We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ascott - Jakarta...Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Jakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ascott Jakarta to your Saves list
Ascott Jakarta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kebon Kacang Raya No. 2, Jakarta 10230, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 322 Hotels in Jakarta
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ascott - Jakarta...Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed in Ascott Jakarta for a business trip. Normally I never stay in any other hotels in Jakarta other then Mulia Senayan (the best) and Gren Melia (good), but this time these hotels were fully sold, so had to look for alternatives.

Regarding Ascott, let me start with positives:
- Location is good, just besides Grand Indonesia
- Apartment size is good and you can maintain your own kitchen

Negatives (sorry for the long list):
- Room tariff was USD 165 per night, not worth the hotel in general.
- Still under renovation. You will find workers in the hotel even at 8 PM.
- The room smells of paint and humidity.
- The beds are not comfortable.
- There is no bar in the hotel.
- The swimming pool is so small that I wonder if can be called a pool.
- The restaurant food is so pathetic (the chicken burger I ordered was not made of fresh meat). The service is very slow, it took them 45 minutes to prepare a burger.
- The breakfast variety is minimal.
- The restaurant closes at 10 PM. No option of food or snacks after that.
- There is a mini mart but even that closes at 10 PM.
- The staff service is very slow.
- No active taxi service in the hotel. It can be really a challenge if you wait for 20 mins for a taxi before your meeting.
- During checkout, the staff noted my credit card details including the CVV number. On questioning, they told that they won't misuse it. Ultimately, I forced them to scribble off the CVV number. Haven't experienced it in any hotel.

Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
7
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had been to Jakarta in August and stayed at this place. I stayed in a studio apartment. Looks like they have renovated the place and it was simply amazing with all facilities in the room. The package included breakfast and the food tasted very good. Excellent hospitality and room service by the staffs and they were really fast. Most satisfying service was when I told am a vegetarian and need something for dinner, the chef himself came down to my table, checked what I wanted and served me by himself. He served me rice and mixed veg curry which tasted like what have at home. Rooms very pretty clean, spacious and comfortable. Swimming pool was small but we'll maintained.

Overall a wonderful stay I had...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

this is my 2nd stay in this apartment and i got one very good lesson.
ONLY stay in new renovated room, as it is fabulous. i got studio room and it is nicely done. painted in almost all white, the room and kitchen is beautiful with a bit classic touch but still modern. the TV has changed to new Smart TV, with nice sofa and even working table. the room is good with the natural light from 2 windows. marble flooring with a small persian rug under the coffee table as accesories, NIce.
REceptionist is very nice , even my checking in is a bit delay. but over all very good.

Housekeeping need to work harder. the iron + glass coffee table in my room show a deep layer of dust on the iron body, showing months of non mopping. also the floor in the kitchen is sticky. need wet mopping instead of just vacuuming. otherwise all well.

BTW, I dont like the bed linen, it feel damp in the aircond. not comfortable.

Location: can't be better than that. you just near to most of the things.
no complaints.

Room Tip: ONLY NEW renovated room, otherwise skip this service apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Visited Jakarta in June, stayed at Ascott Jakarta as it was recommended by Indonesian associates. Location is great if you need to be near the business/financial district, very very convenient. We experienced some delay during our check-in even when it was pass check in time(1430hrs). Reason given was that the apartment(3 rooms) is not ready. After spending another hour waiting at the lobby we insisted that a room to be given to us so that we could rest and freshen up. Was given an old 3 rooms apartment, but we were all so tired that we didn't mind as long as we could rest and freshen up while waiting for our newly renovated apartment to be ready. The temporary apartment was in real bad condition and the tiles in the toilets and shower rooms were mouldy. But when we move into our actual apartment it was newly renovated and furnished, it was worth every dollar. Therefore do not forget to ask for the newly renovated apartments/rooms ONLY. Hope that the management is able to improve their check-in procedures and maintain the newly renovated rooms.

Room Tip: Stay in newly renovated rooms/apartments ONLY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was my family’s second stay at this hotel in 2013 (June 11-June 14, July 1- July 7). Our first stay at this hotel was last year 2012. What we like about this hotel is its location where two shopping malls are within walking distance (Grand Indonesia and Plaza Indonesia). Other reasons to select this hotel was the availability of a washing machine and dryer. There is ongoing major maintenance work at hotel rooms/floors that starts daily at around 9am where noise generated by the use of hammers and other equipment is heard very loudly in our apartment. Free Wi-Fi is available at the hotel’s small lobby (my son suffered from insect bites while sitting at the lobby). At check in we had to move between three different apartments because of noise generated by Air conditioners. We had to call housekeeping to fix the toilet bowl, partially blocked sink, the shower; and provide us with some missing items such as additional slippers and towels. My kids complained about insect bites at the apartment.

Room Tip: Before making an apartment booking ask if they still have maintenance of floors and apartments. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I am shocked by how bad a hotel / service apt can be. How old and worn must a hotel be before the management decide to have a proper renovation??

It makes customers feel so uneasy staying in it. It may be very cheaper compare to the neighbouring hotels but with limited facilities, old n ageing furniture and untasteful deco. Some corners of the hotels are dark and scary, there are noises heard even late at nights! When my friends and I check it out, there are noone else along the corridor.
Very bad experience staying here. Never will I come back again and I would not recommend staying here. Go for a back packer hostel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in April 2013 and found my stay extremely pleasant. Polite staff and excellent facilities in the room. Ample studio with well furnished recently renovated rooms.

The kitchenette was well equipped and has all the tools and equipment necessary to whip up a quick meal for yourself. The bathroom was stocked with the usual L'occitane toiletries that is the hallmark of Ascott rooms.

The check-in and check out was painless and efficient. Breakfast was inexpensive by global standards but I did not go for it as the hotel was conveniently located directly across Grand Indonesia where one would be spoilt for choice with eateries.

Room Tip: Stay in the new refurbished rooms in one of the wings and avoid the other wing with the older rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Jakarta

Address: Jalan Kebon Kacang Raya No. 2, Jakarta 10230, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#45 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Jakarta 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascott Jakarta is located in exclusive retreat, in the heart of the city’s business and shopping district: (Plaza Indonesia Shopping complex, Grand Indonesia Shopping Complex, Jakarta City Center Shopping Mall), Embassies and a wide variety of dining and entertainment, It meets your every need, the services and facilities are luxurious, extensive and personalized. You can indulge in the exclusive lifestyle of Ascott Jakarta while enjoying the energy of this dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Ascott Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.