We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for business - but don't spend much time there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan Hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Prof. Dr. Satrio-Casablanca no. 1, Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2 Get 3
Ranked #154 of 329 Hotels in Jakarta
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Adequate for business - but don't spend much time there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Reasonable rates for adequate lodging for a business traveler. Don't think of staying here on your own penny for pleasure travel.

Pluses are 1) fairly clean ... 2) great laundry service ... 3) nice fitness center... 4) fast elevators (that actually work)...5) hot water (I never take it for granted)...6) Good TV (lots of western news, sports, movies).

Minuses: well, where to begin... 1) restaurants .. 2) nowhere to walk or dine outside the hotel (except the Outback Steakhouse at the arcade next door...getting there requires traversing a construction site with open drainage ditches dodging a sea of motor scooters) 3) spotty Internet service...often it is completely down ...4) water may be hot, but is not drinkable (probably true of all Jakarta hotels - I don't know - bring a filter - standard equipment where I travel) and drink the rather overpriced bottled water.

Don't spend time here unless you have to.

Room Tip: It is tower, ~36 floors. Go for the lower floors for faster elevator service and better odds of esca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    91
    76
    35
    11
See reviews for
22
19
22
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

my girlfriend and me stayed for 3 nights in manhattan hotel,when i check in i was confused,why we have breakfast only for 1 person,and the staff can not explain about that,after i check with the agent,finally i understand,the room not good at all for price idr 900000,the shower look very old and the bathro standard,they have indian food for breakfast and the taste is pretty good



  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is definitely a business hotel. I was there for business so it was okay for me.

I really did not like the lingering stale smell at the lobby, and check-in took me 30 minutes. The staff were painfully slow and some did not understand English very well.

There is a cafe and restaurant so dining will not be a problem.
I must say the prices are quite steep though, a nice dinner cost almost $80.

Location-wise, it is in the golden triangle of Jakarta, so all the major convention centers and shopping malls are pretty nearby.

However, this hotel stands right at the end of a very busy street, so traffic to and fro the hotel is insane.

It actually took me an hour to get across the street in a taxi... So you can only imagine the traffic.

The room was quite comfortable but the bed was not. Lighting was okay but the temperature could not be adjusted, so it was rather warm.

There is also a nice view of Jakarta.

Overall, an average hotel which you can give a miss and perhaps try Gran Melia, which I have heard a lot about, and will try should I visit Jakarta again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large but not very well designed and equipped. Not even to a 4 star mark. Front desk is painfully slow, having someone attend to you may come as a challenge :) BUT the Indian restaurant is AWESOME. Very good variety, service, taste. My only reason for staying there.
Location is good with tow good malls nearby but nothing great because of peak hour traffic it may take you for ever to get in and out of hotel in a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

In general the hotel was OK. Pluses are that the food buffet in the AM is mostly decent, as is the in house Thai restaurant. The prices are extremely overpriced at the restaurants, however, especially when you could go in to K City and get better food.

The hot water wasn't hot, I must say: on only two of my seven days did I get hot water for my shower and this truly sucked. I can't tell you how inconvenient this is for a 4 star hotel.

Another complaint is that when you use stuff in the mini fridge, they don't restock. So if you had a drink or soda, they can't somehow count them and then encourage you to buy more by refilling. This makes no sense.

Also try asking for an iron --min use is two hours, but what you get looks like an antiquated flat iron from the Monopoly. Guess the guests at the JW Marriott get the Rowentas and Black & Deckers but not here

But probably the worst part is the daffy policy on Internet usage. I still cannot understand why Wifi access can't be free and unfettered. This hotel didnt have Wifi in the room. Can you believe this? I had to use the ethernet cable then with a slip of paper that expires in two hours I had to type in a ten-digit code! If I went downstairs to the lobby, the same thing: open up the browser and type in a whole new code. This is terribly inconvenient.

The plus is that the shopping centers are literally next door, if the K City and Ambassador are your thing. That said there are far better hotels

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I picked this hotel as it was highly rated on Agoda.com. I Do NOT agree with those ratings and here's substantive proof (see photos attached). I am now typing this in the hotel room while preparing to check out - thankfully.

Here's why I rate this hotel POOR:
1. Bathroom is not in a state I would expect from a hotel at this price range. Mildew/Stains/Gunk on the shower curtains and tiles and around the sink.

2. Of the 2 bath towels, 1 had the smell of some perfume while the other didn't. My guess is that it was either used and not changed (Ugh!) or otherwise the plain one had been left there that long till it had become unscented (assuming they put some scent on the towels in the 1st place which I would find highly incongruous to the overall state of the hotel).

3. The hot water was just "warm". My guesstimate is 40C. I like 43C but that's me... No, there isn't any "safety catch" thingy to push so that the mixer goes further. It is a basic "tap". I like HOT showers.

4. Water drains from the tub at a rate which I must assume means it is about to choke totally sometime soon. (But I'm checking out! ;-) )

That's the major grumbles. I have a few more which are minor, I'd admit, but compounded with the above makes this a most unpleasant stay.

5. Towels are of the rough texture variety. On the bright side, there's no fluff from them because they aren't fluffy at all!

6. (this might be a MAJOR point for some) In-room coffee is of the non-drinkable variety EVEN IF you're facing a severe caffeine deficiency attack... Also, the electric kettle looks highly suspect. (But I'd give that most electrical kettles in hotels don't look great).

7. Black out curtains do not meet AND they are setup in 4 panels resulting 3 gaps.

8. The bed could be described as a plank of wood with a thin mattress on it. Pillows collapse readily to a height approximating the thickness of a pancake.

9. Furniture is worn.

10. The winebar at the lobby level didn't have any of the whites on the menu save 2.

I would not book this hotel again. There are others far better within this price range.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in Mars and Venus Suites. The room is great, spacious, with separate shower and bathtub. Food is good. Choices are plenty. Near kuningan city mall and ambasador mall plus itc kuningan, if you're into shopping.
Cons : The hotel needs more color / light, the first impression is all gloomy greyish color everywhere. Check in a bit slow as well but still ok.

Room Tip: Not at the top floor, you can hear the loud music from the bar upstair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Address: Jl. Prof. Dr. Satrio-Casablanca no. 1, Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manhattan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.