We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hangout but too suffocating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beer Garden

Beer Garden
SCBD Sudirman, Jakarta, Jakarta, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #451 of 5,465 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hangout but too suffocating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Nice place to grab drinks in kemang jakarta, reasonable price and lots of promotional offers. They also have live music, rock lovers should visit on Thursday as the live music really rock on Thursday eve with the performer called 'Sule'. Too bad d place isn't big and it gets really suffocating with crowd. Note everyone smokes in this place not recommended for non smokers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool Place to just casual Hangout, Dating, or even business talks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Jika anda bosan dengan suasana dunia gemerlap di Jakarta, bisa mencoba tempat ini sebagai lain untuk melepas penat, hangout santai dengan teman dan kolega, ngedate, atau bahkan casual business meetup,,,

BG menawarkan minuman ringan dan berat, serta hanya camilan.. konsep hangout santai berstyle-kan BAR, semi outdoor, dan rooftop, memberikan suasana baru bagi pengunjung yang bosan dengan konsep nongkrong biasa. Dengan image yang cukup berkelas, harga yang ditawarkan juga cukup terjangkau, jika dibandingkan dengan kafe-kafe sekelasnya. Dengan keramahan bartender serta diiringi live music untuk sesi malam hari, menjadikan tempat ini pilihan yang tepat untuk referensi. Rata-rata pengunjungnya anak-anak muda yang casual dan tidak "rusuh" tentunya...

recommended lah!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Nice Place after business hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very nice to have chit chat with friends after working hours. located very nice and the selection of beed are really nice. will be back for my next business meeting

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“awesome place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you go between 6-9pm, beer is extremely cheap. It was packed, but only because they played great music and the atmosphere of the place is so chilled and relaxed. Perfect place to just hang out with your friends and have a beer :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“regular beer, ridiculous shortchanging "policy"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Food:
Had some flavoured beer and fried snickers with a friend. I can't say much for the drinks as they taste as good as any of your store-bought beers. Deep-fried Snickers were a disappointment. Batter is chewy and lukewarm meaning they have been left to sit for longer than ideal. Snicker bar itself isn't of melty consistency to be expected from deep fried chocolate bars. Obviously it should have stayed in the oil for a little longer. The only redeeming point was the vanilla ice cream which was of nice and creamy consistency.

Atmosphere:
Chose the indoor seating but couldn't feel cold air coming out of the air-con. Sweltering. The place was so dark we couldn't get a read of our menu and had to light the menu with our phones.

Service:
Waiters were attentive. The level of quality in service is however ruined by my experience with the payment procedure. I was shortchanged of 999 rupiah and when I asked for this amount, the staff claimed to not give change when they are less than 1000 rupiah. As a matter of fact I have, more times in the past than I care for, been shortchanged of amount below 500 rupiah by the so called higher-end, more expensive establishments. I chose to let it go as I feel it wasn't worth me even asking for the amount. I feel however, that they are required to produce the amount when requested. It is after all the customer's money to begin with.

In this case, not only did they not give the change in the first place, they actually refused to give me the change due to so-called policy. I am extremely disappointed and would not bother coming back. I don't know if this happens a lot in Indonesia but from my personal experience in other countries, management are required to give change whenever it's due. I have even experienced a couple of times when they gave me more change as they don't have smaller notes. Overall, I feel scammed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Garden also viewed

 

Been to Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beer Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.