We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Gatot Subroto Kav 2-3, Jakarta 12930, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #108 of 345 Hotels in Jakarta
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Comfortable hotel in a convenient location, right next to a mall. The bus walkway is also right outside. The rooms are spacious with a good desk. The buffet breakfast was very good, and attentive service. In-room internet charges were rather high.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne_Plaza_Jakarta, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear sksManila,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased that you like our hotel facilities and services. Your comment certainly motivate us to continuously improve and provide better services for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Sincerely,
On behalf of Crowne Plaza Jakarta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    168
    112
    30
    14
See reviews for
23
16
49
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Pros: large rooms, convenient location near Plaza Semangi, friendly and competent staff, large pool & fitness center
Cons: older hotel
I'd recommend friends to stay here and stay again as well, both for business or pleasure

Location: the hotel is near Plaza Semangi, right of the highway. The mall is a 5min walk away. It's close to JL Jenderal Sudirman with access to Merdaka Square, Plaza Indonesia, etc, by taxi or busway. There are always taxis (blue/silver bird) in front of the hotel, no issues. Be aware that the roads force the taxis to make a lengthy u-turn when going to the airport or other places in that direction, it's not a scam...

Room: I was upgraded as a IHG Platinum member to a very nice, large room. While the hotel is older, the room was in very good condition, clean and well maintained. There was no noticeable downside to the hotel being older.
I was nervous because of some of the reviews here pointing out the rooms needing renovation - there seem to be different categories in different condition. My room was fine.
The only odd thing (for IHG fans) was that the hotel didn't follow the Crowne Plaza brand standards - no sleep advantage package, no dual shower curtains, etc.. first time I've seen that in a while...

Service: Frond desk was friendly and efficient at check-in and check-out. Housekeeping was thorough. Staff in public areas, pool and gym was friendly and helpful.

Facilities: Nice lobby, large pool and large fitness center with external members. This is more a regular gym than a hotel gym. It also has a jacuzzi and sauna (not working during my stay).
I didn't eat at their restaurants during my stay.
A nice touch was the scent in the hallway to my room - burners were located near elevator.

Value: I stayed using IHG points. I'd consider the price of USD85 at time of booking as good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne_Plaza_Jakarta, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear FollowYourDreamSF,

Thank you for leaving a detail review of our hotel. We take your good comment as a compliment and will target to improve the problem areas. Your comments are such great inputs for us to continually review and monitor our products and service.

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Jakarta and we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Sincerely,
On behalf of Crowne Plaza Jakarta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This property is on the wrong side of town for all the Jakarta action but next door to the Plaza Semanggi, which house a lot of tier 3 shops and booths. The Pacific Place is close by and you can see it from the hotel but can not access. Need a cab to get there, about 20 mins.......i have to say this city is a nightmare to get around with all the traffic jams. Jakarta is crying out for an MRT system!!!!
Anyways, back to the hotel. The rooms are quite spacious but very very dated. My room had that musty smell to it, it wasn't stale smoke but just that old smell that really gets to you after a few days......The room comes with all the amenities that you would expect from a Crowne Plaza, no issue there. Check in and out process was well handled and the staff are very good and attentive.

Michelle, the concierge, is very knowledgable and managed to save my butt a few times from being late for appointments etc......due to the traffic jams.
The Beranda Cafe does a decent breakfast and the Semanggi Lounge does good food / snacks as well as bar grub and drinks. Actually its a really nice space to chill out.
Internet / wifi is free in your room and through out the hotel.

The only grip i have is that this hotel needs to be shut down for a year for a total reno. Or even do the renos floor by floor.....whatever.......it needs to be done!!!!

Prices for rooms are decent but you could get a better more modern facility for the same money else where in the city. Food and drink prices are reasonable for a hotel.


I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the 15th floor over looking Jl Gatot Subroto. When i first walked into the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne_Plaza_Jakarta, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Aussiboy,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased that you are satisfied with our service and staff. I will certainly pass on your compliment to our Concierge, Michelle. Such comments truly inspire and motivate us to continuously provide better services for our guest whilst also targeting to improve problem areas.

Again, thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Jakarta and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
On behalf of Crowne Plaza Jakarta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I've stayed here while on business in Jakarta.

It's a nice place with great facilities and a variety of restaurants.

The only downside is that there are better (much more expensive) hotels on JKT but this one is perfect for most purposes.

The staff are fanstatic and the rooms are well apoointed and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne_Plaza_Jakarta, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear The2bitKid,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased that you like our hotel facilities and services. Your comment certainly motivate us to continuously improve and provide better services for our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Sincerely,
On behalf of Crowne Plaza Jakarta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

While the lobby area looks ok don't be fooled the rooms are worn out. This hotel needs to be totally renovated. This is not a good value for the money in Jakarta there are much nicer hotels with better security and more services.

Room Tip: I transferred to the Grand Melia and never looked back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne_Plaza_Jakarta, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for leaving a review of our property. I am truly sorry that our hotel were not able to exceed your expectation. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay for our valued guest. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments. Feedback such as yours enables us to make room for improvement.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Jakarta and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.

Sincerely,
On behalf of Crowne Plaza Jakarta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I think the hotel can be said to be in a good location and quite next to a lot of places (though traffic can make even the shortest trips endless). But it definitely needs to be renovated.
Rooms are just ok for the price and for the name of the hotel, they are cosy but definitely old and old-fashioned and especially bathrooms need to be taken care of. The bath tub was old and stained, and water did not come out smoothly from the pipes, so showering was not particularly pleasant.
While services you can get are good, especially thinking to food, the beranda coffee shop alway open, the two restaurants that are of good quality.
But still, getting back to your room after a day out is not rewarding and pampering.

Room Tip: If you want Internet connection you need to ask when you're making the booking. Unfortunately it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne_Plaza_Jakarta, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear MichiFa,

Thank you for your taking the time to express your comments on our property. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity to improve our facilities.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
On behalf of Crowne Plaza Jakarta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

the only great things of this hotel is location, located on the city center of Jakarta, you get access to most of Jakarta business place.
but that's all... room is very old and absolutely need renovation, it built on 1995 if i'm not mistaken, but no renovation made, at least in my room.
however, the have a good breakfast and Japanese restaurant at the ground floor, at least it helps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne_Plaza_Jakarta, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Gondel,

Thank you for leaving a review of our property. I am truly sorry that you found our room did not meet your expectation. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us to improve our facilities and service continually.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
On behalf of Crowne Plaza Jakarta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta

Address: Jalan Gatot Subroto Kav 2-3, Jakarta 12930, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#63 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Jakarta is a global business hotel that truly understands and fulfills the needs of the business traveller. The hotel has 357 spacious guestrooms and it is conveniently located in the "Golden Triangle" business disctrict, only 35 minutes by freeway to Soekarno Hatta International Airport. Near to the hotel are luxury shopping malls such as Plaza Senayan and Senayan City, as well as office complexes where multinational companies are located.Design to offer not just a comprehensive range of meeting services and in-room business facilities, the hotel also offers numerous leisure and entertainment options to reward you, the Business Executive, after a hard day's work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jakarta
Jakarta Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.