We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad couldnt go on the TOP.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Monument (MONAS)

National Monument (MONAS)
Jl. Silang Monas | New Jakarta, Jakarta, Indonesia
+62 21 681512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 163 things to do in Jakarta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built to commemorate Indonesia's independence, National Monument dominates Medan Merdeka.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sad couldnt go on the TOP.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is an amazing tower right in the middle of Jakarta.. had read a lot about this and when landed here was disappointed because the lift to the top was under renovation and we could not go on the top.. it has a beautify view with well maintained garden around it.. I wish I could go on the top...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    333
    359
    70
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The heart of Indonesia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The National Monument should not be missed but you may have to walk aways to get there. The monument stands in a great square close to the main downtown area. To get there I suggest taking bajaj not taxi as traffic is almost always horrific (bajaj - pronounce baji) are the 3 wheeled mini taxis that abound in jakarta and can get through traffic better than anything except the lawless motorcycles! Beware of aggressive vendors especially if your a white tourist - just firmly say TIDAK.

In the basement under the monument is an outstanding collection of depictions of Indonesian history especially the pre and post independence period. Good english explanations as well
I was particularly impressed with the positive recognition of muslim and christian organizations and their support for the emerging Indonesian state,

When it is open you can go the top of the monument for a great view of Jakarta and the Java Sea.

Every visitor to Jakarta should go and you will come away with some understanding of Indonesian history albeit with some gaps such as very limited reference to Suharto s 30 year dictatorship. Cant blame the country for downplaying this sad chapter.

Dont miss this landmark of Indonesia !

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not bad for Jakarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We did this on a day where I threw a tantrum after missing the train to get away from this terrible city. I was dragged there, however in the end I actually had quite a memorable day. We were immediately lynched by some students wanting to test their English on us (and subsequent FB requests). In reality they just read the translations under each of the 70 or so lego village displays which depict the complete lack of history this country has to offer. Basically, the Dutch came over, we had a big bundle with them, we had a meeting, they left, Indo rocks. The view at the top isn't bad either and the external statues etc. are interesting.

The highlight of the day was being met by some Papua New Guinea ladies who had never seen a white person before. I felt like a rock star with all of the photos. That was awesome.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The monument is large and new, though that didn't stop the lift from breaking down. They prevented anyone from climbing ths stairs to the top which was a shame as really we wanted to see the panoramic view of Jakarta.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Icon of Jakarta, nothing more than Old Building”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Known as an Icon of Jakarta, make it as have-to-visit when you are in Jakarta. But contrast as its famous name, the environtment and administration are very-very bad. The road around the complex are block by seller. From the parking entrance you must get ready to avoid many hand seller, stepping carefully from waste or dirty water. Inside the complex also full of seller or amateur photograph that non stop annoying. The building it self stands amazing, built at early 60's to memmorate National Independence day, and 4th Asian Games in Jakarta. On base, it has museum that shows diorama and movie of Indonesian Independence War. Or just take a lift to get the toop flor. Truly as Indonesian I feel this place could be better. My advice for tourist just make your visit simple n quick. Take a picture then leave it. And come in the morning. In the nite this place was so dark because not many lights.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Monument (MONAS) also viewed

 

Been to National Monument (MONAS)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Monument (MONAS), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.