We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with other dishes- just order the Sop Buntut” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sop Buntut Bogor Cafe

Sop Buntut Bogor Cafe
Jl Jend Sudirman Kav 52-53 | Pacific Place Mall Level 5-57, SCBD, Jakarta, Indonesia
(021) 57973238
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 5,289 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Don't bother with other dishes- just order the Sop Buntut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We tried their branch in PIM 3 last Sunday. We wanted to treat some Indonesian friends for lunch. Since it was a weekend, they didn't accept reservations so we just went a little early so we can be sure to get a table. We ordered the different versions of their specialty dish. i had Nasi Goreng with Sop Buntut, my wife , the grilled Sop Buntut and our friend had the regular one. The meat was tender and flavorful. Our daughter ordered Fish and Chips and our other vegetarian guest ordered salad. Both were just so so .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Name Is Legendary. . .But Not As Good As Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Went to this restaurant 2 Dec 2013. Just the 2 of us me and my colleague. Location is within 1 level above Crystal Jade/Bibio, near the elevator. We had a:
1) Buntut fried rice, served with pickle and also emping + the soup itself.
2) Sop buntut bakar/grill small size with white rice + the soup also served with pickle and emping.

The buntut on my fried rice was okay, not much fat on it. The worse part is on my guest buntut bakar/grill. The meat on the buntut/ox tail is very full of fat and lacking of meat. We were surprise since we feel that the food quality is degrading since this venue is legendary in Jakarta and when I double check there's this claim" managed by Borobudur Hotel Jakarta".

Whats nice is the Lemon tea served with lime and also gula jawa (brown sugar). If I wasn't mistaken the name is Borobudur Ice Tea, hope giving you the right name here. For 2 person by Dec 2013 I paid Rp. 265.000.

The ox tail fried rice cost about Rp 92.000 alone.

Cheers. . .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not the best value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Located inside Pacific Place...a high class shopping center in the heart. The taste of Sop Buntut (their signature food) is okay, but considering the price which close to IDR 140.000,- it is definitely not worthed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“taste nice but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

One bowl of soup cost almost 100.000 rupiah !! Not a good value . Although the taste is good and the meat is soft and suitable for children

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sop Buntut Bogor Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sop Buntut Bogor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sop Buntut Bogor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.