We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Indonesia Mall

Grand Indonesia Mall
Jl. MH Thamrin 1 Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 163 things to do in Jakarta
Attraction details
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It has everything a Mall should have. You can shopping for clothes, eating at the at UG level (Burger king, Pizza Hut, Sushi, traditional Indonesian food...), has a very nice book store (selling a lot of books, comic and manga), also selling camera and stuff (but not cheap). Has a super market at UG level, they even sell pork in there (usually supermarkets in Jakarta doesn't). The highest level is mainly cafe, and they even have a live band playing there, so you can seat, enjoy you drink and listen to some new famous songs LIVE. It has cinema theater, but only 3D, no Imax.

There is an Indonesia Plaza nearby (100m) with many luxury brands, so you can take a look at both Mall at the same time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    110
    17
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Its must to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Grand Indonesia is representing Indonesia modern mall, consists of Grand Indonesia Shopping Mall, Menara BCA (BCA Tower), Kempinski Private Residences and Hotel Indonesia Kempinski. The core concept was to merge the grandeur of a cutting edge mega complex with the friendly atmosphere of a well-integrated small town.

THE SPECIALTY ZONE :
Located on the first three floors of the mall, this area showcases exclusive international luxury brands for the most discerning shoppers in an atmosphere resembling the most exclusive shopping boulevards.

THE MAIN ZONE:
In contrast to the atmosphere of the Specialty Zone, the three levels above it are decidedly laid back and friendly. Here shops offer a large variety of local and international brand beauty product, casual attire with a big emphasis on youth and health equipment.

FOOD LOUVER:
The 3rd floor Sky Bridge connecting the east and west wings of the complex also serves as a comfortable but affordable food court known as Food Loüver, so-named because of the extensive use of vertical louvers there. With seating capacity of more than 700 people, the look of this 3,200 m2 area is decidedly modern minimalistic. Based on a Zen concept, it too is divided into different areas; here named after the main material used-Tree Bark Zone, Burnt Wood Zone, Glass Zone, Bamboo Zone and Brick Zone. The various array of food offered, ranges of European to traditional Indonesian cuisines freshly cooked on the premises.

BLITZMEGAPLEX:
Located on the 8th floor of West Mall, Blitz Megaplex offers a unique cinema experience with advanced technology, facilitated with 11 auditorium and 2 Satin Classes, café, gamesphere, blitzshoppe and digital music store.

I love this mall

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“My favorite mall in Central Jakarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

always friendly, professional staff/service greet me when i first arrive, Nice choice in restaurants, two great grocery stores (food hall and ranch market) and i enjoy the ambience and layout especially on the new york themed floors upstairs. I don't like the food Louver food court layout albeit .. it is uniquely different .... Wish the entire mall and all indoor public areas (including restaurants) was non smoking. Nice that there is a bluebird taxi station for patrons (although again, could be improved upon to avoid line jumpers and have more taxi's on standby). All in all, i really like this mall/location and rate it slightly above average at 4/5.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Worth taking a look at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went here just to see what it is like. In two words - "high end" ....it is expensive, expensive, expensive. But very nice to wander around and look. The restrooms are very clean and nice. I must admit after getting "burnt" by the price tags we looked at we ended up making a speedy departure but it is worth taking a look. Maybe I am just a cheap skate but I just didnt see paying those sort of prices in my own country let alone in Indonesia

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The biggest mall with five star hotel and office building.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I was often go to this mall couse they have most of excellent restaurants from Japanese, Chinese and traditional indonesia food that locate upper floor. Some big electronic store and toy store completely with this biggest mall in central jakarta.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Indonesia Mall also viewed

 

Been to Grand Indonesia Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Indonesia Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.