We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent High End Sushi Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Tei - Plaza Indonesia

Sushi Tei - Plaza Indonesia
Jl. MH. Thamrin Kav. 28-30 | Plaza Indonesia, Level 1 #102 A & C, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
+62 21 3983 5108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 5,283 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent High End Sushi Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We are already familiar with Sushi-Tei brand as we frequented the restaurant in Singapore. Relatively inexpensive when compare to the price in Singapore and yet the quality of food is as good as the one we had back home! There is another branch within Grand Indonesia but the Plaza Indonesia branch has a much better ambience! We did not manage to secure a place on the first day of our visit (Tue) but we went around 6:30 pm the next day and the restaurant was not crowded. By 8 pm, the place can be quite pack. Will definitely go back when I am in Jakarta again...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    191
    69
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing wow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Simple Japanese oriented restaurant in a good shopping mall. Open kitchen is a smart idea. Servers are switched on and speaks good English. Food is ok but I'm my view missing the Japanese touch. Portions are too small (being in Indonesia and not in Tokyo)
I think its time for them to hire a Japanese chef

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Can't resist this all the time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

1-3 times a month I definetely must visit this place, either for brunch - lunch - dinner, either in Plaza Indonesia - Grand Indonesia - Mall Kelapa Gading. My fav rest!! Great sushi, at fair price. Must try: Jumbo Dragon Roll, Chuka Lidako, Crispy Roll, Salmon Belly Sushi, Salmon Sashimi, Baked Salmon Maki, Ebi Mentai, California Hand Roll Sushi, Kani Avocado Salad, Watermelon Shorbet, Taiyaki Ice Cream. :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quality slipped a bit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

A few years ago we often dined here but because it was always busy and the waiting queue was always long, we ended up dining somewhere else. This particular time, we planned to eat somewhere else in the mall but the Restaurant's waiting queue was long and Sushi Tei's wasn't that long so we dined here.

After about ten minutes waiting outside, we finally got seats at the bar. It was very busy and by the time we sat, the previous diners dishes haven't been cleared, after asking several waiters, finally the dishes were cleared.

I remembered that it has one the best sushi in town, but in this particular time, even though it was still alright, the food didn't performed as well as the previous times. Some of my favourites like Unagi was missing in action but Thanks God, my other favourite item, the baby octopus, is still around.

I realize that when I opened the menu that the prices has gone up since the last time we dined but with the expectation of one of the best sushi in town, it seemed fair. again, unfortunately in this instance, compared to the food quality...

Alrighty then, so if you still eager to eat here, I suggest you book in advance to prevent waiting outside.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“japanesse food that suits indonesian taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

its a place where you will always see people queuing to get seat. The food is delicious and even though its Japanesse you wont miss its adaptation to Indonesian taste one of the example is many kinds of fried sushi

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Tei - Plaza Indonesia also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Tei - Plaza Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Tei - Plaza Indonesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.