We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kembang Goela

Kembang Goela
Jl. Jend Sudirman Kav 47-48 | Setiabudi, Jakarta 12930, Indonesia
+62 21 5205625
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 5,464 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $0 - $300
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Beautiful restaurant. Best Rendang (spicy beef) ever! We also enjoyed a refreshing kelapa sirsak juice. If you are visiting Jakarta and want to know what great Indonesian food tastes like, this is the place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    13
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This place was so nice that we came back twice in one week. We tried a little bit of everything (beef, chicken, rice, noodles, fish) and all was delicious. Service is friendly and very efficient. The decor is amazing, very clean and charming. If you are a big group, you can have a private room for 14 people.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Kembang Goela is located in Plaza Sentral in Jakarta business district in Jl. Sudirman. The place is hidden inside the Plaza Sentral area near the McDonald’s restaurant. Based on my friend’s recommendation, I am guessing this restaurant is offering a fine dining concept to its customers. During the business lunch time, the place will be fully packed with businessman and most of them are expatriates.

The ambience of this restaurant is amusing. I really love the colonial ambience it has, it is good to increase your appetite. The ambience will clearly describe how pricey the restaurant is.

The foods are amazing. We ordered a 1 meter sausage “Sosis Oom Yantje” which deliciously served with special sauce, this sausage is a must try. We also ordered “Dendeng Balado” which I don’t find special, “Tahu Telor” which I really like it. From vegetable selection, we ordered a sautéed winged bean that taste absolutely nice. We ordered a dancing fish of “Gurame”, which I think nice though not really special. As additional main course we ordered chicken and beef skewer (Satay Ayam & Sapi). These satays are completely the best food we ordered, both are very tender and the peanut sauce was not really spicy and very lovely. These satays are another a-must-try food here.

From beverages selection, they have “Es Jangan Ditanya” which is their signature drink I guess. We also ordered Kopi Luwak which I guess it costs us around IDR 100k for 2 shots. Based on my colleague’s opinion which is a truly coffee drinker, the coffee was very smooth, and nice with nutty taste.

The service is completely excellent, they really pay attention to each customer needs. Two thumbs up for the management.

The price was quite pricey for Indonesian food, but with the food quality and superb services it worth the price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Java, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The unique restaurant and great taset too, but the price quit expensive, this restaurant is betawi's restaurant

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amidgett
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you are foreigners that visit Jakarta, you should come to this restaurant to taste the real Indonesian food. The food is pricy for Indonesian standard, but it is safe for your stomach.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kembang Goela also viewed

 

Been to Kembang Goela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kembang Goela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.