We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greatest hotel in indonesia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borobudur Jakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borobudur Jakarta to your Saves list
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Lapangan Banteng Selatan | PO Box 1329, Jakarta 10710, Indonesia (Sawah Besar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 345 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“greatest hotel in indonesia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

I choose borobudur hotel for my wedding reception, and as a compliment they give me bridal suite room. The room is beyond my expectation, it is large, very clean, with two bathroom, living room, fax, you name it. The hotel staffs are very friendly, the lobby is great, elegant. You dont have to wait for the elevator, it will come as fast as you press the button.
I felt like in food paradise when i enjoyed my breakfast, it was great, the best breakfast i ever had, there were croissant, doughnut, salad, yoghurt, and also porridge. There is legendary "oxtail soup" in this hotel, most indonesian believe as the best oxtail soup in jakarta, you try it once and you will ask for more. other menus are also delicious, the hotel serve also italian, and japanese food, as well as local cuisine. The location is also good, it is located in central district of jakarta, you can go to Catedral on food, and few minutes by taxi to national monument and thamrin business area. My family stayed at deluxe room, which are as good as the suite, what ever you purpose just take the borobudur hotel jakarta. You must see the very large garden and well maintain swimming pool.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    253
    77
    27
    13
See reviews for
77
66
35
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

Our main reason for choosing this hotel was other reviewers' description of "an oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Jakarta". We agree wholeheartedly with all positive reviews. We had a brilliant stay at the Borobudur. Smily, helpful staff. Good beds, quiet rooms. We liked the glass basin in our bathroom. Large pool set in a nice garden; we couldn't hear the Jakarta traffic. We were given an upgrade to "Executive room", which was brilliant and quiet. Yes, it was a bit of a walk from the lifts but who cares. Returning one evening, our room had not been cleaned and within 10 minutes of our phone call to the concierge, an apologetic cleaner arrived. We normally like to eat outside of hotels but the food at the Borobudur was so good that we didn't. We were lucky to be there on a night of "Indonesian buffet". Wow! One of the best we've ever had anywhere in the world (and we travel a lot). We also liked the Japanese restaurant. The hotel is within a short walking distance of the Freedom statue, Gambir train station (good for our onward journey to Yogyakarta), and the Merdeka square with the national monument. We needed to rest and relax after our long flight from London and this hotel was a really good choice.

  • Liked — the hotel's massage was the best I've ever had
  • Disliked — large smoking section in the hotel's "Cafe" restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

I first stayed here in one of the apartments for several months when posted to Jakarta in 1994. August 07 was my first stay in the hotel since then and to be honest it has not changed very much.

The best part of the hotel is still the huge grounds and well maintained 50 metre swimming pool - which was virtaully emplty when I stayed their mid week. It really is an oasis in the middle of the big durian.

I took advantage of the room upgrade to the club level rooms - well worth it I think as the free breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails served in the private 18th floor lounge saved a fortune on the expensive hotel restaurants. The room was recently refurbished and was up to 4 **** standards - great views as well. Service was very good and security tight but unobtrusive.

The hotel seemed pretty empty even though it was national day - doesn't seem like many expats use it nowadays which is a shame because they do seem to be trying hard to please. UK pound to Rupiah rates make it a real bargain!

  • Liked — Pool and grounds
  • Disliked — restaurant prices
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

Grand Soeharto era hotel showing it's age and lack of investment. Main attraction is huge gardens and pool - great if you have a young family with you. Also a bit of a sense of 'The Year of Living Dangerously'. Restaurants not bad. Close to major government offices and departments, well located for Old Town and not bad for CBD. Guest
rooms definetely very tired - ancient sanitary wear and plumbing. Worn out tables and chairs, 1980's TV. Tiny bathrooms best described as chipped round the edges - plenty of hot water, but no water pressure at least on higher floors. Business club is a pale imitation
of others on offer in Jakarta and has a mean selection of cheap F&B on offer for limited periods only. Single internet enabled PC in exec
club is a sad joke - the world's slowest internet connection and KGB style security to get on for your 1-hour-only ration, which you need at the rate of 5 minutes per e-mail! Badly in need of a wake-up call and some serious investment to regain the pace.

  • Liked — location, garden, grand - hotel history and feel
  • Disliked — tired rooms, token effort exec club lounge, woeful internet access
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

This hotel has a lot of positive features but some significant shortcomings. On the positive side, it is in an excellent location in central Jakarta. The lobby and restaurants are spacious and beautiful, the gardens and pool are very nice and a great break from the busy city.

When you get to your room, you will be shocked at how it doesn't seem to match the rest of the property. The carpet must be original and the hotel just celebrated its 33 year birthday. The dirt is everywhere from the walls to the bathroom. Paint and caulk are missing and the "automatic" light on the closet didn't work. There is very limited storage space for clothes. The hot water kettle is bolted to a shelf in the closet so when you prepare your coffee/tea your clothes get steamed.

I thought the problem couldn't be that pervasive so I asked to change rooms. The staff showed me another room that was identical in its poor state except the closet light worked. I agreed to change and was given the key to a 3rd room that was identical to the one I moved from including the broken closet light and with the addition that the thermostat was older and difficult to regulate.

Consider other hotels in the area.

  • Liked — Park-like setting, pool, track
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

My wife, our 1 1/2 yr old son and I stayed in Jakarta for 4 months. We first stayed at the Hilton, now called something else. because it was right across the street from work. The rooms were spacious though a bit dated. The facilities were nice, many tennis courts, two pools, a nice fitness center, ok restaurants and located close to a park with soccer and basketball courts. The childrens' play aria was a bit lacking. There wasn't much grounds to speak of.

The borobudur was recommeded to us and we checked it out. The room was spacious enough for all three of us. The two bedroom was TOO spacious if you can believe that. We found the security comforting, the staff at all levels to be consistently professional and courteous and the grounds very nice to walk around. The facilties includes a covered full length basketball court (the sincher for me), 2 uncovered and 2 covered tennis courts, a 700m cushioned path for running or walking that flowa around the perimeter of the grounds, a gym with strength machines, free weights, aerobic machines and classes, saunas, very attentive staff and beautiful large pool. There is a nice outdoor play area and indoor kids place also. We tried all 3 or 4 of the restaurants there and were very pleased with them all. There is also a bakery for fresh baked treats, cakes, quiches and loaves.

The very comforting environment made us forget that we were in the middle of Jaktown. Tho' not in the center of the city, there is easy acess to the main roads and highways. It is also near the national mall, which, being from Washington, DC, rivals the US national mall easily. There are also basketball courts and soccer fields across the street in addition to a full size track.

Next time we need to stay for more than a bit in Jakarta, we will stay at the Borobudur.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
789 reviews 789 reviews
263 hotel reviews
Reviews in 262 cities Reviews in 262 cities
1,902 helpful votes 1,902 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

The hotel sits in a cool green oasis right in the middle of central jakarta which is a huge attraction however the hotel itself is a little less grand.
The rooms are fine but seem a little bare and really don't match up to the grand lobby and grounds. As well the hotel is very large so some are a long walk from the lift.
The hotels' biggest weak point however is its service which can be a little abrupt even verging on the rude. certainly not 5 star standard.
Although the grounds are lovely and the food good in my opinion better hotels can be had for this price in Jakarta.

  • Liked — the grounds
  • Disliked — The service
  • Tips/Secrets — Book through a local travel agent for the best rate
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borobudur Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borobudur Jakarta

Address: Jalan Lapangan Banteng Selatan | PO Box 1329, Jakarta 10710, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#26 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#34 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Borobudur Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borobudur is located at Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers fully air-conditioned rooms and suites, all of which have keycard system, socket for shaver, and satellite TV with 57 channels. Some of its amenities include Flores Ballroom, Klub Borobudur, and Spa Borobudur. While staying here, it is a must for you to try the Bruschetta Restaurant, which offers fine Italian cuisine and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Borobudur Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jakarta
Jakarta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borobudur Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.