We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 2 months” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kristal to your Saves list
Hotel Kristal
Jalan Tarogong Raya, Jakarta 12430, Indonesia (Cilandak)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stayed for 2 months”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place was great for the long term rental we needed while our house was getting ready. Stayed with one child. The room was fine for what we needed. The kitchen and laundry facilities were very convenient. The staff was so informative and friendly. They told us basically everything we would need to know for living in Jakarta. They taught us some basic Bahasa so we could get around. The restaurant wasn't the best. This is a good hotel to stay in if you want to be in the south (Close to Jakarta International School, malls and expat grocery store). The pool is great! Was a great welcoming experience.

Room Tip: pool view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    74
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
5
12
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was stayed in Krystal hotel for a business trip. It was an average hotel and things are ok with me 4 days stay. And little smokey atmosphere and not good for non-smoking people. Swimming pool is good and lobby is little conjusted. Breakfast not much tastey for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Currently (January 2013) the hotel is undergoing major renovations so we we not able to full assess all the facilities, all comments are made with that in mind.

Accommodation: We had a standard room on the 3rd floor. From the look of the room it is one that is yet to be renovated (I hope) but even so it was very comfortable and set out nicely. The bed was hardish but not too bad. There was a lovely comfortable 2 seat sofa from which the television could be watched and plenty of lamps and other lighting for reading and relaxing.

Working: The work table where the power outlet is was a little small and really only allowed the laptop and the chargers to be placed. The power outlet had a multi adapter in it, but you can only use the front port of this as the painting on the wall makes using the top port of the adapter impossible to use, so could only charge one device at a time, minor issue, but annoying when two people with four phones, two tablets and two laptops. There are other outlets but you need your own adapter for those. Lighting was good for the worktable, so overall it was ok but the table could be a little larger

Bathroom: Hopefully this was not yet renovated as it was very old looking. Very serviceable and very clean but old. The water from the shower was hot and strong, a real treat in many places, but the floor of the bathroom gets sodden no matter how you arrange the shower curtain. The bathroom cabinet had plenty of space to put all your essentials. As I said, clean and serviceable but old.

Kitchen: Yes it has a kitchen, well kind of. A water dispenser which was a brilliant idea, no more having to worry about getting bottled water, and it worked for hot and cold. But a microwave would have been ideal. I understand that if you ask for it they will find one for you, but dont worry the supermarket next door doesnt have any microwave meals anyway.

Location: The hotel is right near the Jakarta International School so traffic is horrendous between 7am and 8am and again from 3 to 4pm. Other times of hte day the traffic is just bad, but its horrendous at school times. The road is busy as it is a major connection from one part of Jakarta Selatan to other parts and is only one lane each way and plenty of people coming into the road from condo blocks and the hotel. It is busy pretty much all day every day, expect to wake at 5.30am as the motorcycle traffic starts up and the local mosque starts its call. Fortunately they serve breakfast from 5.30am so good time to get up, shower and have an early breakfast!

Restaurants: Due to the renovations we were only able to try the temporary restaurant at "Next Door" for breakfast. The bar here "Satu Lagi" is busy all the time by the look of it. Be warned though, smoking indoors is still permitted in Indonesia so if you dont like cigarette smoke full bore, you will not enjoy this bar. Each time I went in there seemed to be a few people smoking rather pungent cigars as well. So this meant that trying to enjoy the allegedly great steaks and ribs of Satu Lagi would mean dragging down 100MG of tar from the group puffing away from us. We retreated to room service most nights and headed out for nasi padang in the street on the others. We did have breakfast in the cafe one morning, neither the pastry nor the coffee would tempt me to return. WIll stock up outside next time and make do with a late breakfast elsewhere.

Pool etc: Well there was a major flood while we were there so no chance to use th pool, but it looked lovely and many said it was a great place to meet other visitors on the weekends etc.

Service: Very friendly, very accommodating, very prompt, nothing was too much trouble for the staff from the front door to room service. Obviously very accustomed to dealing with westerners but were also very polite and helpful for Indonesian guests which is not often the case in some bigger hotels in jakarta. Good job.

All in all it was a pleasant experience, no doubt we will be using it again, hopefully the renovations will be over soon so we can enjoy more of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The family stayed at Kristal for two weeks over Christmas and New Year. The location is convenient for South Jakarta malls and getting to the city. The two bedroom apartment had everything. But the hotel needs brightening up. The restaurant food also needs improvement. As a cheaper alternative to the big city hotels it is good, but standards have slipped a little.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with a poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed with 2 young children, and were given an unrefurbished, smoking room on a smoking floor. Horrid, old bathroom, old kitchen area, but worst was the stench in this apartment - hard to describe, except to say it was nauseating and totally overwhelming. Not worth half the rate we were being charged, and certainly not a place you'd put young children.

We requested to be moved to a non-smoking room, and were given one around 8pm that night. In the meantime we couldn't stay in the room without feeling nauseous, so we tried the bar. It was filled with smoke, so we moved outside to the outdoors bar/restaurant area - it was full of middle-aged expats with their teenage local girlfriends, also quite smokey and generally not a very pleasant place for genuine tourists. But this was our only option, and drink prices were good.

The pool was a redeeming factor. It was a good size, with an unsmiling towel attendant, but otherwise great. Our children enjoyed it a lot. The restaurant in the main tower had good food as well, and reasonably priced. Although there was only one menu... a different menu for lunch would have been good, with smaller portion sizes/lower prices.

The refurbished room we were finally given was great - and non-smoking with good amenities. Decent value and very roomy. In any other hotel we would have been thrilled. Laundry service was top notch, as was housekeeping.

The location was a problem for us, as it took two hrs to get to the Blok M shopping centre - just a few kms away. Traffic was worse than we'd envisioned, but then again we had been warned about Jakarta's traffic jams. I'd advise staying closer to the city centre.

In all, I'd not recommend this for families or leisure tourists. It is an expat hang out first and foremost. If you do choose this hotel, be sure you get a refurbished room, or stay well away.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms are great, but unrefurbished rooms are smoky and disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel Kristal is okay, it would not be my first preference as it does not have the WOW Factor. It is quite a dark hotel. Only some rooms are refurbished, meaning you have the luck of the draw.

There is a lively bar within the hotel but good for single business men

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Good area to stay, closed to shopping center, golf course, supermarket, business district and etc; especially when you have no friends or relatives to rely on. Food was excellent with high standard menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Address: Jalan Tarogong Raya, Jakarta 12430, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Cilandak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.