We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic. Wouldn't stay here more than a night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cemara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Cemara Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Cemara Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia (Menteng)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 338 Hotels in Jakarta
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Basic. Wouldn't stay here more than a night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Rooms were basic, staff only sometimes helpful. The room needed to be cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
8
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotels a few times over the last 5 years for business trips. Overall, it is a decent hotel. Location is good, about 10 minutes of walking from Jaksa Street, where you can find cheap foods, internet cafe, travel agencies, and a super market; about 5 minutes of taxi from Sarinah Mall and the Gambir Train Station. Stadard rooms are small but you could get a much larger room if you are willing to pay more. Breakfast is very good and the staff are friendly, except those at the front desk, whom I found a bit cold. Blue Bird taxi are always at the gate of the hotel, 24/7. Security staff are professional and polite. There is a swiming pool on the rooftop, but it is small and apparently not very clean. I've never seen any guest use this swiming pool. There is an business center where you can use the internet, but the charge is ridiculous. Better to walk to Jaksa where you can find many internet cafe.

The problem with hotels in Menteng (and around this central area) is that there exist either only luxurious hotels or cheap backpacker ones (moslty on Jaksa Street). Cemara is one of a vere few mid-range hotels that seem to be decent in the area. If you need a mid-range hotel near Menteng, this is the one.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I have stayed in Grand Cemara several times in the past and even if I am frequently persuaded by my local partners to stay in some posh hotel (like Aryadutta or Borobudur), I always prefer to go to Grand Cemara. The rooms (in the old wing) definitely need some refurbishment, you can smell the cigarettes there, the internet connection is lousy and expensive but it is in an excellent location in the bustling street, near to the Sarinah shopping mall, the Jaya Pub, Taman Sari massage parlour, several money changers, and pharmacy across the road.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This hotel is apparently round the corner from the backpacking district.
It is a very quiet, nicely decorated hotel, with nice beds and a good shower, and excellent service of the friendly staff.
I would definitely go here again if I went to Jakarta again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We had to choose this hotel as the hotel we normally stay in is full during our visit to Jakarta. It is in the same area but the quality of our stay compared to our regular hotel was the complete opposite. It took us by surprise because we thought it would be a good hotel since it looked nice and clean from the outside and there were a lot of cars. We assumed there were a lot of guests. But apparently the cars were guests from neighbors that parked at the hotel's parking facility. I guess it was better to let others use it since the hotel had no customers. And maybe it was for marketing purposes to make it appear that the hotel is popular. Who knows...

Check-in was ridiculous! It took over an hour for some reason and the hotel was empty. There were no other guests checking-in or even in the lobby. Maybe everyone already knew how horrifying this hotel is. Except for us. The staff were rude, seemed annoyed that there were guests checking-in. Rooms were filthy, smelled like something was rotting, bathroom was disgusting, towels and bed sheets were gross (had to ask for those to be changed) and breakfast was horrible ( I think every food served was stale or expired, except for the noodles which were not bad).

We were booked for 3 nights, but after the first night, we just had to move out. It was just that unbearable. And they had the nerve to make us pay for the second night and told us we could not cancel on the day of our intended stay.
Save yourself the trouble of going through the nightmare, and then writing a review of the hotel similar to mine. There are many other hotels that are less expensive but so much better in everything else compared to Hotel Grand Cemara.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The location of the hotel is quite convenient; you can walk to the city center and shopping malls. Opposite is a 24-hout-convenience shop and restaurants are all around.

The standard rooms are small and run-downed. The amenities are very limited, shampoo and shower gel are not replaced every day. There is only one closet and one chair, no space to hang something. There is no safety box and TV contains only eight channels in a bad quality. Wall paper is losing contact and the carpet is dirty. My view was into slum housing, I heard the engine of the elevator night and day. Internet is not included and really overprized by the hour or the day; connection speed is very low.

The breakfast is okay, but expect smoky air due to a smoking area in the breakfast room. The service is friendly and English language skills are well trained.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed many many times in Cemara. Oh, sorry, Grand Cemara now... Always smiling and friendly service. Room service is fast. Unbeatable housekeeping service - better than many 5-star hotels. Excellent value for money. Especially after they have upgraded the aircons. Wireless internet is pricey though...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cemara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cemara Hotel

Address: Jl. Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Cemara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Cemara Hotel is strategically located at Central Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers specious and comfortable rooms with great service from our staff. Our Hotel is located near Central Business District (Jalan MH Thamrin and Jalan Kuningan), Shopping Center (Sarinah, Grand Indonesia, PLaza Indonesia, Jalan Sabang, Tanah abang, and many more) and Main Tourist Atraction (such as MONAS and Budaran HI). Only 45 minutes from Soekarno Hatta International Airport and 10 minutes Gambir Railway Central Station. In Room Facilities include fully air-conditioner, LED TV with cable channel, mini-bar,refigerator, coffee and tea making facility,complimentary daily newspaper, bathroom amenities, and Free Wifi. Hotel Facilities include 24 hour Coffee Shop and Room Service, Lounge,Healthy Spa and Massage, Swimming Pool, Laundry, Transportation, Free Vallet Service, Taxi Stand, Free Shutle Service to surrounding Shopping Area, Drug Store, and Free Wifi. Our Motto is "Feels Like Home", so every guest will enjoy a great hospitality from our staff. Our guest will be treated like family. Thank you and we wish have a plesant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Cemara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemara Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cemara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.