We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Got it via Lucky Draw” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borobudur Jakarta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Borobudur Jakarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Lapangan Banteng Selatan | PO Box 1329, Jakarta 10710, Indonesia (Sawah Besar)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Pay 2
Ranked #28 of 309 hotels in Jakarta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I Got it via Lucky Draw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The room is amazing. The layout decoration and small details of the hotel were simply great work by artists. Not forgetting, the Olympic sized swimming pool, simply heaven. The buffet lunch meal was great. Various kind choices to be spoilt. The oxtail soup is their signature dish and the fresh pink guava juice was yummy.

The pool side dinner and private function that we had was superb managed and well served Victorian kind of food. We were blessed. I managed to try out the massage treatment here. It was great and I love the locker system they offered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    177
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
44
47
29
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel can best be described as an oasis in the middle of Jakarta. It had great communal areas and a huge garden with all sorts of facilities, like tennis courts, a gym, a spa and an absolutely enormous swimming pool, with only a few guests around. Sitting at the pool I thought it might as well have been the actual inspiration for the architect of the Mirage Hotel in Las Vegas because of the way the huge building stands out of its lush garden. The hotel was beautiful and a definite five star. The deluxe room was also nicely done and as requested in the reservation we were assigned a high floor room with a great view of Jakarta. The room had a great bed, although it might feel hard at first. We slept perfectly. The bathroom had a rainshower (no bath), which was great. However trying to order food or drinks took quite a while most of the time. And like every top-end Indonesian hotel it has a security check when entering, which is fast and no hassle at all.

We booked the hotel mainly because of its proximity to Gambir train station, where we could easily continue our trip to other cities on Java. If we would come back to Jakarta I would definitely stay here again, even if we wanted to be close to the plaza shopping mall or other areas in Jakarta. Taxis are really cheap and this hotel offers absolute perfect value for money. We had booked a promotion though their own website and we had a deluxe room and breakfast included for only 90 USD a night.

A note for creditcard charges upfront that might seem strange: I booked the reservation throught their own website and prefilled my flight arrival information. A week before arrival the hotel charged the amount and an additional 330000 rupiah more. I thought by then it was probably for the transportation tot the hotel, but I wanted to contact the hotel by e-mail to check it out. Sadly, they sent no response whatsoever. However it was confirmed later on, it was for the Silverbird transportation. So do know, they don't inform you about any details of the transpartion, but it will be perfectly arranged if you prefilled it in the reservation form. Directly after immigration at Soekarno Hatta International Airport a hotel representative waited for us and took us to a silverbird taxi, told the driver where to go and in minutes we were on our way to the Borobudur Hotel. It was an absolute breeze,

I would definitely recommend this hotel for staying in Jakarta even if your preferred location in the city would be somewhere else. Absolutely a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel location is good. So is the general layout and the facilities but the services mars it. If they improve on services count, it will be better place to stay. Expensive and not VFM,
Rooms are nice. really so. And small details make it one of the best rooms I have stayed in. A cloths line in bathroom, curtain rods that allow drawing curtains for best use make the room really pleasant. However, internet is to be paid for and is just about OK. wish they would provide complimentary wifi like all other top hotels.

Food- average. Did not try the breakfast or any of the restaurants.

there is nothing wrong with the place but its lack of identity, lack of service that makes you feel not so good, not welcome.
Make it lively, pleasant, have staff smile and be helpful and than it can be recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a good view. Facing the road. on top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband's favorite hotel ever in Jakarta. He loves the traditional touches in this hotel, the temple miniature, the greeneries and such.. Bogor Cafe is still the best, they have varieties of (European) bread and food even for breakfast.

For once, one member in a family was ill during their stay, and the staff directly called doctor, and send a basket full of fruit as a compliment.. I hope they keep the good service.

Ooh by the way, one thing that bothers me is the way their securities rest during their work, in a basement without air con (and Jakarta is very hot and humid!), all those men are sleeping and resting there without proper place such as pillow, mattress, or a closed place covered from visitor cars that are passing by. My husband saw that and shocked..

I know this isn't a normal review, but i guess its always good to know that the workers of our favorite hotel are also treat their employees nice :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balikpapan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

i stayed at this hotel in april for 4 nights for training. Located in the center of jakarta with "lapangan banteng", istiqlal mosque and cathedral church as the view from my room. the room was clean and stylish.. it has a very big glasses window which can"t be opened so its safe for the children and the sun can shine bright to entire room. the pool is big enough for burning 1000 calories i think... hehehe.. and they also have a jogging track , tennis field and fitness center which has several classes every day such as yoga and body combat. the staff were very friendly and responsive... all we need can be fulfilled just in minutes. if wee need to go to shopping center, the Indonesia Plaza, Grand Inonesia or EX plaza or ITC mangga dua are not so far from hotel. one thing that i think is averege in this hotel was the breakfast buffet was average in variety of food and the taste. but after all i really enjoy stay here and it was a great experience..

Room Tip: they have smoking room for smoker..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in late January & the hotel still retained its 70's to 80's charm even after renovating in 2011. The service overall has improved compared to before the renovations took place but it's still not at the same level as its peers.

Its draws remain in-place, such as:

1. Hotel located in central Jakarta but away from high-traffic & polluted streets
2. Quality restaurants (Japanese, Italian & Chinese)
3. Oversize pool & a separate children pool
4. Outdoor basketball & tennis courts
5. Very spacious garden
6. Nice jogging track
7. Nice gym

Of course, the Bogor Cafe still serves up the best oxtail soup ("sop buntut") in town. For the price, we really can't complain too much. However, some areas reek of smoke (i.e. lounge areas) & the service is inconsistent at best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last month for business trip and found it is a bit far from Jakarta airport. Luckily my flight was night time so I was not stucked in the traffic. My first impression for this hotel is the big and well decorated building showing the Management's concern about maintenance. Four security guards at the main entrance checking all vehicles entering the hotel, and another guard scanning all belongings before entering the hotel lobby.

After checking-in the bell boy lead me to the room and explained about hotel facilities & services which is very helpful. The room is big, clean and well maintained with all amenities. The only point which they should concern is WiFi in room. They did provide internet connection with LAN cord available but it is not applicable with today's situation which most people carry iPad instead of notebook.

Breakfast is well arranged and variety is good. However I have to wait for more than 15 minutes for a cup of coffee which is too late.

There is no convenience store or any shop around this hotel so please buy anything you need before entering the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Borobudur Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borobudur Jakarta

Address: Jalan Lapangan Banteng Selatan | PO Box 1329, Jakarta 10710, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#21 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#26 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borobudur Jakarta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borobudur is located at Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers fully air-conditioned rooms and suites, all of which have keycard system, socket for shaver, and satellite TV with 57 channels. Some of its amenities include Flores Ballroom, Klub Borobudur, and Spa Borobudur. While staying here, it is a must for you to try the Bruschetta Restaurant, which offers fine Italian cuisine and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Borobudur Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jakarta
Jakarta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borobudur Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.