We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Cozy, Very Nice Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plan B

Plan B
Jl. Tentara Pelajar blok D25 | Rukan Permata Senayan, Jakarta, Indonesia
+62 21 57940821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 5,932 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Plan B is a Cozy resturant in the center south of Jakarta. Our Chef, Oskar Urcelai will make sure that you have an authentic spanish food experience. Good Food, Spanish wine... all at an excellent price. Welcome to Plan B!!
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Small and Cozy, Very Nice Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

am a big fan of paella, and have been looking for a resto with great affordable paella. most spanish tapas around Jakarta usually serve quite big pan of paella and it's quite hard to handle when there were only 2 of you to share such a big pan. when I finally found this, it's been a favorite of my husband and I ever since. the small resto is very cozy, the menu is quite extensive, the taste are very nice, and most importantly, their prices are quite sensible. they also have great desserts. their paella can be shared 2 to 3 persons, whilst other meals are also great. a little note on the paella, usually it takes 30 minutes to come out from the kitchen, so you'll be needing little starters, but it's so worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    74
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good tapas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A friend from Spain said Plan B was pretty good and recommended it over the other tapas place in Jakarta. I agree with him on both counts: Plan B is pretty good, and it is the slightly superior tapas restaurant in Jakarta.

For tapas we had chicken wings, prawns, patatas bravas, broken omellete, mushrooms, and tripe, and for dessert we had their chocolate mousse cake. All of it was pretty enjoyable. Unfortunately the sangria was not as good. Worth checking out at least once.

Total bill with tip was $50 (I tip because wait staff in Jakarta are not paid very much at all. Please consider tipping as well.)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“Viva plan B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Still sitting at the plan B restaurant when writing this review... the chef/owner Oskar Urzelai approached us and asked if everything was all right.
This is a hospitality you dont often get in restaurants in indonesia.

This is our second visit to plan B and we loved the paella here. First visit was with our 2 year old kid and Oskar seems to be very great with kids too.

Wait... Oskar is coming toward our way again, this time with 2 small glasses and a bottle of spanish liquor.... ON THE HOUSE :)

We had been to few spanish restaurants abroad... the quality of spanish foods in plan B is just as great as ones you might find in western countries. Oskar really brought spain to jakarta.
For a second, i thot the meal made me speak spanish.

We live only 5mins away from plan B and surely will come here again and again and again...

Great food, great hoapitality and great atmosphere.

Cheers

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulle, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Finally.. Spanish Food in Jakarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went for lunch and found great pasta and paella.
Pasta came out pretty fast while it took about 30mnts for Paella to come.
Overall the restaurant is simply amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“The true taste (and hospitality) of Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Popped into Plan B for a quick drink and a sampling of tapas but between manager Santiago's warm welcome, the delicious dishes that kept appearing from Basque chef Oskar Urselai's efficient kitchen and the friendly wine waiters that kept topping up our glasses, we stayed on well into the night. We gorged ourselves on tender boquerones, gambas al ajillo, pulpo gallego (served atop a deliciously rich potato puree), calamar en su tinta, albondigas, pimientas rellenas and more, washed down by some nice Spanish Rioja. Staff are friendly and professional, and owner Santiago makes sure you are happy with your selections. Eating here won't break the bank either; tapas are around Rp30,000 a plate, and paella runs Rp110-130,000 for a two-person portion. Wine is also very reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plan B also viewed

 

Been to Plan B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plan B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.