We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice three day stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square

Save Saved
You added Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Gunung Sahari Raya No. 1, Jakarta 14420, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Ramadhan Offer
Ranked #45 of 309 hotels in Jakarta
Dhahran
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very nice three day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and eight year old son in June, 2011 for three nights. Although we had booked a standard room, we were upgraded for some reason to a one bedroom suite. Wow! It was huge and very nicely furnished with a massive window overlooking a delightfully chaotic downtown Jakarta - luckily the glass of the window protected us from the noise of all that traffic. A huge plus was the swimming pool. It was full size olympic in length, in a truly beautiful setting and the water was a delightful temperature when I went down to swim in it at six in the morning. The hotel staff were all smiles all the time and helpful. Breakfast was nice and served in a very nice area. So why only four stars and not five? Well, the air-conditioning in our room didn't really keep us cool enough. Perhaps the reason why we were upgraded to the one bedroom suite is that it's not all that popular because it's too big to be properly air-conditioned. The corridoors of the hotel were not that well air-conditioned either. Another slight gripe: the bed I had to share with my wife and son was not quite big enough for a truly comfortable night's sleep. And another gripe: the small refrigerator in the room did not function all that well. In order to chill the duty free champagne we'd bought, I had to get the people in the bar to chill it and I also had to pay for an ice-bucket with ice, which, fare play, didn't cost much at all. About the area. Getting to Mangga Dua from Central Jakarta can take absolutely ages in a taxi. Jakarta's road congestion is legendary. On a more positive note, there are some very nice small seafood eateries nearby. On the whole, we really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    322
    157
    43
    20
See reviews for
144
91
74
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Room is big enough, super clean, the service is fine. In my taste the breakfast for executive floor is ok, but the dining for lunch and dinner is great. There is Jakarta Indonesian Chinese food Culture in the first floor of the mall --exit near the pool areas, that should great to check it out for the experience. For shopping- middle- class is great for the price. Advice: .To enter the city, center, I prefer no TOL ROAD, adventure, because we can enjoy the changing of landscape of Jakarta Urban, but the traffic is greatly concern, so if you want to combine Jakarta should see weekend as the possible exploring the citied from this area, include the harbor culture and its survival in the mid of a capital city!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

It was a good hotel, the food is pretty decent except I'm kind of disappointed with the Internet services. There is wifi (cable is not available), but you need to pay dearly for it, same goes to the biz center, you need to pay if you want to use the internet there. I was wondering how a 4 star hotel provide no free internet access. Except the internet services, the hotel is pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel is on Mangga Dua, walking distance to various shopping malls, eateries. Only concern is that on rainy days the adjacent roads are flooded. Just next to the hotel is a shopping Centre with Carrefour at Basement.
The ITC mall are crowded with bargain hunters. Many others shopping are fixed prices. The area is safe and I find it close to everything I need. Pubs, entertainment, Karaoke and music lounges are nearby without taking a taxi.
Rgds
Shankar

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker dont try any smoking level rooms. Ask for Swimming pool view and away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

No smile and no greeting upon arrival at hotel from driveway of the hotel to the front desk staff.need to improve on that area,however the facilities are excellent.Ms Velly at the front desk was very pleasant during c/out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Location is good , next to a big shopping mall.
Traffic is bad almost all the time but this is Jakarta... traffic is everywhere

Rooms, very small, bed is very small, toilet is also not good.

I booked 2 nite stay and check out after just one nite staying here. My kids keeps complaining.

So if you are here just for shopping and sleep, if the price is right, go ahead, otherwise, book somewhere else

Room Tip: Rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square

Address: Jalan Gunung Sahari Raya No. 1, Jakarta 14420, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#37 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square is strategically located in the prominent Mangga Dua area, close to the coast - Ancol Dreamland, historical Old Batavia area, as well as to Jakarta International Expo in Kemayoran making it the One Stop Destination in North Jakarta. Novotel hotel is part of a large and modern shopping, entertainment, exhibition, wholesales as well as retail complex known as Mangga Dua Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square Hotel Jakarta
Novotel Hotel Jakarta
Novotel Hotel Mangga Dua
Novotel Mangga Dua
Jakarta Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.