We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Level Convenient - 3.5 Stars Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cemara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Cemara Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Cemara Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Mid Level Convenient - 3.5 Stars Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I made a review for hotel cemara before.
This is one of its hotel. I think they have two hotels with the same name, and located not far from each other.

This should be a safe choice for you in Jakarta.
The niche is the location of this hotel. It's in the very center of Jakarta.

The service and venue is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
8
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We were initially staying for one night which we had pre-paid (£30 for a double) through agoda. We stayed for two nights longer paying roughly the same with the hotel.

It was clean, good aircon, comfortable beds and had a great rooftop pool (see the pics).

You are a 15 min max walk to gambir station where the airport bus (great value, comfortable, air con, 20000) drops you off. To head to the hotel- stand under the trainline with the national
Monument behind you and head away from the station following the train lines. It's easy to find with the most basic maps.

The staff were really polite, great value, a nice place to stop within 5 minutes of jalan jaksa. Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is quite old hotel, but very nice maintained. I was there with my wife and a baby during weekend, and we got everything we need. The room was spacious, and the bathroom has bath tub which is rarely we see in the middle-of-city-hotel. the internet connection was okay.
Most of all, the location, just the best.
This is perfect hotel in the center of Jakarta

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was visiting Grand Cemara for 1 day getaway in the weekend with my family. When i walked in to the lobby, it felt old. But despite it was old, it was very well maintained. The staff was very nice and friendly. The first room that i checked into have a leak in the bathroom, but the staff was very helpful and gladly changed my room to other room.

Not all room got upgraded, i saw that my first room got an LCD TV set while the latter got a regular tube. For the price they offer, i guess that you can find better hotel room nearby with a sam price. But because the staff, i felt that staying there was not a bad choice. The room is large (compared to newer hotel room wih the same price) and they got a bathtub (newer hotel usually got only shower for its standard room).

The hotel pool was not for children, so i haven't a chance to tested it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I booked the hotel directly by phone and since the suite are fully booked I asked for the junior suite with a bath tub as it says in the website. When i got there, the give me room with no bath tub. they were kind enough to give me another room. however, the previous room was apparently newly renovated while my new room (although it has a bath tub) was kinda older and with totally different interior. other than the flatscreen tv, everything in the room was oldschool (they even have an 80's phone with AM/FM radio receiver in the bathroom, although its not working, but i find it cool). the overall interior were old but clean. aside for the old carpet and cigarette burn on the end table, i was ok with it and even kinda like it (probably because its spacious).

the breakfast was "cold" with limited options and some of them are actually cold. scrambled egg was bad, sausage was bad, salad was bad. in fact, the only thing that's decent enough to eat was the cereal.

should you ever need to stay in this area, i believe there are a lot of other options available within the same price range. and if you really, really have to stay in this hotel, i suggest skip (and dont pay) the breakfast because there are lots of options in the area.

for those who are not familiar with the area: they are lots of hotels from budget to 4 star. sabang area is also known to be one of the culinary destination in Jakarta, and they are all within walking distance to the business district.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I had a lovely holiday in indonesia, stay in lovely places on java and bali. I wanted just to stay two days in jakarta before my flight back home. My grandparants used to live in Jakarta menteng. In the same street as this hotel, for sentimental reasons i chose this hotel as at is verry central located. I booked it via tripadvisor on agoda, it was the best value to book on internet.
But on internet the advertised with pictures from diffent rooms than the rooms you could get. You could only choose the superior and the superior executive as i wanted the best of those two and payed more money. but on arrival we got a room with makes no differrence with the cheaper option. When i asked why i had to pay more as there was no difference they could not awnser this question. They only awnser i got ws: that 's what you get if you book on internet. And sure after our toilet was broken several times and several times complaining they offered a different room but the room was exact the same it was not bigger than promised on internet. After rejecting the offer for it made no difference if we moved to adifferent room. We got offered a free dinner on the second day of our stay( maybe because i complained bout the broken toilet nd bout the broken promises), because we already had our dinner, we asked wether i could change it in a free breakfast the awnser was no. The rooms were also dirty, the floor poorly cleaned, the towels old and not properly cleaned. Service terrible for we had to pay 6 dollars if we wanted to print an airplainticket from internet. The rooms are not that expensive but for every other services you had to pay and the price they asked wasn't reasonable. the only thing i love about the place was the location for it was located for me on memory lane, but because of my stay in this hotel they make this memory less pleasant. there are plenty other othels in the neighbourhood, i will advise you to stay in an other hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Rooms were basic, staff only sometimes helpful. The room needed to be cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cemara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cemara Hotel

Address: Jalan Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Cemara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Cemara Hotel is located at Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers specious and comfortable rooms, all of which have an air-conditioner, a cable television, a mini-bar, and a coffee and tea making facility. Some of its amenities include a Balinese Spa and Massage, a Wi-Fi Internet connection, and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Cemara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemara Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cemara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.