We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another dislike for Emilie” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emilie French Restaurant

Emilie French Restaurant
Jalan Senopati 39 | Kebayoran Baru, Jakarta 12190, Indonesia
+62 622 15213626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #311 of 5,932 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Emilie is a French Restaurant and Bar located is at Jalan Senopati 39, a close proximity to the Sudirman CBD and the prime residential area of Kebayoran Baru, South Jakarta. Combining elegant interior, intimate ambiance and friendly service, the restaurant provides a tranquil city refuge for a refined dining experience. We value simplicity and attention to detail. Our menus are updated seasonally capturing the season's best ingredients.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another dislike for Emilie”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I took my wife to Emilie for her birthday. The place was dead at around 7 on a Saturday night.

If you're looking over the reviews for this restaurant, you will notice a common theme -- 'bigwigs' are treated very well while 'ordinary folk' are served bland, overcooked faux-french food. My wife and I certainly experienced the latter.

Does the head chef only work for some guests and leave the rest of the cooking to underlings who do not know how to cook? Are they just too proud and lazy to do a good job for every paying customer? Or perhaps the bourgeoisie are trying to keep out the peasants?

Bill for two entrees and two glasses of wine: USD $160.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    14
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had dinner by myself on a Sunday in November. The restaurant wasn't too busy, so seating was easy and I was given my choice of reservation time. The food was excellent; presentation was perfect, and the staff was extraordinarily friendly and knowledgeable. Keeping it simple, I had scallops as an appetizer and a filet for the main course and the cheese selection for desert. The wine selection is pretty good, very detailed for French and Italian wines but a bit weak on the Californian side-they do make the best wines in the world in California - contrary to what the French say - IMHO! The filet was perfect medium rare and I mean perfect, and everything else was top notch. A relatively uncomplicated meal, but I wanted good food not fru fru little tidbits. Emile delivers every time - best French restaurant in Jakarta.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Exquisite french! Authentic ! Upscale raw material ... Never fail to impresses Me... Great selection of wines and caviar..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A piece of France in Jakarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you are a fan of traditional seasonal French Cuisine, you will be in Heaven. With input from the Chef himself, the group of friends I enjoyed this meal with, had a gastronomic feast. My initial fears of Nouvelle Cuisine were allayed went a sumptuous entree of a Cepe mushroom risotto was presented followed by the finest Boeuf Bourguignon I have ever had.

The restaurant is somewhat sparse with plain white walls though the settings are designed well and the table wear unique adding to the whole evening.

The only down side was that the excellent wine list was significantly pricy with a bottle of 2009 Pouilly Fume a whopping Rp980,000 which represented one of the lower priced bottles available. I know that this in Jakarta and wine is expensive but other establishments manage to refrain from gouging the customer on the alcohol.

All in all it was a fabulously indulgent evening and for a no hold barred special dinner, this must rate up there with the best in SE Asia.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Emilie offers genuine French haute cuisine in a modern, sleek ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This stylishly modern space offers a genuine French gourmet experience. I had a corn velouté that was just downright delicious. That was followed by a wondeful confit de canard, and finished with a coconut bavarois with toasted pineapple. Each of my dishes, and those of my 3 dining companions, was not only delicious to eat, but beautiful to behold as well. The portions are smallish by some standards I imagine, but totally appropriate for the rich ingredients employed in many of the dishes. The chef Robin Mikaël greeted us tableside before our departure: a charming man indeed who runs a top notch kitchen. The staff is couteous and professional while still warm. It was far and away my best meal in Jakarta!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilie French Restaurant also viewed

 
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Emilie French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emilie French Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.