We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Tasty Chicken!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Gitane jkt

Cafe Gitane jkt
Jalan Benda Raya 14, Jakarta 12430, Indonesia (Pasar Minggu)
+62 21 7805671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 5,465 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pasar Minggu
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super Tasty Chicken!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Love their chicken and escargot. just had it for lunch, and craved already at night for the tasty chicken. Definitely will come back to hatch the chicken!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“French food that we missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

It is really nice escargot and rare meat that we order, my husband missed the home food, so this cafe serve really nice french food and wine, with affordable price.....

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty and affordable french food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

The restaurant is not easy to find but it was a real pleasure to eat there. The food was delicious, we got pissaladière, humus, olives, and then ratatouille. It was fresh and not pricy at all. I mean, usually if you go for french food in JKT you will pay 1.6 juta/person and with all the snakes and mean courses plus a bottle of wine we pay less than 1.6 o total! I highly recommend you this restaurant, it's one of my favorite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“French food served Indonesian Style?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We tried the salad, escargot, chicken and salmon. I don't have any complaints about the food's quality but I don't understand why a restaurant claiming as a French restaurant cannot serve the food in order and timely manner, surely, you can't expect someone to eat all at once. So why do they serve all the food at the same time? And after waiting so long..
A small advise on the chicken, the portion is too big, its enough for two person. Maybe you need to warn the customers or write it on the menu.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Difficult to find as address corresponds to multiple locations on this street!
Once there positive surprise!
They even have a small terrace!
Nice well stocked bar!
Wine selection small but adequate.
Small menu with a few specials
Taste and quality was really good value
I will be back and now I know where to find it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gitane jkt also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Gitane jkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Gitane jkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.