We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humm...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Q Smokehouse

Q Smokehouse
Jl. Suryo No.20 | Kebayoran Baru, Jakarta 12180, Indonesia
+62 21 7235728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 5,452 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Steakhouse
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
George Town, Malaysia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Humm...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Humm... It looked appealing from outside. A "real" Texas steak house! I did not want to have so much food to eat so I ordered the combo plater. Unfortunately the beef brisket, one of the signature dishes, was not available. The combo came with a rib and a ridiculously small chicken tight swimming in an excess of barbecue sauce. The meat was really not of first quality (really fatty) and the barbecue sauce was not to my taste (very sweet). The restaurant was pretty empty but the extraction fan of the open kitchen still on and making so much noise that it just covered the background music. Where is the Manager?!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Price meets Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After a few recommendations from BBQ-lover friends, my wife & I decided to test it out. We ordered the Texas Brisket & Dry Back Ribs. Man, they were delicious! Even, the coleslaw tasted great :-D It's a bit pricey, but it is worth the quality.

You should definitely try it out too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As an Indonesian, I'll say the steak here is Sedap dan Joss..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A succulent, juicy, tender, very satisfying Chimichurri steak, with crunchy fresh salad, and to top that I ordered a cool refreshing mojito to quench my thirst.

Yet satisfying, my curiosity beats my stomach.. I want to have more.. I want all of those tempting beef sent from heaven.. so i order a combined platter of everything. Every bite of the beef was perfect, but.. the smoke sauce (hickory i guess..) on the chicken was a bit too smudgy and too sweet for me. But thankfully it didnt mess my appetite. No problemo.

You have to dig a bit deeper to your pocket to dine here, unless you're a fully loaded wallet guy. But it's relative. I think it was worthed, but it never hurts to ask for a discount to the owner. Hey, owner.. Gimme discount here, i'm definitely going to become a frequent beefer here. Email me ya!

The owner should educate the waiter more about their menus, and ummm.. be more friendly.

Ahh.. I'm hungry now. Gonna go there with my son. Cheers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very slow service and not customer friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Coming at 8.30 PM, I hope the peak hour of dinner has been passed so that I can get good and responsive service. However, ordering 2 menus, both of them were not delivered until 9 PM, and there was no information at all that our meal would be delivered late.

There were only 3 desks occupied at that night. So, when I reminded the staff, they seemed shocked (and perhaps misinput/forget to input?). They rushed to make the meal, but the quality was very poor. I asked for well done steak, but they gave me medium one.

When complained, the manager with no smile simply said that they could grill it again until well done, or just return it (no need to pay). Who would be willing to ged bad food at 9 PM.

So, it's a big no no to come to this place anymore.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Reliably Good Steak, Cold Beer, What more do you want?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We eat here quite often. The steaks are lovely and juicy, and they arrive reasonably quickly at the table. The staff are friendly and speak enough English to make it an easy visit.
We always order the cooking style one up from normal - that is, I normally cook my steak medium rare, so here I order it medium-well and it comes out perfectly. My husband prefers rare, so orders medium. Again, perfect. We usually stick to fairly simple steak or lamb cutlet meals, but that's personal taste. Our friends have the other BBQ items and say it's lovely too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Q Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.