We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY COMFORTABLE HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square

Save Saved
You added Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Gunung Sahari Raya No. 1, Jakarta 14420, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Ramadhan Offer
Ranked #47 of 309 hotels in Jakarta
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    323
    157
    43
    20
See reviews for
144
91
74
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

you have good service in bad location with bad traffic & bad environment.
the foods is nice and you have good restaurant & lounge. the employees really polite & helpful. the location at the trade centre is terible. i will be come again but never go around to seight seing around hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelJakartaM2S, Management at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear 76travelor,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square!

Thank you for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that the service rendered is appreciated, and that you enjoyed the food in our hotel.

Albeit the uncontrollable factors such as traffic and the surrounding environment, we truly appreciate your consideration to stay back here again. We are looking forward to welcome you again at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square in the near future!

Always at your service,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well located in a shopping location. Plenty of food outlet and nothing fancy. The rooms need to be clean up and the bathrooms needs a complete turn over. Staff are friendly and helpful. The have mental detector in every exit but I cannot undertand the purpose when is not use correctly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelJakartaM2S, Management at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear JayvenSee,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square!

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased to hear that you are in favor of our location and the hospitality of out staffs. We have well noted your comments on security system. Please be assured that your feedbacks have been duly reviewed by related department to be reviewed for future improvements.

Please also let us use this opportunity to announce that we will refurbish our Guest rooms and some hotel’s public area in the first quarter of 2013. We wish we could deliver a renewed experience to our Guests.

Thank you for your contribution, and we are looking forward to welcome you back again at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square!

Always at your service,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Checked-in to this hotel yesterday, was told I am given an upgrade to the premier floor as a result of my Silver tier A|Club membership. Happily thinking that I can now enjoy all the benefits accorded to premier floor guests. But to my horror, when I went to the premier lounge for a drink this evening, I was told they will bill me for my drink because my upgrade does not include premier floor benefits such as free laundry, free breakfast, free evening cocktail etc.

Embarrassed, I approached the duty manager for explanation and was told hotel policy stipulated that my upgrade to premier floor is for room only and does not include all other benefits. What a shock, what upgrade is this? The “upgraded room” I have, is exactly the same size as the room I booked. Thus, without the premier floor benefits, can you call this an upgrade? Is this not cheating, I asked the duty manager and he offered no answer but smiled. Nevertheless, as goodwill, he offered me free breakfast for the rest of my stay, but I declined. I told him I do not need to beg for breakfast.

Hence, beware, do not be fooled!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelJakartaM2S, Management at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Kool123934,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square!

It is our pleasure to have you staying with us. Thank you for taking some of your valuable time expressing your comments concerning your upgraded room.

We have reviewed with the concerned departments all elements related to your experience. We very much regret the inconvenience caused to you on this occasion, and please accept our sincerest apologies. In order to guaranty a prompt service, we have taken all the necessary measures as to ensure all our Guests will get the benefits from our room upgrade policy. Le Club member will get the room upgraded one level higher based on availability. Therefore, by booking at least our Deluxe Room to be upgraded, you could enjoy the Premier Floor benefits.

You can rest assure that this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer. We have taken immediate actions to avoid such experience to happen again. Your comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution.

We are looking forward to be off service upon your next visit to Novotel Mangga Dua Square and we remain at your entire disposal.

Always at your service,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel is in nice location. However, room had no natural light (facing another building's wall) and artifical lighting was dark and poor. Will not stay in this hotel again. A much better choice is Swiss Belhotel - just a bit down the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelJakartaM2S, Management at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear For_what_purpose,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square!

We would like to extend our greatest appreciation for have stayed at our hotel and also taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay.

We have taken your comment regarding the lighting and we will bring this matter for further discussion. Please accept our sincerest apologize since we were running on high occupancy so we couldn’t give you the room with the view to pool / pond / city. However, there were only a few of these rooms which are facing annexe building so we wish we could give you the room with the best view upon your next stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we wish for the opportunity to serve you better upon your next visit to Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square.

Always at your service,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stay here quite often, the hotel has a great feel to it, staff are friendly and efficient with the restaurant, bar and Premier Floor well run. Value for money is excellent, location is great for the airport (25 mins) and for my clients in the north of hectic Jakarta. The MD shopping centre is right next door for just about anything you need. Novotel MD is a good business hotel with comfortable quiet areas and no extravagant extras. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms, while clean, are starting to show wear and tear. Perhaps Accor could start to renovate them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelJakartaM2S, Management at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Nic_RCT,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square!

Thank you for your sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for being a loyal Guest to us. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us in general.

We are also pleased to inform you that we will undergo a renovation in some of our public areas and guest rooms in the first quarter of 2013. We hope you will find us improved upon your next visit to our hotel.

We thank you again for the kind feedback and it will be our hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Always at your service,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, september 18-23, in their deluxe Suite at Premiere Floor. The room is very spacious, but very plain in terms of the interior design, looks just put the furniture there without good design layout. Moreover, they don't make restroom in livingroom of the Suite. Their Bed and Pillows were not bad but not at the quality of Suite. Towels quality were bad, totally a shock for suite level. The Premiere Lounge is good, and giving us warm atmosphere. Only the fruit they served, i found 3 days in a row, got small flies hopping on the fruit, needs attention.
Overall service by staffs were very good, especially their Duty Manager called Pak Maksum, very attentive, fast and responsive. I am happy with that.
Location is good, on top of famous shopping centre (not mall), easy to find local foods around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelJakartaM2S, Management at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Cipto29,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square!

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and we are pleased to learn that the service rendered is appreciated. Please be ensured that your positive comment will keep us motivated.

We have duly noted your valuable feedbacks and will continue to make improvements to our products and level of services.

Once again, thank you for choosing Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square as your preferred accommodation and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Always at your service,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square

Address: Jalan Gunung Sahari Raya No. 1, Jakarta 14420, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#38 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square is strategically located in the prominent Mangga Dua area, close to the coast - Ancol Dreamland, historical Old Batavia area, as well as to Jakarta International Expo in Kemayoran making it the One Stop Destination in North Jakarta. Novotel hotel is part of a large and modern shopping, entertainment, exhibition, wholesales as well as retail complex known as Mangga Dua Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square Hotel Jakarta
Novotel Hotel Jakarta
Novotel Hotel Mangga Dua
Novotel Mangga Dua
Jakarta Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.