenient, you can get a becak/tuk-tuk from here to Maliboro Street for just about RP20,000 for all your shopping. You have plenty of restaurants to choose and you may get yourself a good massage at the end of a tiring day out.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden or facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights as part of a school trip. The rooms vary in shape and size, and there are many nooks and crannies up stairs and downstairs. The pool is central and is clean and in a beautiful setting. The rooms are adequate, but clean and tidy, and the air conditioning worked well. Breakfast was varied and plentiful with omlettes, pancakes, fruit, coffee and toast. Some of the rooms are in a quieter part of the grounds, and the little walks connecting them delightful. The wifi works well in the foyer, which is a lovely room with Javanese paintings. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautifully decorated homestay with nice swimming pool. Because of the waterfall and plants there are quite some mosquitos though. Rooms are very clean, the breakfast is fantastic. The whole place is a little bit cramped, there isn't a lot of space at the pool to relax. Location is also a big plus (in the same street the Via Via restaurant is the best restaurant I saw in 5 weeks travelling through Indonesia).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

we made our hotel reservation (2 standard rooms) via Booking.net more than 1 month ahead (as recomended by TA destination experts, due to Ramadan) for end of July (5 nights). But when arriving, we were told Delta was overbooked (??) and they are offering us much better Duta guest house accomodation as they belong to the same owner. Of course having no problem with that we went there (didn't even offer to drive us there, not really far but after long day not so close on foot either). They gave us the rooms, after we asked twice if we will get standard rooms (they have economy too), and they confirmed. I room (twin bed, for our children) was ok, the second one was for sure economy (old and very loud AC, old bed, tired mattreses, wardrobe was not only outdated but dirty as well, sink in the room...). When we complained they said this was the only thing we can get. Stuff was polite but not possible to discuss with due to their very limited english. As we had no other option, we staid as we were not much in the room, and they have great pool. we also got only 1 towel per person, no hand/face towel. we had to ask for additional towels each day.
They really have to work on customer service (if overbooked even in lower ranked sister hotel it is not normal practice for good hotels to give you the worst room in the other "better" hotel, as it is not customers falut they overbooked. They also have to educate their staff in english. I don't expect them to be fluent, but have to be able to speak more than "room nr." and "thank you".
All in all, Duta has quite some space to improove.

Room Tip: sure not economy. also standard are not the same. you should check out your room before move in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved Duta guesthouse: the atmosphere, the rooms, the pool, the grounds, the maze-like structure, the breakfast, staff and afternoon tea and the location. Most rooms are very well thought-through with lots of space for all your stuff and even a closet you can lock in some rooms (we stayed in two different rooms). Wifi varies throughout the hotel. The pool is very pretty and re relaxing and the free afternoon tea is a very nice touch. There is even an (antique, but hey!) gym for guests to use. Cleaning is generally good, though they do sometimes miss a few spots, but nothing major. Laundry is very expendive compared to the laundry service across the street!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Guest House

Address: Jl.Prawirotaman No 26, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 105 hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duta Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Duta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duta Guest House Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duta Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.