We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation in a poor location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kristal to your Saves list
Hotel Kristal
Jalan Tarogong Raya, Jakarta 12430, Indonesia (Cilandak)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Year End Special Deal
Ranked #86 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation in a poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I last stayed at the Kristal in 2002 and little has changed since then. It's basically an oilfield hotel located in the Cilandak area close to many oil company offices. The decor is pretty tired and the in-room facilities quite basic. The biggest downsides are: very slow wifi (best to use the ethernet cable which is a bit better) and the location which requires a taxi to go anywhere to shop or eat. The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean. A nice pool area and a good gym which can get a little crowded at peak times. But the only real alternative is a hotel closer to downtown and then deal with the notorious Jakarta traffic.

Room Tip: Get a 2-bedroom apartment if staying longer than a few days - much bigger and a usable kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    75
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
5
13
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, France
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Tired & Jaded,,, Kids running up & down corridor,,,, overpriced. For a family the 2 or 3 bedroom apartments are very appealing, swimming pool was good, food was not bad some of the western meals were actually quite excellent. Supermarket next door with Western products very useful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay in the Hotel Kristal while on a business trip in Jakarta. I felt very safe on the property. The stay always goes out of their way to ensure your safety. Taxis are available and pull into the complex, so you don’t have to flag them down on the street. The Satu Lugi bar on the property is a great place to unwind in the evenings. I found my room neat and clean. I liked the fact that there was a 5 gallon water cooler in my room, so I had plenty of bottled water. There was a small kitchen with basic items. The pool area is very nice and clean. Overall, if I’m ever back in Indonesia, I’ll stay at the Kristal again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

i stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks. very comfortable and clean. homely as well. the staffs were friendly and excellent. the food menu can be improvised though for the room service. the tv channels were good. there is water dispenser and kitchen too. there is a bar downstairs not too dodgy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for a family. There are two bedroomed and three bedroomed apartments available. Swimming pool great for the kids as well. The restaurant has been recently revamped and the food quality also improved greatly.

Good for a break with kids in Jakarta and reasonably priced

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was a member of a party of three teachers and nine young teenage schoolgirls, from an international school in Malaysia. We were visiting Jakarta for a four day festival of Gamelan music. Safety and security were obviously very important to us and the hotel responded admirably to our needs. The main entrances to the hotel were all very well guarded, with metal detectors and vehicle checks. WIthin the actual hotel, the management had ensured that the rooms occupied by the students were made additionally safe. This they achieved by removing sharp knives and potentially dangerous electrical equipment from the en suite kitchens. All these little touches contributed to a stress free and very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was quite impressed with this hotel. We booked 4 units for the wedding groups to stay. It's quite a distance from Jakarta so keep that in mind when booking this place. That said there are mall and entertainments around the area.

The apartment was nicely furnished and very spacious. Probably the biggest holiday apartment I've been. We got the 3 bedrooms unit, third bedroom is a single bed only. The service was friendly and helpful. Staffs can speak English really well. Free wifi included. Basically it's a home away from home type of atmosphere. From what I can see when I was there, people who stayed there was mostly foreigners.

Be aware if you're a total non smoker, pick a non smoking floor because even when they clean the room, our room still got residual stink of cigarette throughout the apartment.

We didn't use any of the facility during our stay because it was hectic with our schedule.

There's a line of florists around a block away (open til 2am) from the apartment for last minute wedding bouquet crisis, if needed. ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Address: Jalan Tarogong Raya, Jakarta 12430, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Cilandak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.