We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Steakhouse Restaurant in Jakarta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of rustique

rustique
Plaza senayan, Jakarta, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #302 of 5,932 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $15 - $150
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“The Best Steakhouse Restaurant in Jakarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I dined at Rustique Plaza Senayan frequently. The restaurant is quite elegant and easily reached. My favourites menu are: Sirloin Steak, Tenderloin Steak and Seabas.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Ambience and the best Caesar Salad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have been to Rustique twice. We knew coming in that the food will be very expensive from looking up the menu beforehand in the internet. We didn't order steak ( way too expensive), the food we ate both times was just average, I think not worth the price you'll be paying except for their super yummy Caesar salad! We had it both times and it didn't disappoint- generous serving, delicious yet very light dressing, fresh greens, generous amount of grilled chicken and bacon, fresh Parmesan cheese, poached egg cooked just right- perfect! The ambience was lovely and the service competent. Ideal for romantic dates if you are willing to pay premium price for such ambience. I will be coming back for the Caesar salad.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“the Chocolate Brioche is to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I'm gonna say it again, you should try the Chocolate Brioche desert. It a dessert to die for! I don't really like sweet stuff a lot, but my first bite at the dish is totally unforgetable!
Other than that, it's all pretty good. Rustique was once my favorite fine dining place, cos almost all the menu is great, and server with extra attention to details. My other favorites here is the Roasted Lamb rack (with Morrocan spices) and the Caesar Salad.

One thing though, you might not want to try the King Praws. I once order that one with a high expectations, but it turns out to be just a couple of not-so-big prawn, with rice. (although the presentation is amazing).

Will be there again someday, for sure!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Average Steak House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Came specially with high anticipation to try its famous dry aged rib-eye steak. The famous dry aged steak did not impressed as the flavor had no Wow and the meat quality was average. Other dishes like foie gras and tuna caprichiosa was also pretty average as the material used was average grade. Service and ambient was acceptable. The attraction of this restaurant is in its price. The 500gram dry aged rib-eye was USD43 and a bottle of 2006 Allegrini La Grola red wine was priced at USD55. Reasonable compared to its peers. Come to Rustique for its good value, acceptable food and service standard.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dont complain before you get the food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

3rd visit here..
3rd attempt to order the 700g rib eye steak..
3rd fail..

1st visit - saw menu outside, nice 700g steak on the menu, we ordered but they don't have. Ok, so change to quesadillas they also don't have, hmm ok so change to hamburger but also don't have.. (what restaurant doesn't have ground beef??) ok, so we leave..

2nd visit - come back, order 700g steak, sorry don't have.. only have 1 500g steak. We're too hungry to go anywhere so let's eat.. Unfortunately steak is very nice..

3rd visit - I'm prepared this time.. called restaurant at 18.. order 2 700g steaks, we book for 2030. I ask the girl pls check if you have big steak, pls make sure, if not pls go and buy it quick or call me.. i leave phone nr.

Arrived.. order 2 700g steak, sorry don't have. Only have 1 500g.

Owner "isn't there", chef "doesn't answer his phone", Manager doesn't offer a solution.. sir I have wagyu. steak for 3x the price.. great so give it to me for the normal price (we don't believe in branding) and tell your Chef sorry we lost money today but customer is happy, pls change buying policy tomorrow.. Haha sorry cannot sir..

Unfortunately they make a good steak so we really want to eat here.. but service is poor and the owner doesn't care about making customers happy.. just care about getting the right margin per gram of steak..

We ended up ordering the last remaining 500g steak + 2 of the 200gram ribeye's.. as we were waiting for the food, we were joking that they'll probably sneeze in the food or something like that.. and even as we were having dinner we kept joking - look at that guy in the kitchen, he's the one that added something to the sauce (which did taste slightly off).

result: next 2 days - in bed with running stomach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed rustique also viewed

 

Been to rustique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage rustique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.