We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Room. Good Staff Service. Good Chinese and Japanese Restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Jakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Jakarta to your Saves list
Gran Melia Jakarta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan H.R. Rasuna Said Kav X-0 - Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #13 of 345 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Nice Room. Good Staff Service. Good Chinese and Japanese Restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel has a very good room. The work desk is near to the window edge and guess what behind the desk is not just a chair but a long sofa occupying the entire length of the edge of the glass window. This allow you to stretch your leg if you are tired and maybe take a nap there. :-) Otherwise you could also read a book with the natural light coming in from the glass window by sitting on that sofa. This kind of design is really impressive and good and the first I ever see in a hotel room. Really makes you feel like home and comfortable. The window has motorized blind which is pretty cool and convenient. Bathroom were very well done, new, clean and comfortable and the lightings relax and yet bright and soothing. Beds were comfortable.

The staff is really responsive and go all out to help.

The Chinese and Japanese restaurant serves good and delicious food.

The location of the hotel is not near to any shopping malls or restaurants or food place but it is still okay to me as I mostly have my dinner before back to the hotel. Plus I need to catch up on work emails leaving less time to go out so I am not entirely bother by the location. As mentioned, the good food of the Chinese and Japanese restaurant is a consolation to a day of busy work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge L K, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

What can I say apart from “Thank you” for taking the time to posting your excellent experience at Gran Melia Jakarta.

We are delighted that Gran Melia’s renovated room especially the long sofas, food and most important the service provided by our team proved to be convenient and enjoyable for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kindest regards,


Manuel Quiros
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    182
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
39
52
29
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel made me realise the difference that good staff make to the overall experience of staying in any hotel.

Indeed, it is a very comfortable hotel with many trimmings and extras to take you away from the chaos of travelling within Jakarta as one would expect of this grand hotel of this standing.

Of course it's not cheap, but for what it is, I believe it is of reasonable value. As such, it does seem that many people on business do stay here.

Positive things to note:
1) Excellent and friendly staff who will help you as best they can
2) Spacious and comfortable rooms for a good sleep
3) Free wifi in the rooms (although it can be difficult to get online in the evenings when many people are using it)
4) Very good buffet breakfast with freshly squeezed juices
5) Free use of the well-equipped gym, swimming pool and tennis courts
6) Excellent daily room cleaning
7) Good Japanese and Chinese restaurants within the hotel. Great service with average to very good food.

On the downside:
1) Indonesia has some of the highest rates of smoking per capita in the world, and my major gripe was for this hotel to still have designated smoking areas in restaurant areas. In the main café area, there were times when the fumes would waft across the buffet. Also, allowing children to sit in these areas is, in my opinion, inadvisable which of course it is due to their parents/guardians. The staff working in these areas are also subject to the secondhand smoke too. Alas, it is all due to the society's habits and it is quite common to see this in other Asian countries, but perhaps the Gran Melia could become one of the few to be completely smoke-free and set a new standard in Asian hospitality industry.

2) The shower area was a little bit grubby especially in the corners/hinges (something you wouldn't tend to see in very high end hotels).

3) Occasionally you could hear the call for prayer from the nearby mosque between 5-6am depending on where your room was situated.

4) The tea provided for breakfast is not very good at all (weak with a chemical after taste...not just once but several times). Stick to the coffee.

5) There are very few options for eating outside of the hotel by walking distance. The nearest shopping malls are about 25-30 minutes walk and involves crossing over a few bridges and sidewalks with gaping holes.

In summary:
It's a very good hotel, with a few misgivings, but the staff make it an excellent refuge from the chaos of Jakarta.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room above the 6th floor if you don't want to hear the echo of the nightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge L K, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Aikoko,

Indeed, we sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to let us know your comments during your stay.

The result of your information enables us to identify problems and take corrective actions. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention.

Once again thank you for your kind patronage and looking forward to welcoming you back at Gran Melia Jakarta

Your faithfully,


Manuel Quiros
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hi,

A few point to note about this hotel, stayed here for 4 nights:
1) The hotel has good security measure in place to ensure residents feel secure and sound, not much of a hassle at all.
2) Check in and check out smooth.
3) The room are spacious, has good bed and pillow, no complain at all for a goodnight sleep.
4) The shower pressure is inconsistent, low pressure on the cold water, good standard toiletries given, nothing special.
5) Has a big LCD tv in the room, quite adequate channels
6) In room wifi was ok, not bad. Overall the entire hotel is wired i think, you get a good decent connection where ever you are in the hotel.
7) Has a complementary shoe polish service.
8) Room service and house keeping were very good and efficient at what they do.
9) Has turn down service.
10) The room has mini bar, safe-box, iron n board, hair-dryer, bathrobe and etc.
11) The location of the hotel not so good, as it requires some travelling going to the shopping malls or eateries, as all the shopping malls are not so close of a walking distance (I think), even if they are walking distance am not sure whether you want to walk on the road as the traffic are horrendous at peak times or most of the time.
12) You can call for a taxi at the lobby area whichever comes to drop off passenger or used the Silver Bird taxi service which is provided by the hotel (there is a counter inside the hotel). One occasion I took the taxi using Silver Bird to work but the taxi driver refused to give me my change and also receipt, maybe he was having a bad mood day...:(
13) The swimming pool is small.
14) There is a place on the ground level opposite the finance department whereby there a few tables and chairs position outside the hotel for whoever wants to go and have a smoke or relax for a fresh air, though the small garden by the area is not well maintain, suggestion maintain the grass and prune the trees and put a few tables over there too, its kinda of relaxing place within the surrounding greenery.
15) Generally all the staffs are friendly and welcoming.
16) Breakfast was generally ok, adequate food choices, has smoking place too within the area.I feel the choices could be better and taste can be better.
17) The hotel has a travel desk too, if you are planning of touring Jakarta, they can arrange a tour operator.
18) There is a shuttle service provided by the hotel to Kota Casablance Mall, only weekdays, I think.
Overall it was good stay, the only down side I feel is the location which is not near to all the places of interest, on the other hand it really depends on the purpose of your stay, business or leisure, that would define this hotel. The people of this hotel in general and across Jakarta are very nice, friendly, well mannered and helpful, that really touched me and made my trip to Jakarta a meaningful one.

Will I stay here again, only if other hotels are full, why because of the location.

Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge L K, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Your kind consideration in writing will be appreciated by our team for our review and further follow up.
We are delighted that you shall return to Gran Melia Jakarta and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Until that time, we remain,

Manuel Quiros
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just held a quite big convention (concert) here in Gran Melia Jakarta, and I think this is one of the most excellent hotel in town. Very great hospitalities from the Hotel's management.
Overall, the food and beverages in every restaurants and even the banquet stations taste very good, big and very convenient ballroom, also got the perfect access from the street.
Love the room's ambiance and interior, especially the Etro amenities.
Kinda good place to stay in town. Definitely will come back to held another event or maybe just to stay for a quick getaway to relax. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge L K, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Kez,

Thank you so much for taking the time to posting your excellent experience at Gran Melia Jakarta.

We are so glad that you find the function room, accommodation; restaurants were as per your expectations.

Assuring you that the teams here intend to keep it that way and improve further on a daily basis.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.



Manuel Quiros
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

But I liked the ambience and the setting. Unfortunately for me at the wrong corner in Jakarta. Otherwise it would be a thought worthwhile to stay there on one of my next trips.

Btw. breakfast I had was good and very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPerryGranMelia, General Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir,
We appreciate your kind words and only regret that our location for your business needs was not ideal.
Hoping that business demands more meetings in this central CBD district soon so we may have the pleasure of your company once again.
With kindest regards,
David
David G.A. Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was possible to stay very at ease because there was a Japanese staff.
And The Japanese food restaurant at the hotel was able to be satisfied of the Japanese
food that seemed to be Japan from Japan.
I will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPerryGranMelia, General Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Your kind consideration in writing will be appreciated by Chef Ito Tomoaki and his team as well our Japanese Team Members and the team here as a whole

You are correct regarding our Japanese food where we constantly source fresh items from Japan with our commitment to bringing the world’s best cuisine to our guests. Our Japanese Restaurant Yoshi Izakaya as well as our Japanese section in Café Gran Via demands such.

We are delighted that you shall return to Gran Melia Jakarta and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Until that time, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I and 5 others spent 4 days in this marvellous hotel in Jakarta during the recent flooding (January 2013) Our training event was cancelled.The service was excellent throughout the lounge/lobby awesome with running water and live music every night. The restaurants were good with a wide range of choice. The room was massive with neat modern facilities and the most comfortable bath I have ever relaxed in. The pool was cool at 27 degrees but the hot chocolate in the lobby afterwards more than made up for it.
There is not a great deal to do around the local area, a small local market by the side of the hotel and a small shopping mall just down the road but watching the local moped drivers missing the other traffic is quite entertaining.
The hotel was a haven of peace and quiet and a great place to relax after the stress of the day. The double escalators up to the lounge were amazing.

Room Tip: The 17th floor has a view to impress anyone who can be comfortable at the height.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPerryGranMelia, General Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Steve,

Two and a half weeks ago we received a great review from a gentleman, whose name appears in his profile a little further down the page, which rated the hotel 5 out of 5 with the guest having arrived at 10pm one night and leaving at 5.30 am the next morning. We were naturally delighted that such a brief introduction to the hotel experience made such a positive impression. Now I read your review in which you found yourself in Jakarta, a city suffering from floods at that time, with torrential rain and a 5 day stay at Gran Melia with your planned training event suddenly cancelled.

To rate us 5 and of 5 describing the experience as marvelous gives me even more reason to Congratulate the team here than was perhaps the case two and a half weeks ago. Thank you.

More good news…..the weather forecasts are looking better. You must come back and try the pool in the glorious Jakarta sunshine soon.

Warmest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Jakarta

Address: Jalan H.R. Rasuna Said Kav X-0 - Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in the prestigious financial and diplomatic district in the heart of Jakarta, a few minutes from the highway and 30 km from the Soekarno-Hatta international airport. Just 10 minutes from the commercial district, 15 minutes from the National Museum and Presidential Palace and 20 minutes from the nearest golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Melia Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Sol Melia Jakarta
Jakarta Gran Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.