We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aryaduta Jakarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aryaduta Jakarta to your Saves list
Hotel Aryaduta Jakarta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Prapatan No. 44 - 48, Jakarta 10110, Indonesia (Gambir)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 331 Hotels in Jakarta
Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No more!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

As a Hyatt platin card holder I stayed regularly in this hotel since 2005. Enough! The hotel became worse each time: rooms are really delipitated except you book executive floor. Don't expect a decent breakfast: The breakfast restaurant on ground floor is by far too small especially when travel groups around. Waiters escape since they can not cope with the situation. There is a real lack of proper management.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    78
    48
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
27
18
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
760 reviews 760 reviews
254 hotel reviews
Reviews in 257 cities Reviews in 257 cities
1,795 helpful votes 1,795 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

The Hotel

The Hotel Aryaduta is located at Tugu Tani in Central Jakarta, within walking distance of the US Embassy and the main train station. It is also fairly close to Menteng which has a lot of nice restaurants and Plaza Indonesia which is th most upmarket mall in the city

Check-in

Check-in was quick and efficient. We requested a Tugu Tani facing room on a high floor and both of these requests were met.

The room

Our room on the 16th floor was quite stylish in some ways but also a little dated. The furnishings were in good repair and the room was spotless but the mini bar must be at least 20 years old and wasn't really very cold.

The design of the room is also a little strange in the windows are smaller than they have to be (Similar to the Hotel Borrobudur) which makes the room feel a little boxy. I was also surprised to see that the air-conditioning and electricity aren't controlled by a key card.

Hotel facilites
The pool area is very nice and features a good sized pool, a childrens pool and also a hot spa (jacuzzi) nicely situated under a flowering tree. The hotel gym is very well equipped and one of the best I have used.

Food and beverage

The room service we ordered was delivered promptly and was presented well. They forgot to bring the ice cubes we requested with our order and they were apologetic and bought them up when they collected the tray. The buffet breakfast was also good

  • Liked — The pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

This is definitely not a 5 star hotel, maybe a 3 star in the US. I had booked through a counter at the Jakarta airport (Indotel) and was surprised that I was getting a 5 star for 660K rupiah.

Check in was OK but the room smelt of sewage (not too much but enough to notice), the room definitely needs upgrading. Out the window was a view of a canal (or pre-existing stream) that was black and still and filled with sewage or something like that.

The AC hardly worked, the control was very outdated. Internet was USD15 a day.

Room service was OK, and security was very tight. The hotel is across from the US embassy in Jakarta.

All in all, a poor value for what I paid, and I left to find another hotel after staying 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

Great hotel, good security, friendly staff and good pool/gym.

Food and room service are great.

Location is pretty good. Easy to get to most things, but about an hour from the airport.

The rooms were being rennovated when I was last there, and the newly rennovated rooms are excellent. They have all the features you need as a business traveller.

Would reccomend.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2005

This hotel is the most friendly hotel that I have experienced in Indonesia. The staff are more than willing to assist, and the refurbished rooms are great. This will always be my first choice in Jakarta

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

The Aryaduta Hotel is one of the original international hotels developed in Jakarta in the late 70s early 80s. It is managed by Hyatt International and is located in the centre of the city not far from Monas, Menteng, Gambir Railway station, the President's Palace and the US embassy.

I have stayed at the Ayraduta many times over the years and it is an old favourite. I would like to say that it has aged gracefully but that would only be partly true. The hotel is burdoned by the limitations of a small site and a building that was not well designed.

Recently there has been a major upgrade performed on the rooms. The new rooms are very stylish and quite comfortable. The main problem is their size. They are small but the refit has introduced some clever touches to make them feel bigger. There is also now a very good working desk with connections for broadband internet.

My biggest gripe with the rooms is the bathroom. The bathrooms are tiny. Large people may find the bathroom particularly uncomfortable.

Despite this the Aryaduta offers one of the best Italian restaurants in Jakarta, Ambiente. It is consistently good. The Tavern, located in the basement, has not changed much in 20 years and is a nice place to have a beer and pub food.

The Aryaduta has no gardens but there is a pleasant pool and a good fitness centre and spa.

I still find the Aryaduta to be a comfortable place to stay and due to some of the limitations mentioned above the prices can be quite reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2005

The buffet was awesome and the rooms were great. Also I loved the pool and gym gacilities, and the staff was absolutely courteous. Additionally the band inside the hotel totally rocked.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aryaduta Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aryaduta Jakarta

Address: Jl. Prapatan No. 44 - 48, Jakarta 10110, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Gambir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#39 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#44 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Aryaduta Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aryaduta Jakarta, with its 325 guestrooms and modernly appointed Suites, offers luxurious comfort and spectacular city view. Conveniently located in the Jakarta’s business district and encircled by government offices and embassies, the hotel is only a 5-minute drive from shopping, dining and entertainment venues and a 35-minute drive from Jakarta International Airport, Soekarno-Hatta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aryaduta Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakarta Aryaduta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aryaduta Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.