We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner response”
Review of Kemang Icon By Alila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kemang Icon By Alila to your Saves list
Kemang Icon By Alila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kemang Raya 1, Jakarta 12730, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
“Owner response”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Ollie543 -

Many thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts on Kemang Icon. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
C

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    32
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
42
17
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have had the great pleasure to spend over three weeks at the Kemang Icon over the past nine months. The Kemang Icon is truly a sanctuary in the noisy metropolis of Jakarta. The KI is cool in both style—a tasteful pastiche of Euro-modern and Southeast Asian art— and (gratefully) temperature. The rooms are huge, well maintained, and uniquely designed with comfortable furnishings, and stocked excellent Allila amenities. Importantly, the staff demonstrates neither the disdain for the less-than-trendy guests, an attitude that seems all too common in some über-hip establishments, nor do they exhibit the faux obsequiousness that can be equally disturbing. Instead, they offer genuine warmth and professionalism that makes you feel like a singular guest whose needs and desires are of utmost concern. From Slamet and Evy at the reception, Benjamin, Hari, Ardo and Mifta in the restaurant, and Joko in the kitchen to the excellent housekeeping staff, everyone is there to ensure that your stay is memorable. Truly nothing seems to be too much to ask. My Indonesian friends were shocked when I told them that the hotel allowed me to take some cash out on my credit card to pay for a long distance taxi a day when no ATM would take my cards, as they were certain no other establishment in Jakarta would provide that kind of service! In addition, when I mentioned to the genial General Manager, Carter Crites, that I was a vegetarian, he called Brandon, the highly skilled Chef of their restaurant, the Edge, to discuss what kind of additional food they could have on hand for me. In all my travels, I have never had such personal attention from people in their positions before, but I sensed that getting to know their guests and ensuring they had a great stay seemed to be a part of their jobs that they truly enjoyed. Furthermore, I can attest that dining on Chef’s inspired Southeast Asian tofu curry while seated on one of the rooftop cabanas overlooking the candlelit tiers of tables and fireworks in the distance was a highlight of my last visit. Even without the special dish, the selection, quality and presentation of the food at the Edge is superlative with something for every taste. There is also a wonderful, innovative selection of Western and Indonesian selections at breakfast, delicious, freshly prepared and artfully presented offering a welcome respite from the bland offerings that one finds at so many hotel buffets. The only thing that I could suggest that could improve the KI experience, is to include some better reading lights, but that’s a small matter when one considers the fabulous comfort and hospitality at the Kemang Icon. I am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carter C, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear TravelingProfessor,

You are missed at Kemang Icon! I passed along all your praise to the team members and they were greatly appreciative of your kind words. Your feedback is key and has led to the installation of some more lighting in our Suites. We hope to see you return soon and safe travels!

Best,
C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great discovery in Kemang! This precious boutique hotel is a very comfortable and home-like place where I healed my business headaches! If you move from a hotel to another you will definitely appreciate an hotel like this one where you can really feel like that's your place! One of the things that striked me the most was the atmosphere that the whole staff would be able to recreate every day and the attention for details. Music selection was the result of the staff mood: don't be surprised if, while having breakfast next to the inifity pool, you hear one of them playing the piano! Also the attention for details, the exquisite taste of each plate of the A la carte menu. Finally the thought that I could get a drink and nice chat with the GM at the end of my hectic day just helped finding my peace of mind.

Room Tip: Each room has different design and special touch! All equipped with great sound system easily connec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carter C, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear SolounaCucuzza,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your thoughts on Kemang Icon. Please do keep us in mind should your work bring you back to Jakarta.

Best,
C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is great hotel in a very hip and fun part of town. Jakarta can be very overwhelming from time to time and it was great to come back to this boutique hotel. Only 12 rooms and each room is unique. Mine was called Intrigue and I had my own balcony, it was very spacious also and comes with a great little coffee maker.

Breakfast was great (try the egg florentine) and the pool on level 5 was really nice. A very relaxing hotel. Kemang is a cool part of town and very fun especially at the week-ends. Lots of small and medium sized restaurants and bars and the crown is young and fashionable.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carter C, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Ollie543 -

Many thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts on Kemang Icon. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed at Kemang Icon many times, tried different suites. I love all the suites I've stayed at (insigni, illusion, imperia, icare, intrigue). In kemang area, there are not many hotels to choose from, and Kemang Icon offers luxury suites with very good customer service, good menu to choose from for breakfast and dinner. I am looking forward to trying their new brunch menu.

Their suites have very unique style, each suite has different theme and layout. The room service and The Edge restaurant upstairs provide excellent service. The Edge is also a nice area to relax and sunbathe. You rarely find this kind of hotel in Jakarta.

Can not wait to try other suites at Icon :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carter C, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ms. Sara S -

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you soon at Kemang Icon. Please let us know when you are coming in next and we will make sure your next stay is as pleasurable as your last!

Best,
Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

As one of the other reviewers has mentioned, this hotel is clearly in what is/used to be an office block which means that when you go up to the third floor which is the start of the hotel rooms, you go past empty floors of office space. The rooms are very large due to the fact that it used to be an office, so there is no shortage of space, but there is just something lacking here. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, but the accommodation is just a bit...odd. We had the same trouble as other reviewers with a room underneath pool which meant hearing the pump going all night. Had we been staying more than one night we would have asked to move rooms, but it wasn't worth it for the amount of time that we were there.

The location is the main selling point of this hotel as it's in the centre of the Kemang area of Jakarta near many good restaurants and bars and also near the office where my husband was doing business so it suited our needs fine. The price was also reasonable.

The rooftop pool is nice, although I didn't use it as the day when we were there they were shooting a documentary piece up there and I didn't really fancy being in the background splashing about!

I can't comment on the food as we didn't get a chance to try it.

Would I come back? Probably, but only if we had a different room without the noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carter C, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear naylajab,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Kemang Icon! Guest feedback is a great tool we always use here to improve our product and service levels.

Regarding our property/structure, the building of Kemang Icon was in fact built to house our boutique hotel. The architect of the building designed the space especially for the all-suite concept. Each room is unique from the others and houses in terms of space, art, decor, etc. So you mentioned odd whereas I would say unique, and that it is. The space on the second floor you mentioned is not empty, it was just getting refitted during March so might have looked barren.

Please do come back and this time try a dip in our infinity edge pool and a bite at our restaurant both on our roof and both highlights of the Kemang Icon experience!

Best,
Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURLINGTON. VT
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I agree with many of the other reviewers that this hotel is a welcome respite from busy, hot Jakarta. The restaurant was very good, and the pool setting just stunning. The rooms were very well appointed and very spacious- this hotel was looking to be the highlight of my 16 day 11 city Asia trip... until.... bed bugs. So disappointed. There were 4 of us travelling, in 4 different rooms and two of us ended up with bed bug bites. My neck and shoulder are covered with probably 25-30 bites.
This just ruined what would have been a perfect stay for me.
Any other hotel I would rate as "Terrible" based on this alone, but because everything else was so nice, I give it an "average".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carter C, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear VTtraveler -

Oh dear! I was shocked to read your comments. This is the first I have ever heard of any guest mentioning bed bugs during my tenure here. As soon as I initially read this we had our pest control specialist survey all Suites in the hotel. His testing results came back negative but we retreated every room accordingly. I am so sorry that you feel as though this was the culprit. However, I'd like to suggest that those were probably mosquito bites as you were here in Jakarta at the tail end of the rainy season. Perhaps you were the one in the Vermont group that was wearing the low cut Mexican sun dress? We do offer Alila Living's mosquito repellent for guests in need at our rooftop restaurant, The Edge.

We truly hope to have you back at Kemang. I understand that the VT group might be coming back regularly so please contact me directly if planning a trip back (cjccrites@alilahotels.com)

Best,
Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kemang Icon By Alila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemang Icon By Alila

Address: Jalan Kemang Raya 1, Jakarta 12730, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#28 Business Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kemang Icon By Alila 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in Conde Nast Traveler US Hot List as one of the scene stealing hotels in Indonesia... Kemang Icon by Alila transforms the travel experience with a truly innovative and dynamic urban living environment, set in one of Jakarta'€™s most upscale and trend setting neighborhoods. Artistry fused with hi-tech functionality and exceptional comfort creates a hip retreat within the city. Ultra modern. Avant-garde. Chic yet cozy. A multi-sensory experience is infused with the warmth and attentiveness of unsurpassed personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kemang Icon By Alila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemang Icon By Alila Hotel Jakarta
Kemang Icon By Alila Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kemang Icon By Alila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.