We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada to your Saves list
Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Gajah Mada No 188, Jakarta 11120, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 345 Hotels in Jakarta
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    140
    52
    14
    6
See reviews for
51
44
38
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is somewhat new so the rooms for now are clean, rooms are very big and spacious, bed is comfortable and there are a lot of pillows for the bed. Bathroom is huge and well designed for layout however in such a large shower room you would think that the engineer would find it necessary to add a shelve or two for personal stuff. I had to store my shampoo etc on the floor, but this is a minor issue. There are no drawer in the room there are some cupboards and that about it for storage. The TV has some English channels but not a lot. There is a 7-11 on the first floor which is very convenient as the mini-fridge that was in my room wasn't working but the staff tried to convince me that it was cooling to the 'arctic' degree, which it wasn't.

The pool is not very big it's small but adequate, the gym has free weights, a bench, some machines and a few cardio machines. it works well for a workout and there is also a sauna and non-working steam room.

Within walking distance there are a few Chinese restaurants but they are moderate-expansive in price. But that area is flashy so prices would be higher.

Overall a good hotel, clean large rooms that's comfortable with a Flat screen TV. What's not so great is the service very poor especially when the engineer tried to tell me that the mini-fridge was working, it wasn't. Front desk staff not very friendly but that didn't bother me too much.
The black out drapes could have been a few cm longer in order to perform their function. If you pull on one end the other end opens up, wonder how difficult it would have been to design the drapes a few cm longer. Again a minor issue, I taped it to the wall so that I could keep out the sunlight.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back end of the hotel, that is not facing the road as the noise is still an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOTEL_GAJAH_MADA, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying at NOVOTEL JAKARTA GAJAH MADA.

We are glad to read that your overall experience met your expectations and had a good stay with us. Be certain that we highly appreciate the time you took to share your review about our hotel and its surrounding area.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada.


Sincerely,

Christiaan Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel located in an area which is surrounded by shops, restaurants and shopping arcade. Just beside this hotel, located an convinience store, which is open 24 hours. Back od the hotel, a cofee shop is ready to serve you with an affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOTEL_GAJAH_MADA, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs. Immanuel Halawa,

We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the NOVOTEL JAKARTA GAJAH MADA and share the good location to Tripadvisor’s fellows. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,

Christiaan Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Novotel Gajah Mada room is clean, large and very comfortable. WiFi was relatively stable and useful for trip planning. Relatively well equipped gym as well as large swimming pool area are also available in this hotel. The overall environment is very good with friendly and helpful staffs. Even better, 7 eleven is located directly opposite to the main entrance of this hotel. It is located near to all the famous Jakarta monuments and museums. For shoppers, there are at least Grand Indo and Plaza Indo within 15 mins to 30 mins.They are easily access via taxi services provided in front the hotel. Most importantly, tasty and authentic Indonesian style foods in Pecenongan area are very near to Novotel Gajah Mada. Restaurant and stalls in that area are Pondok Sedap Malam and Martabak Pecenongan 43 or 65 (Bandung Asli) which are favourite of the locals. Both Martabak Pecenongan 43 and Martabak Pecenongan 65 (Bandung asli) are always the best Indonesian dessert after dinner. Sometimes, the waiting time could be at least 30 mins. Overall, I would think that this hotel worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOTEL_GAJAH_MADA, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs. Y C,

We very much appreciate your comment regarding your stay at the NOVOTEL JAKARTA GAJAH MADA. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada.
Thank you.


Sincerely,

Christiaan Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Rasses
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is not far away from the chinese quarter, has very confortable, clean rooms , good price value, very nice staff.
If you want to go to the heart of Jakarta, than you will need to do a taxi trip from about half an hour.
The situation of this hotel is near the old town of Jakarta, so not always so modern and clean, but very typical as the chinese quarter is nearby. The rooms are absolutly not noisy which is a very good thing.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you want a non smoking room you will be in the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOTEL_GAJAH_MADA, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Mrs. Cecchetti,
Warmest greeting from Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada.

Thank you for the positive feedback about your recent stay and share your experience at our Hotel to Tripadvisor’s fellows.

We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is great value to us. It allows us to ensure and improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at NOVOTEL JAKARTA GAJAH MADA.


Sincerely,

Christiaan Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada

Address: Jl Gajah Mada No 188, Jakarta 11120, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 345 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Jakarta Gajah Mada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.