We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous chinese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Din Tai Fung

Din Tai Fung
X101-103 Jln New Delhi No.8 | Plaza Senayan Arcadia Ground Floor Unit, Jakarta 10270, Indonesia
62-21-5790-1288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 5,932 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Sumptuous chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

As am international chain, this restaurant has successfully cater to the Indonesian people's appetite. Best dish is still xiao long bao (their signature dish). Another signature dish is fried rice with fried chicken. The fried rice is white with egg only, while the chicken is filleted and marinated in five spices. The steamed dori is the worst dish, the sauce is too spicy, overwhelming the mild taste of the dori.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    95
    32
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Big name, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I expected a lot during my visit here, since it boasted to be one of the top five resto in the world. Well, big name doesn't always guarantee big experience. The quality of the food is so-so, but they do offer a great variety of food. No pork, that's a kind of turn-off for me.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star707, Sydney
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
596 helpful votes 596 helpful votes
“The Full Noodle Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the moment you enter this restaurant in Plaza Senayan Arcadia in Jakarta, you are embraced by the complete noodle trip. Behind glass windows the noodle makers are busy at work throwing dough and creating all sizes of rice noodles. Others are pinching little pockets of dough which eventually emerge, after steaming, as the amazingly delicious Shanghai Dumplings. This is what I am looking for, those incredible little bliss bombs which explode on your mouth leaving a trickle of delicious juice on your tongue. Yes they do have other items on their menu, and all difficult to choose between, which is saying something for a restaurant which has become a franchise throughout Asia and includes, thank goodness, Sydney Australia. The floor staff are efficient and get you seated promptly, your order is taken and checked and almost before you can pour your tea , your order has arrived on the table.The are two of these restaurants in Jakarta in the same complex. I prefer this particular on in the Arcade because it is larger and the kitchen and chefs are part of the whole presentation. The restaurant layout is harmonious. They cater to families as easily as they do to couples or singles. The menu is suitable for both lunch and an evening meal. I keep returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“I am just in love with DTF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

And I hate the fact we don't have it in Europe!!!

I have probably to every outlet around the world. Now also I. jKT. Casual lunch it's great- not ,ore

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tasting chinese food in Jakarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Most of the food here is perfectly prepared and cooked. The best and their most famous delicacy is definitely their "Xiao Long Bao" which won them their Michelin award.
Drinks taste phenomenal too though prices are quite high for most portions.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Din Tai Fung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Din Tai Fung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.