We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but overpriced. Surprisingly ok wine prices (for Jakarta)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassis Kitchen

Cassis Kitchen
Jl KH Mas Mansyur Kav 24 | Pavilion Apartement- Retail Arcade, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
+62 21 57941500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 5,286 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cassis has recently been reimagined with many new elements added and rebranded as Cassis Kitchen. We have an outdoor lounge and our menu is also brand new presenting favorite robust dishes prepared with a local sensibility and passion for flavour. We look forward to cooking for you!
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good, but overpriced. Surprisingly ok wine prices (for Jakarta)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Let's call this 3.5 stars. Not average, but not quite very good.

Once you get over the shock at the prices for each course, you can relax and enjoy excellent service and decent food. Some odd combinations though. My steak came with cold grated carrot and a boiled egg sliced and shuffled into a sliced tomato. The steak was very tender and tasty. The frites didn't taste very homemade, but were palatable enough. My partner's meal was salmon, which looked amazing, but arrived cold. They took it away and warmed it, and it was alright then apparently. Desserts were well presented and properly made. Soft creme brûlée with crunchy top and berry sorbet for me.

Really good wine list, with a choice of house wines around the 450,000Rp mark. Decent prices for Jakarta, but imagine what you'd get in the UK (let alone France) for £30 ($45)!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Surprised that I found this restaurant on place 34”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stephane manages to keep the quality up since years. He does not do chichi cuisine and has not been trapped in fusion blabla. You will get a real honest journey to the french cuisine. I have not been here for a long long time but coming back to Jakarta I am always surprised to find such a great French restaurant for a fair price. Btw his private dining room with kitchen access is great designed. You get the feeling you are at somebodies home and Stephane cooks for you only! Well done. Enjoy a great holiday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fine dining that wont burn a hole in your pocket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Finally got to try this French restaurant after hearing about it for a few years. Overall experience did not dissapoint. The staff was friendly, knowledgeble about the menu and were conversant in English. There were 3 of us and we opted to "share" dishes. In all we had 3 appetizers and 2 Mains. The staff had no problem with us having them "to share" ie they all go to the middle of the table.
Appetizzers: There was a "mussel Promotion" when we were there. Mussels were super fresh, done in a light white wine sauce. Serving size was big and definitely would suggest sharing this dish.
The escargot was unconventional, served on a mushroom and garnished with breadcrumbs. Interesting but not a "wow".
Foie Gras Cassis was a "wow" for us. Serving size was generous, and it was beautifully cooked. Rasberry sauce though was a little too strong. But overall probably the best Foie Gras in Jkt.
For the mains, we shared 2 steaks- Wagyu Entrecote and Black Angus tenderloin perigourdine with Foie Gras. Once again the staff had no problem with this eating style.
The Wagyu Entrecote tasted great even without any of the Red Wine sauce that came with it. Portion was a good sized 280g! Or put it in another way, 280g of yummyness.
The tenderloin was good but not fantastic. Was a little chewy for a tenderloin.(maybe cos of the cut they got that day) But was compensated by the "to die for" Foie Gras. Came with mashed potatoes with truffle oil. Just marvelous.
Once again the size of the meats more than justifies the price. Being Asian, sharing 2 steaks amongst the 3 of us was perfect.
Incidentally, Cassis opened the meal with complementary Asparagus soup served in a shot glass. Their breads are freshly baked and fabulous. Dont get carried away munching on the breads or you will be full before your meal arrives.
Wines are decent at Rp500-600k(good value for Jkt). Will definitely come back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food, atmostphere and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had heard of Cassis, just never got around to visiting. A nice greeting to start with was a nice start. We both had a cocktail (both were very nicely made) and escargot. They weren't quite traditional - served on mushrooms, with spinach, but very tasty. Just enough garlic and gratined with breadcrumbs. My partner chose the Duck confit - which was superb, and I had a Wagyu entrecote, also superb. We finished up with soufflé which are the speciality of the house.

Overall we couldn't fault the food. You can bring your own wine, but the corkage is IDR 300,000 which is expensive - but if you have a really nice bottle it is worth it. The wine list is extensive and no more unreasonable than any other in Jakarta.

Service was attentive and timing of the food as we expected. A very good meal indeed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal I've had in Jakarta in 10 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The quality of the food and the originality in the ingredients was absolutely superb. I chose from the specials, and the starter (quail) was outstanding; the best I've had, anywhere. The scorpionfish soup was excellent and the souffle absolutely 100% perfect. Wine also reasonably priced (600k for St Emilion). Really excellent.

Very slight complaint was the music at the start was a little too 1970's disco-y for me, but when the excellent food came I soon lost interest in the poor music selection.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassis Kitchen also viewed

Jakarta, Java
Jakarta, Java
 
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Cassis Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassis Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.