We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Unique” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jakarta Cathedral

Jakarta Cathedral
Jl. Kathedral No. 7-B Pasar Baru Sawah Besar, Jakarta Pusat, Jakarta 10110, Indonesia
(021) 3519186
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 63 Attractions in Jakarta
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Singapore
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Simple and Unique”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The wooden ceiling was the unique part of the cathedral. during our visit last Saturday, all saints statues were covered by purple clothes, its a lenten practice I think.

Wasnt able to see the museum, since it was close that time. Its worth to drop by this place, as a side trip to the mosque opposite it. Saw free city tour bus passes by infront of this church.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    83
    37
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very cool air :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Good cathedral. depends on what you're used to. If you're from Europe you've seen more impressive. The air is nice and cool :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The cathedral is well maintained both on the outside and the inside. The stained glass paintings are beautiful. The benches are quite authentic with stringed seats .The church organ is one of the attractions. The stations of the cross is made of ceramic titles .The alter has a beautiful lectern made of wood. A must visit ,you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Historical church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nice historical church, located just in front of the main mosque, nice interior, just cross the street and visit also the main mosque, it is an interesting sobreposition.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This cathedral, also known by its Bahasa Indonesia name Gereja St. Perawan Maria Diangkat ke Surga, is beautiful and very well maintained. It is indeed a visual treat both on the outside as well as on the inside. Of European design/architecture and wonderfully preserved, honestly, I had not expected that it would be this beautiful!

My friend and I, both of us Catholics, decided to attend the (Saturday) evening mass here. Mass is conducted in Bahasa Indonesia, and despite speaking a little bit of the language, we didn't understand every single word. Nonetheless, it was a lovely service and kudos to their wonderfu choir!

After mass, we were itching to snap some photos but we were a little uncertain. Then, we noticed many other people who had whipped out their cameras/phones and were snapping away and we promptly followed suit - you just can't help it, the cathedral is just so beautiful!

I would definitely love to make a return visit during the day to have a look and photograph the beautiful stained glass and also to visit the the Cathedral Museum, which is open every Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 10am to 12noon, to learn more about the history of the cathedral.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakarta Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Jakarta Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jakarta Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.