We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giyanti Coffee Roastery

Giyanti Coffee Roastery
Jl Surabaya no 20, Menteng, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
(021)31923698
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5,452 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
476 helpful votes 476 helpful votes
“Great great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

When i arrive... All the sudden I have this amazement of the place. So unique and cozy... Real homie, there are outdoor seating and indoors. Both is great. Not big though, inside there is settings for around 20 people inside and outside 20 more. But their decoration is just awesome. I love it.

More to say when my coffee is arrive. I order flat white with piccolo and it was amazing.

Trully just found a god new place where i can just hang here in peace. This is not a commercial place and I love it.

They open from Wednesday to Saturday only because on Sunday thru Tuesday they brew the coffee.

Definitely going back here. Just remember to bring my book.

Love it. Must go for coffee lovers. And those who appriciate great place to hang out with small group of friends.

Must must try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    22
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Personalized Coffee Roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My first time at the Giyanti Coffee. Located at Jl. Surabaya from Cikini, location was quite easy to find. Lovely neighbourhood and the moment I enter the area. I was stunned at the coziness and just wanted to sit down right away. The aroma was too irresistable and the owner was there roasting the beans with these unique machines that might turn into autobots!!

Seriously, he was indeed one of the friendliest ever. He communicated well with the customers and you can totally sense his passion of coffee!!

The experience, Grade AAA and the coffee taste, exceptional! Coming back here for sure with friends, family, or my 'me' time. I will so Going to spend more time here!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Giyanti is my favorite coffee shop & roastery. I always try to visit this place regularly to drink a perfect Piccolo or just to chat with it's friendly owners. They also have delicious apple pies, gluten-free brownies & macaroons. Don't forget to buy freshly roasted Indonesian coffee beans to brew at home!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“By far, the best coffee shop in J-Town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Owned by a enthusiastic master roaster and brewer, we can see easily that Giyanti is the beautiful fruit that came out from his labor of love. Tucked hidden in a leafy salubrious neighborhood, Giyanti becomes not just a haven to seek for a quiet time reading and sipping good coffee but also to make it your second home - literally.

I spent satisfying hours conversing about coffee, from the geeky stuffs that involve the process of roasting or brewing up to what's new in town with everyone. Its wonderful atmosphere and the great coffee brought the crowd together and we quickly befriended each other!

Spending some time is a must thing to do while you're in Jakarta, although the opening hours are rather uncommon (Wed-Sat 9.30 am - 5.30 pm). Be sure to discuss everything with Hendrik, the owner, about the coffee that you want and he'll do the magic trick to make you fall in love with that cup of jo although you're not a fan of it!

http://gastronomy-aficionado.com
http://daytripswashbuckler.wordpress.com

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect secret hideout for coffee enthusiast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Perfect small place if you want to spend a 'me' time alone with your book, laptop or with your closest person. The owner and Barista is a coffee enthusiast offering variety of good quality Indonesian coffees (Padang Angkola, Toraja Sapan, Flores). No smoking zone which is perfect. Warm ambient and friendly. (Maryam & Aiz)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giyanti Coffee Roastery also viewed

 

Been to Giyanti Coffee Roastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giyanti Coffee Roastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.