We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned & dirty room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Hotel to your Saves list
Alpine Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Gunung Sahari Raya NO.35, Jakarta 10720, Indonesia (Sawah Besar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old fashioned & dirty room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I were in Alpine hotel for 3 days, but i decided to stay only a day due to room condition was terrible, smell and dirty. All furnitures look old fashioned and less of maintenance. Dust everywhere inside the room and the floor felt sticky. At night I hired a girl masseur and she said that massage price and additional time was around Rp 300k for 2 hrs massage with average performance. Really suck for that kind of massage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
5
3
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

You are making the world too clean. Your immune system is in danger . We need contact with dirt to build up natural resistance to harmful bacteria. For this reason, the Alpine Hotel is proud to be dirty and carry a wide variety of bacteria. Just one night's stay will give your immune system the boost it need to remain effective.VISIT BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE. Just KIDDING, i stayed here for 3 nights, and it was worth it. For me, my main concern when staying at any hotel is the price. The word "budget traveller" is really applicable here. Everything is okay here, room is spacious, comfy beds, got TV, and breakfast is delicious

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintok, Kedah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Only 10 mins from Gambir Train Station and Mangga Dua shopping district (but with traffic or macet as locals called it, it's a whole different story). Hard to locate at first due to the hotel cramped in between taller buildings on both sides.The staffs were friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and cozy with spacious bathroom (no tube though). The buffet breakfast lack variety with no western choices. Overall its an ok hotel, credit to the location being near to attractions like Mangga Dua and Kota Tua area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with my family. I chose this hotel because the others were full booked (it's christmas and new year holiday actually). The price is really cheap, only took 1,000,000 IDR for 2 nights. Yaa you got what you paid. Not a very big room but enough for 4 persons with 1 king size-bed and 1 small size-bed, a little bit clean bathroom with no hairdryer, and if you want a cup of hot water you must go out and get it outside the room. Simple breakfast, small swimming pool, but very friendly and well-service staffs! This hotel is best for those who just want to sleep and don't mind with no exclusive facilities

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
2 reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

it was my first time staying in this hotel in jakarta. very pleasant outlook at the exterior and not too bad in the interior decor. i was greeted very well by all the staff from their security, porters and reception counter. they are always carrying a simile on their face, very attentive and hospitable at all time especially when you raised a question to anyone in the hotel, they will try to help you with an answer. the room was big and the air-con was cooling too. breakfast served a wide-variety of food and are very tasty. one thing good when consuming breakfast are the restaurant restricted guest from smoking only after 11am, the guest are allow to smoke inside the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The room is spacious and the bed is king size. Staff is helpfull and smily. Otherwise, the cleanliness doesn't seem to be their priority. The bathroom is dirty (ex.: there is hair on the floor, the shower is stained by moistures and there is ants all over the place). We made the mistake to bring our own food in the room. The ants made them a snack in few minutes. We ask in the front door to change the room. They give us an other room, but this was not better.
We are in a big trip in Asia. We traveled in India and China. We saw a lot of hostels and guesthouse, but this one was the worst and the most expansive.
The night before, we was at the Ibis Kemayoran Hotel in Jakarta and it was a way better for the same price. We recommand it instead of the Alpine Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was in the same district as the Java Jazz Festival at Kemayoran..In spite of the poor reviews we booked a family room as most hotels even the very good ones were booked full already. A room for three cost 55 U$. We arrived at two in the morning and was promptly taken to our room...The room was spacious but has seen better days. The beds were in A1 condition a twin and a queen sized bed for the three of us. There was a flat screen TV with very few channel choices, a stocked refrigerator. The Toilet and bathe was clean but the tiles had some stains and the ceiling needed a new paint job. The aircon took time to cool on the first night but did not have trouble in the subsequent 4 nights.

Breakfast was lousy. Very few choices and only served coffee and tea. No water only bottled which you have to pay for. There is a 24 hour room service and the food is quite good.

The staff is awesome, very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The staff compensates for the hotels short comings.

I left a bag in a fast food center but got it back intact but thought in the beginning that I had left it in a taxi..The staff records all in and outgoing taxis and called them right away.

We will book the same hotel the next time we attend the Java Jazz Festival

Is it the best hotel? No..but you get what you pay for... good value for money.

Room Tip: There is a small store at the side street where you can buy water and other necessities. cheaper tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hotel

Address: Jalan Gunung Sahari Raya NO.35, Jakarta 10720, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of Jakarta on the famed Gunung Sahari Raya no.35. The hotel is close to exclusive Mangga Dua Shopping Centre and allows easy access to many of Jakarta's finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.