We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure location, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kristal to your Saves list
Hotel Kristal
Jalan Tarogong Raya, Jakarta 12430, Indonesia (Cilandak)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 329 Hotels in Jakarta
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Secure location, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Have stayed in the Kristal a couple of times this year.

The security coming into the hotel area is good, but once you are thru the main check point it all falls apart, with limited checks on anything brought into the hotel.

The rooms are basic, and are definitely showing wear and tear. Both times I stayed I had trouble with air conditioing units. The first time I stayed a colleague had trouble with bed bugs - not the sort of thing you want to have to deal with.

Breakfast and lunch buffetts where OK, nothing spectacular, but did the job.

In hotel entertainment is limited to the Satu Lagi bar - which appeared to be a gathering place for just after work, but then went relatively quiet. Snack food and the overall environment in there was good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    74
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
5
12
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

If you are visiting, just arrived and waiting to find a house, or working in south Jakarta, this is the place to be.

rooms are big, even the single room has a small kitchen with stove fridge and water cooler. The decor is fine, dark wood and beige, big LCD TV and 50+ channels. Internet connection is by cable, fast enough for emails and light surfing,,, but skype overwhelms it in the busy early evening time.

The breakfast is fine, good selection of Asian and European, Satu Lagi (one more) bar has a distinctly Aussie feel. The fitness spa is great, the pool, lovely.

The place is as clean as a whistle, bathroom is a bit dated, but absolutely fine.

On your first visit, be prepared for a rather annoying check in process, where they sign u up for membership. It's not a scam,, it give decent discount on meals and drinks, spa treatments etc, plus drastically cuts hotel costs with "buy three get one free" type offers abounding. The whole process is a bit of a pain, especially if you are jet lagged, stinking and just want a drink a shower and a sleep.

Apart from that, no complaints, will be returning year on year, and will not be looking at anywhere else

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Homely hospitality, Happy hours in Satulagi Bar, Effort to provide food to suit Indians, Humble staff

  • Liked — Staff behaviour
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

I stayed in Kristal from June 2008- Oct 2008, 5 months. I had stayed in single as well as 3BHK room. The rooms are ok. 3BHK is better. Bathroom are ok. Very good gym and swimming pool. Food is ok. In single room Kitchen is small. Staff is friendly.
Pondak indah mall is near. next to hotel is multipurpose store where you can get all the stuff of daily need. Its far from all the good action like bars and pubs.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menteng
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I stayed here last June 2008. Basically I like this kind of place as it suited my needs for long term stay I was having. I was booked in a 1 Bedroom Suite (they likely name it) but either due to short of unit or something else I was upgraded then to a 2 Bedroom Suite without additional charge. The check in process was ok and glad to find they were all friendly. The Internet access is provided in the room again without additional charge and I could also use the wireless connection in the public area. That helped me much. And they provide water dispenser instead of daily bottle water. The important thing is the kitchenette where I could cook during the weekend. I enjoyed the sport bar as well, something named Satu Lagi with acoustic band performance on certain nights. I was attracted a lot with the big and nice pool there as well as the gym I visited several time. Overall I enjoyed this hotel despite some more upgrade would likely be appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Kristal for 1 week while doing business in Jakarta. This was my first trip to Jakarta and the hotel was close to my office.. The Hotel was clean with a great gym and several shops, a salon, a couple places to eat and a bar. The food was excellent, with a good selection of Indonesian and other types of food to choose from. Good service all around. Laundry service was fast and did an excellent job.

Orgianlly I was put in a single room. This was small, with a full size bed. I asked for a larger room since the desk was too small to do any kind of work on. So I was moved to a 2 room suite. Both rooms have kitchens. No mini bar. The 2 room suite had a dinner table that was adequate enough to do work on. There is not wireless internet in the rooms, but there is wired internet service for a fee.

Room service was very good and prompt.

All round a nice hotel, not too expensive. a good place to stay in the southern part of Jakarta.

  • Liked — location, food
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

I have been staying at Hotel Kristal since last August 2007, striclty for Business Assignments.

Carpark - ample. My driver has no problems, or complaints.
Front desk - sometimes a bit slow, but still without much hassle.
Pool nice and big.
Nice gym with trainers available.
Few shops, and a convenience store.
Few pubs, a coffee lounge - so-so
Restaurants - so-so.
Breakfast - good, and mulitple varieties.
Dislke however, that after checking in, depending on which block you are assigned, you might have to walk a short distance to another block. Looks like a condominium coverted to a hotel.

Room furnishing is old, big though, and with a kitchen. There is a water dispenser for drinking water for hot and cold. Complimentary one time coke and beer. Air-con and the water dispenser is a big minus at sleeping due to the noise they generate. Repairs are needed urgently. Also dislike the cold ceramic floor. Get the pool view, which is superb, other than that a brick wall view would be comparable.
Room service - good, and prompt.

One thing I also dislike is the long corridor to the rooms. It is poorly lit, and scary. More so at night.

I would not stay here if it had not been close toplace that I will be conducting my business.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Address: Jalan Tarogong Raya, Jakarta 12430, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Cilandak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.