We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious, good, consistent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scusa

Scusa
Jl. Jend. Sudirman Kav. 10-11 | Intercontinental Hotel, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia (Palmerah)
21-251-0888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 5,065 restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Palmerah
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, good, consistent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Have been here about 10 times over the years, and always had a good meal. Drinks excellent too. Scallops are among the best in Jakarta. This time I had lamb rack, asked for medium rare, more like medium, but that's quibbling - still very good. The live band/singer is a little loud for my taste, but pleasant enough. Restaurant is big enough so no smoking really means no smoking, which is unusual (sadly) for Jakarta.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    9
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Went for a meal on my own whilst staying at the Intercontinental. The service was very polite and efficient. The menu has a good range of Italian food. I ordered steak which was cooked perfectly. Only complaint is that you have to order side dishes of vegetables - for 1 or 2 people 1 dish is sufficient so not much variety during the meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, great atmosphere and lighting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Food, lighting, drinking ware on interesting angles.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An excellent option for Italian while in Jakarta.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Went there on recommendation of a friend while we were in Jakarta on business. I asked the chef WaWan to make us a menu which he happily obliged. He picked some excellent selections and all the food was delicious.

The service was top notch as well which is not something you necessarily expect while in Jakarta, our glasses were never empty and we left feeling perfectly satiated.

There are only two negative comments I would say which is they were letting drunk patrons get up and sing on stage which was loud, distracting and annoying. Second doesn't just affect Scusa but most restaurants in Jakarta their wine lists are lacking. What you do find is horribly overpriced.

The bottom line is I would not hesitate to go back and I would also not hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Italian classics in Jakarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011 via mobile

We've been looking for a decent Italian restaurant for a while. Scusa is what we were looking for.

The menu has all of the well known Italian favorites. The food is well presented, not "fantastic", but good. The Veal was especially, often not so good in Jakarta. Wine prices are reasonable for a 5-star.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scusa also viewed

 
Jakarta, Java
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Scusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.