We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive, Small place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea World - CLOSED

Sea World
Taman Ria Ancol, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia
+62 21 641 0080
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sea World in Jakarta is located inside the Ancol Dream Land complex. More than 4000 species of fish, sharks and sea life. Walk through tunnels, massive oceanarium, shows and displays.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Too expensive, Small place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Sea world is not at big as i thought it was. They had a short length tunnel, and i thought that everything was too packed together in one floor. They try to make it look big, but really, it's just not.
The price was not as much as they stated on their website. Instead of Rp.60.000 for weekdays, i paid Rp.90.000. The only nice thing is that they had a new collection of hammerhead sharks, and a touch pool with a black-tip shark.

Overall, i don't think i will be coming anytime soon, but when i do,i will wait for a credit card promo for the seaworld tickets

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    109
    78
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Kids definitely love it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Came here on normal days, i believe saturday and sunday will be packed with people. kids definitely love it, you can touch and hold the star fish, u see shark, stingray and any other fish so close. and they are huge.... not a small one.
overall the place is well maintain, hope they can keep it up and make it better.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Entertaining Yet Educating Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you only want to come here this exhibit is indoor. Air con, well kept and clean, there will be some areas covered by travelator. On each aquarium there will be reference and remark on each species. Its very educating and entertaining.

They also have small pond inhibit by sea cucumber/teripang and star fish. The guide there will let you touch and hold them right. There's also a museum showing very huge Stingray named Parmi and telling every stories of her life and explaining more details about stingray.

Do ask the keeper on feeding time of the shark as you will be able to watch from the glass.

Cheers. . .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not bad for a short trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

There is some good displays and it is cheap to enter. Not as good as ocean park Hong Kong but only $7 to get in. Worth a visit. The sharks were closed but everything else was open.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply the sea on your palm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is my third visit of the Sea World in Ancol, There are still so many fish to see and glare in those amazing aquariums. There are some new thing inside the sea world, like the "Shark Quarium" and some fish that i have never seen in my life.
But one thing makes me sad, when i realized that my favorite GIGANTIC stingray fish already gone and become some decoration on the museum :( Still what a letdown, when one of the most anticipated thing to see in every visit of mine to this place is him. The good news is, all the other thing is more improved than the last time i visited! And for the price, still reasonable for an entertainment place!

Not much to say but , last but not least as always! overall? "the best place to take a peek inside the Sea in Indonesia"!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea World also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.