We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Putri Duyung Ancol

Save Saved
You added Putri Duyung Ancol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Putri Duyung Ancol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Lodan Timur 7, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 309 hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Being a high class resort, this place needs to be modernised and A LOT of furnishing. Dirty beach, dirty room and poor service from the staff. The TV is very small and old, not to mention it's put very far from the bed, it's useless. The food wasn't that good either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Pricey, old building, good landscape and beach scenery though , but to enjoy the sea view, it was too fishy, I can't stand it. The food was quite good. It's a good thing that you can cycling around ancol area. Whatta good feeling

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottage last year. It was with sea view, and my daughter could play with sand after opening the glass door viewing the sea. The room had small sitting area to watch TV, kitchen and bedroom, placed in a nice way. Sometimes there were mosquitoes coming if you let the glass door opened too long. They rented bicycles free of charge, including kids' bicyles. They could call taxi for you and the taxi would come until the front of your cottage door. You could buy Ancol Dreamland's activities' tickets with discounted price here. Unfortunately they didn't have shuttle bus, which would be very helpfull considering it was quite a distance to move within Ancol, or to go out and inside Ancol.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

the cottage has beautiful view and landscape. we spend 1 night at Hiu cottage. it's Superior room which fit for up to 4 person (we use 1 extra bed).
the room is wide with unique shape, not square, i cannot define. the bathroom is clean, with hot and cold water all working properly. we have wide window which we can see the sea from here, and we can sit on the window just to feel the wind and sound of the palm trees.
we can use the bicycle for free. dinner and breakfast is not too fancy but menus range is quite much.
i love how they built each cottage and all the scenery. ooo!! i almost forgot about mosquito, there was many of mosquito surrounding our bed since the light was dim and etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Since I was staying here for one night and for free due to my niece's birthday bash, I don't want to talk about the cost. The accomodation is a bit old and need to be renovated, but not bad. The bathroom is clean. It's pretty close to the beach, and we can rent bike here. Speaking of breakfast, well, not many option, but it's okay. It's a good place to spend weekend in Jakarta.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We've been 3 times in this cottage, what we like is nice little cottage with view to sea or lake, swimming pool is between on boat between sea and beach. Its a shame they build convention centre just beside pool, so when we swimming, people from convention centre is look at you. Breakfast is great as indonesian buffet and international. In the night we can walk to le bridge ( its long bridge on the sea, beside it have mcdonalds, pizza hut and seafood restaurant, love it, we're never forget this hotel

Room Tip: If you are in indonesia, call kaha travel agen, they gave cheaper deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hotel is located conveniently to get there from the airport (40 minutes if traffic is moving, less than 100,000 rupiah to airport incl. toll), visit the Old Town-Kota (20 minutes and app. 22,000 rupiah), sail to Thousand Islands or for family fun in theme parks (e.g. 10 minutes walk from aquapark). Good breath from Jakarta, far away from the real Jakarta. You need taxi to get anywhere outside Ancol.

Staff is very welcoming and helpful. We stayed outside weekend, so it was not busy. It is a great opportunity to meet Indonesians. We were probably the only foreigners at the time, so everything seemed to be very authentic.Good breakfasts including elements of traditional Indonesian and continental European food. Dishes a la carte - average in terms of quality and price. Nothing to be excited about, but convenient.

As the reception and the restaurant are in a good technical shape, cottages are a bit run down. Bathrooms definitely require substantial refresh. Swimming pool is a joke - inside a ship on dark waves of the Jakarta Bay. Suitable for some children only, also requiring refresh.We experienced freezing and flooding air conditioning which set itself on 18 degrees and did not allow for any extravagances allowing us to avoid getting cold in tropics. Staff reacted after the second (nervous call) and solved the A/C leaking issue, but nothing could be done to control the temperature.

Assuming - good choice for sleeping the jet lag and focussing on coastal attractions of Jakarta.

Room Tip: executive cottages are located close to the restaurant and main reception area - convenient, but may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Putri Duyung Ancol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putri Duyung Ancol

Address: Jalan Lodan Timur 7, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Putri Duyung Ancol 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Putri Duyung Ancol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putri Duyung Ancol Hotel Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Putri Duyung Ancol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.