We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for a slice of Americana in Jakarta, look no further.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goods diner

Goods diner
Fairgrounds SCBD Lot 14, Jakarta, Indonesia
(021)5152969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #633 of 5,465 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a slice of Americana in Jakarta, look no further.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

THE GOODS DEPT is the official hipster HQ of Jakarta -- think Urban Outfitters, but actually indie and all Indonesian. Their F&B section (THE GOODS CAFE, THE GOODS DINER, & THE GOODS BURGER) have the same indie spirit as their retail locations and the food is *amazing*.

Head Chef Erlene studied culinary in San Francisco and that Bay Area influence shows on the menu. It's a true American menu, with a mix of various Asian, European, and Latin American inspired dishes. Tortilla soup, baked mac 'n' cheese, tacos, pesto pasta, awesome salads, meatball sandwich, etc...

Their most famous dish is their coffee-rubbed burger and it's oh-so-good. Pair it with a Bailey's-spiked milkshake for a sinfully delicious dinner.

THE GOODS DINER is located at The Fairgrounds in Jakarta's SCBD. Any taxi driver will be able to take you there. If you want to check out their stores, you can visit them at Pacific Place Mall, which is right across the street from The Fairgrounds. They also have a retail location at LOTTE Shopping Avenue in Kuningan and Pondok Indah Mall in South Jakarta. All of their retail locations have a mini-diner (called THE GOODS CAFE) inside of them, and the Pondok Indah location also has THE GOODS BURGER, a specialty restaurant with a menu full of unique (and uniquely delicious) burgers.

If you're here in Jakarta on holiday, THE GOODS DEPT. is a great place to find some gifts for your friends and family back home -- all of their stock is from local artists and designers, so it's unique and fashionable and you'll be supporting young entrepreneurs.

You should also check the calendar to see when the next Brightspot Market is -- the people behind THE GOODS DEPT. organize a maker's fair called Brightspot twice a year. It's usually in April and November, but Google to be sure. If you're in town when Brightspot is going on, it's a must-see. (Admission is always free!)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Last month my friends and I tried this restaurant in brunch hour. The ambience in rhis restaurant is really good, simple, comfy, areally nice place to hangout with your friend. I tried one of their specialty which is the coffee-rubbed burger, it was really good, the meat is tender and juicy, the portion was quite big. Our other food was caesar salad, lasagna, and drinks like milkshake and cucumber soda. Overall the food's taste was good. From price point it is a little bit expensive, but worth it if you are looking for a place to have a long chat. Service is also very good.
Will definitely go back there in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best Mac n Cheese!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I always love going back to Goods Diner to have some quality time with my friends. I love their Mac n Cheese, just forget about your diet you are stepping in here because they are serving good American style dishes. The juices are also nice, they are freshly made and served in somehow lovely colors. Better make reservation before you dine here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dont go for breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great location, typically hip Jakartan fitout, great tunes. The coffee is not bad, juices and shakes are nice. Coffee rub burger is good. I don't recommend for breakfast though, like the majority of cafes in Jakarta, this place struggles to get the western breakfast right, don't even think about ordering the poached eggs, I am not sure how they cook them but they are inedible, I suspect they may microwave them. They used to have a breakfast bagel here which was great, shame they got rid of it. Avoid breakfast and come here for lunch or dinner when the food choices are better.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Ok food and reasonably priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Goods Diner is a decent place for a quick lunch in the Sudirman Central Business District. The location is quite central within the SCBD. Menu is the typical fast food stuff. Burgers, pastas, sandwiches, tacos, etc. The cheeseburger is fine, but far from the best I ever had. The fries which come with the burger are not worthy of the name though. The place is a glorified fast food joint, so why they try to be fancy and serve fries with cheese and pepper on top is a mistery to me. My colleagues liked their vietnamese chicken sandwich and coffee rubbed burger, but the latter is in my view another example of a fast food joint trying too hard. Service is good, quick and friendly. In summary, ok place for lunch if younaren't too demanding on your food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goods diner also viewed

 

Been to Goods diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goods diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.