We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 5 Star Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia (Tanah Abang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend City Escape
Ranked #4 of 329 Hotels in Jakarta
maidenhead
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“True 5 Star Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Lovely place. A true 5 star hotel. Lovely service. nice clean modern rooms and breakfast was lush! It also has a really good bar downstairs which turned into a nightclub which was fun. Would stay at this hotel again next time I am in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    203
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
59
57
56
492
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had an incredible stay - this hotel has everything ! The room itself, and the level of service from the hotel staff was first class. There is a great choice of restaurants - amazing buffet breakfast, awesome Sunday brunch at Rosso and a lively night club too. As well as the main swimming pool and paddling pool, at the weekend the hotel also offers additional children's activities, (at no charge for hotel guests), inculding pony rides in the hotel garden. For guests who want to shop, the hotel is just a 5 minute taxi ride from the Grand Indonesia shopping mall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Breakfast was awesome.

Short cab ride to Plaza Indonesia.

Staff were well trained and very polite. Helped me to book transportation to West Jakarta to meet an important business partner. Process was fuss free and pleasant.

Recommended for business travellers.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Over the last six weeks I have stayed twice in the Shangri-La, Jakarta. The same very high standards were in evidence during both stays which was very impressive and indicative of a good hotel. The staff are dedicated to offering this wonderful hospitality of the highest order which speaks well of the senior management in training them accordingly and making them feel a part of the overall team of this hotel.

Room Tip: I personally stay on the Horizon Club floor for the extra comfort and use of the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I spent two nights in the Jakarta Shangri-La in March, 2014 and as always, the Shangri-La staff exceeded my expectations. The level of service and attentiveness is excellent without being overbearing. Wireless connection in the room and Horizon lounge was good and allowed for uninterrupted work. Additionally, the room was very comfortable. I had time for a workout in the health club and spa, where the facilities are very good. Was traveling on business, and would recommend the Shangri-La Jakarta to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for business. Arriving late on a Sunday eveving from the airport at about 11pm, given the high level of security at the hotel, I didn't expect to be confronted by large numbers of prostitutes coming and going from the Bats Bar downstairs. Seeing a young lady almost being dragged into an elevator by a very drunken expat in front of the security staff was a bit distressing. Not what I expected of the Shangri-La Hotel brand.
Room was reasonably comfortable.
Breakfast was good.
Cost of food, drinks and the room rate was pretty steep for Indonesian hotel.
Next trip I think I will loom for alternate accommodation.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a non-smoking floor, even though you can still smell cigarette smoke on these flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Anthony B,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am disappointed to hear about your less than perfect experience with us and I would like to assure you that instant measures have been taken to correct the shortcomings. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope we will be able to welcome you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Juergen Doerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after staying at the Kempinski and the Mulia before, I am a bit of a junkie of the fitness facilities. This gym is open 24hrs and has a sauna, steam room, spa and a plunge pool. Excellent equipment. The breakfast was arguably one of the best I have ever experienced in the world. The service, food and outdoor pool were great. Will definitely be staying again next visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Address: Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#6 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#8 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.