We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, near mosque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duta Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Duta Guest House to your Saves list
Duta Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl.Prawirotaman No 26, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 120 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, near mosque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had a superior room - AC, hot water, large and clean room, comfortable bed, nicely outfitted and clean bathroom. The typical threadbare towels that you get in most Indonesian budget hotels, but that means they dry quickly. The pool is small but very pleasant. Good breakfast - eggs any style, pancakes, fruit, toast, juice (including guava juice that most people seemed to ignore, maybe because of its pink color, but which is actually delicious), tea/coffee, and a rotating menu of Indonesian food - one day just fried rice and fried noodles, another day soto ayam, and another day very tasty gudeg. The only downside was the loud morning call to prayer at 4:30 and again at 5:30, but it's hard to find a hotel that won't have that problem.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms seem to be smaller and older - I was on the upper floor, and it was quite nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    71
    19
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
53
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Duta offers basic but clean rooms in a nice garden and a friendly atmosphere on a good location.

Jl.Prawirotaman is absolutely a good place to stay in Yogya with lots of nice restaurants, bars and shops. Don't forget to pay Via Via a visit and book one of their nice tours.

The staff at Duta was friendly and helpful. travelling as a family occupying two rooms, we received two rooms next to eachother in our own corner of the garden. On our last day we had to catch our flight early in the morning and therefore, the staff prepared us a take away breakfast.

The swimmng pool is very nice but unfortunately, there are no sunbeds at the pool side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Located in touristy Pramirotawan street, Duta is nice and convenient for budget-travellers. Room with fan and shared bathroom is cheap, but no luxury. However, breakfeast bufeet is varied and very good, pleasing those who want indonesian-style breakfast or western breakfeast. The staff is extremely helpful, and will arrange everything for you. Tip: Avoid the expensive (in Indonesian terms) restaurants in Pramirotawan, and walk left from the main entrance to the bustling Jl. Parangtrititis. Local restaurants and Masakan Padangs offer tasty local food which is ten times cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have been to Yogya several times in the last few years, and I always stay at Duta Guest house. Very reasonably priced, friendly helpful staff, an excellent pool, internet, and rooms which are fairly basic but clean and comfortable. I last went there with a friend from Australia and she still talks about how good it was.
Jl Prawirotaman is the best place to stay, away from the hussle of Jl Malioboro. Good restaurants & small shops such as book exchanges nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed in room 25 for 3N and while there wasn't enough of the city to see over 3days, the hotel was very enjoyable. The Internet was a huge disappointment, as it was painfully slow but the wonderfully cooling pool made up for it. The shower water pressure was low but we had a shower curtain. The room had lots of ants and roaches but as soon as we informed the staff, the room was sprayed. The location is great, next to some good restaurants. While you can walk 40 minutes to arrive inside the walled city, we paid 10,000Rps for the pedal taxi to the Water Palace. They'll ask for a higher rate but if you tell them "no thanks, I'll walk", they quickly agree. The included breakfast was decent and consisted of an egg stall, fruits, noodles, breads jams, butter, tea and coffee. The room was relatively quiet and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at their fan room since there weren't any available economy AC room coinciding on our chosen dates (March 14-16, 2013). The room was spacious, a little bit on the old and musty side but still perfect for what we need. They have a really nice (who brings snacks in your room!), helpful, polite and really thoughtful staff. My fiancé and I are always out of the hostel before the break of dawn but they always have a prepared breakfast for us on the go! That was really nice of them!

The location is a bit far from Malioboro Street (3kms) but it's an easy and quiet neighborhood of hostels so we didn't really mind.

PS: a dip in the pool was really nice after a long day of walking in Candi Borobudur and Malioboro Street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend on January 2013. The room and bathroom were nice, they clean it every day. The breakfast was great. And the staffs were very friendly. But mostly the staffs were very noisy, I always woke up from my sleep because their voices were very loud, joking or screaming calling each other. But overall, it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Guest House

Address: Jl.Prawirotaman No 26, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 120 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duta Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Duta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duta Guest House Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duta Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.