We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice place and lovely family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evy's Benhil Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jakarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evy's Benhil Homestay
Save
You added Evy's Benhil Homestay to your Saves list
Jalan Karet Pasar Baru Barat II/18 | Rt 09 Rw 05, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia (Tanah Abang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 153 Jakarta B&B and Inns
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice place and lovely family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

i was stay for a week in Evy's Benhil Homestay for a training in Jakarta,
it was very nice place to stay and i was meet a lovely family there..
the owner is very friendly and such as my own family..
on the afternoon we can relax on the roof top of the homestay, and enjoy the moment together..
i really recommended this place for everybody.. not only the nice, clean, comfortable room but also the persons who stay at that place.. next trip to Jakarta i will stay at this place.. thank you Evy's benhill Homestay :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a few days in August during our visit to Jakarta and it was definately the best place we ever been to! Evy and her family are so sweet! The rooms are very nice and clean. The roof top and the view are amazing! We still miss this place and Evy and her family and will definately go back one day. We would really recommend this place!

Charlotte & Lotte

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Last year i went twice to Jakarta, and both times i went to evy's place and from the first arrival they became family to me,such friendly and loving people.The location is also great not far from bus access and other public transportation points and close to the city centre of Jakarta. Last time this lovely family took me and other guests to a tropical Island not so far from jakarta which i have really nice memories of.And last but not least the rooms are very clean and has everything you need when you go traveling,Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getxo, España
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

First of all is thank Evy and all family for the time spent with them during my 2 months stay at actually almost my second home.
They are so kind and help the guests as much as they can, about which places to isit or how to reach, they can give advice about tradicional souvenirs or good quality and cheap shopping.
The location is in a traditional indonesian neighborhood immersing oneself in an unique experience. There are many "warung" small shops where you can buy the meal already cooked, there are also malls close and also a big "pasar" market where you can take fish for dinner. About the transport, no problem, you can take a cheap bemo until the main street once there take ojek, minibus, transjakarta..thamrin square, national monas, gran indonesia, or blok m are quite close by transportation just have in mind about the office schedule to avoid the traffic jam.

In resume real indonesian ambiance, good and quite location and they get make you feel like being part of a big family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I love this place! It's in the center city, so we can walk to the main important places and avoid the worst in Jakarta, the traffic jam! Evy and her family are so nice and friendly! It's just like home! They know a lot about Indonesia, the best places, etc. and all them speak in English. The house is very nice too. It also has a beautiful garden! And the price is one of the last expensive I found, bearing in mind all the conditions!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Evy and her family are the wonderful friendly and welcoming heart of this central Indonesian Homestay. All members of the family have great English and go out of their way to help build Indonesian language skills (if you're interested), to provide information about their city and to make you feel at home away from home.

The homestay is clean, spacious, outfitted with desk/fridge/AC/bathrooms/t.v and comfortable beds, there is even a little shared kitchen area if required. And the location could literally not be more authentic, I have heard tell this may be the last real "Kampung" (Village) in central Jakarta. Kids run about in the alley's outside the house and the local community are inviting, friendly and proud of their neighborhood. We've been here a month and already we feel a little like locals.

The "Kost" Homestay, is close to a variety of food stalls, Semanggi Mall (as well as a host of other major malls), a wonderful food and vege market, a range of deli's (including 711) and possibly the best Ikan Bakar street side restaurant in Jakarta! Evy and her family charge our phones, arrange for clothes to be washed and are always asking about our ventures and making us feel apart of their city.

I literally cannot recommend this place enough. Perfect for people with longer stays, or those looking to meet travelers and locals away from the madness of your typical hostel - a real local experience. Please if you have any questions or inquiries regarding a stay here do not hesitate to contact me at r.tilby@gmail.com, I would be happy help build this deserved business. It's the least I can do to thank Evy and her family for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those with windows to the hall or outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I think, this is a good place for staying in Jakarta. The atmosphere is great, peaceful and friendly. The access is good since it is in downtown of the city. It ain't easy to find such a good place for staying in this city, but this Evy's place could be one of the best. I highly recommend you to try staying here if you come to Jakarta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evy's Benhil Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evy's Benhil Homestay

Address: Jalan Karet Pasar Baru Barat II/18 | Rt 09 Rw 05, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This homestay is not a hotel but it's like a dorm so most of the tenants come from other cities or other counties who work in Jakarta. Our location is in the middle of Jakarta urban village, it's on an alley, so you must walk around 50 meter from the street. Here you can see and learn the real Indonesian lifestyle. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evy's Benhil Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.