We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Level Convenient - 3.5 Stars Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cemara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Cemara Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Cemara Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia (Menteng)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 344 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Mid Level Convenient - 3.5 Stars Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I made a review for hotel cemara before.
This is one of its hotel. I think they have two hotels with the same name, and located not far from each other.

This should be a safe choice for you in Jakarta.
The niche is the location of this hotel. It's in the very center of Jakarta.

The service and venue is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
9
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were initially staying for one night which we had pre-paid (£30 for a double) through agoda. We stayed for two nights longer paying roughly the same with the hotel.

It was clean, good aircon, comfortable beds and had a great rooftop pool (see the pics).

You are a 15 min max walk to gambir station where the airport bus (great value, comfortable, air con, 20000) drops you off. To head to the hotel- stand under the trainline with the national
Monument behind you and head away from the station following the train lines. It's easy to find with the most basic maps.

The staff were really polite, great value, a nice place to stop within 5 minutes of jalan jaksa. Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is quite old hotel, but very nice maintained. I was there with my wife and a baby during weekend, and we got everything we need. The room was spacious, and the bathroom has bath tub which is rarely we see in the middle-of-city-hotel. the internet connection was okay.
Most of all, the location, just the best.
This is perfect hotel in the center of Jakarta

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was visiting Grand Cemara for 1 day getaway in the weekend with my family. When i walked in to the lobby, it felt old. But despite it was old, it was very well maintained. The staff was very nice and friendly. The first room that i checked into have a leak in the bathroom, but the staff was very helpful and gladly changed my room to other room.

Not all room got upgraded, i saw that my first room got an LCD TV set while the latter got a regular tube. For the price they offer, i guess that you can find better hotel room nearby with a sam price. But because the staff, i felt that staying there was not a bad choice. The room is large (compared to newer hotel room wih the same price) and they got a bathtub (newer hotel usually got only shower for its standard room).

The hotel pool was not for children, so i haven't a chance to tested it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I booked the hotel directly by phone and since the suite are fully booked I asked for the junior suite with a bath tub as it says in the website. When i got there, the give me room with no bath tub. they were kind enough to give me another room. however, the previous room was apparently newly renovated while my new room (although it has a bath tub) was kinda older and with totally different interior. other than the flatscreen tv, everything in the room was oldschool (they even have an 80's phone with AM/FM radio receiver in the bathroom, although its not working, but i find it cool). the overall interior were old but clean. aside for the old carpet and cigarette burn on the end table, i was ok with it and even kinda like it (probably because its spacious).

the breakfast was "cold" with limited options and some of them are actually cold. scrambled egg was bad, sausage was bad, salad was bad. in fact, the only thing that's decent enough to eat was the cereal.

should you ever need to stay in this area, i believe there are a lot of other options available within the same price range. and if you really, really have to stay in this hotel, i suggest skip (and dont pay) the breakfast because there are lots of options in the area.

for those who are not familiar with the area: they are lots of hotels from budget to 4 star. sabang area is also known to be one of the culinary destination in Jakarta, and they are all within walking distance to the business district.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I had a lovely holiday in indonesia, stay in lovely places on java and bali. I wanted just to stay two days in jakarta before my flight back home. My grandparants used to live in Jakarta menteng. In the same street as this hotel, for sentimental reasons i chose this hotel as at is verry central located. I booked it via tripadvisor on agoda, it was the best value to book on internet.
But on internet the advertised with pictures from diffent rooms than the rooms you could get. You could only choose the superior and the superior executive as i wanted the best of those two and payed more money. but on arrival we got a room with makes no differrence with the cheaper option. When i asked why i had to pay more as there was no difference they could not awnser this question. They only awnser i got ws: that 's what you get if you book on internet. And sure after our toilet was broken several times and several times complaining they offered a different room but the room was exact the same it was not bigger than promised on internet. After rejecting the offer for it made no difference if we moved to adifferent room. We got offered a free dinner on the second day of our stay( maybe because i complained bout the broken toilet nd bout the broken promises), because we already had our dinner, we asked wether i could change it in a free breakfast the awnser was no. The rooms were also dirty, the floor poorly cleaned, the towels old and not properly cleaned. Service terrible for we had to pay 6 dollars if we wanted to print an airplainticket from internet. The rooms are not that expensive but for every other services you had to pay and the price they asked wasn't reasonable. the only thing i love about the place was the location for it was located for me on memory lane, but because of my stay in this hotel they make this memory less pleasant. there are plenty other othels in the neighbourhood, i will advise you to stay in an other hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Rooms were basic, staff only sometimes helpful. The room needed to be cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cemara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cemara Hotel

Address: Jl. Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Cemara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Cemara Hotel is strategically located at Central Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers specious and comfortable rooms with great service from our staff. Our Hotel is located near Central Business District (Jalan MH Thamrin and Jalan Kuningan), Shopping Center (Sarinah, Grand Indonesia, PLaza Indonesia, Jalan Sabang, Tanah abang, and many more) and Main Tourist Atraction (such as MONAS and Budaran HI). Only 45 minutes from Soekarno Hatta International Airport and 10 minutes Gambir Railway Central Station. In Room Facilities include fully air-conditioner, LED TV with cable channel, mini-bar,refigerator, coffee and tea making facility,complimentary daily newspaper, bathroom amenities, and Free Wifi. Hotel Facilities include 24 hour Coffee Shop and Room Service, Lounge,Healthy Spa and Massage, Swimming Pool, Laundry, Transportation, Free Vallet Service, Taxi Stand, Free Shutle Service to surrounding Shopping Area, Drug Store, and Free Wifi. Our Motto is "Feels Like Home", so every guest will enjoy a great hospitality from our staff. Our guest will be treated like family. Thank you and we wish have a plesant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Cemara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemara Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cemara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.