We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Jakarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan M H Thamrin | Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10230, Indonesia (Gambir)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #12 of 309 hotels in Jakarta
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    141
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
33
44
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

I was there with my partner who was on a business trip. Since I haven't got much to do while he's at work during weekdays, I spent a lot of time in the area. I found the hotel to be located in an excellent location, being connected to Plaza Indonesia (Mall) and just diagonally across from the brand new Grand Indonesia (Mall).

The room is clean and comfortable if a little cold with the aircon blasting, so I tend to switch it off after a while. We were staying in a Club Room which comes with a huge bathroom with enclosed shower and toilet area away from the tub and wash basin. I also loved the walk-in closet, it just feels more homely.

Room service is not too expensive and the food is pretty good. The laundry service is also prompt and sometimes delivered ahead of schedule. Housekeeping is also immaculate, the room is always spotless when we return from a day out.

The service was always good, with the staff answering any question asked with a smile. Being Jakarta, everyone is just generally friendly and staff go out of their way to ensure you are enjoying yourself.

I did not go for the famed Jakarta nightlife, so can't comment on that but the city is generally a place for young people who just want to have fun, I feel.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
671 helpful votes 671 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

nice hotel, great location inside the shopping mall, it help me to walk around by my self, and i love the in room dining too, the creme brulle is great too.

the room is big, large bathroom, large closet.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESTON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Really dont know what the previous comment was on about this hotel was simply amaaaaaazin!! The entrance was grand and the rooms were really funky and modern also exceptionally clean I was only there for a couple of days but it was by far and away the best hotel I have stayed in during my trip around South East Asia. I would have loved to extend my stay there and see more of the fascinating City of Jakarta but I had to move on. If I had one critiscism it was the price of making calls from the hotel rooms but that would be all. The food was great a mixture of Indonesian dishes alongside other Asian and Western dishes

  • Liked — As its title says Grand it was that
  • Disliked — phone call charges. £35 for 7 min call not good
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and was not impressed at all. The service given is average, the conditions of the bathroom was bad. Loose showerhead, a running toilet, tarnished mirior. I did experience some problems with my light in wardrobe, which was fixed, but it took engineering quite some time and three follow up calls to come by and that was then arround midnight, when I wanted to sleep. I also had to wait a long time to get my internet cable delivered to the room, which was not in the room upon check in.
The hotel tried to upsell me to Club Level, but the lounge is very small and beside the fact that my breakfast was included already in my price there is not much point to go, the room size is the same as in standard rooms and free wireless is in the lounge only. If you want to use it int he room you have to pay. No great benefits at all.

The Japanese restaurant in the hotel is deft worth it. The cod fish and the suhi is great. The outside pool area is very nice with the running track. You actually forget you run on a hotel roof with all the plants and trees.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

This was my first stay in Grand Hyatt Jakarta during business trip and it was a wonderful stay! The location of the hotel is very convenient, only that traffic in Jakarta is pretty horrible especially during the peak hours. Room condition is excellent, especially the bed as you won't feel like sleeping in a hotel bed. Free wireless connection, only that it's not Wi FI connection inside the room which is a little hiccup.

  • Liked — quality of rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Good location and good hotel. Overall no negative aspects of my 2-day stay with the hotel. Great service, for the little that I required it. Rooms spacious with walk in closet. Upmarket and very good bathroom. Good bed and pillows... decent working desk... and at our corporate rate of $120 USD this was very good. I would not object to come back.. and will enjoy its location in terms of easy access to restaurants, shops etc. Adjacent to the hotel is Plaza Indonesia with most everything you would want.. food included. If that's not enough walk across the street and you have several MEGA malls there...

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Address: Jalan M H Thamrin | Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10230, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Gambir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Business Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.