We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia (Tanah Abang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 332 Hotels in Jakarta
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Luxury business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hi stayed at the Shangri-La hotel for 5 nights on a business trip. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, the hotel gym is extensive and the room service is quite good. There is also free wi-fi in the rooms. The hotel has a high level of security. There are several restaurants on site that are all good to eat in. Lovely grounds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    205
    44
    17
    8
See reviews for
60
57
56
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oz
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is the second time I stayed there for business, the two trips were about 12 months apart.

It's Shangri La and you can't go wrong, it's a 5 star hotel and for this location it does live up to what it is. I've been to other hotels where the brand/chain is suppose to be 5 star but it's not.

Hotel staff is good. Food is good. Cleanliness of the rooms is good. Thumbs up!

While it's considered cheap to stay here when compared to other cities like Singapore, Sydney, New York etc but within Jakarta is slightly on the higher end or so I've been told.

Don't get me wrong, I would like to return here for pleasure if I was willing to folk out the dough. If you can get this hotel at a discount go for it, no need to think about it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Fast check in and awesome breakfast. The sauna and gym is fantastic. I tried to Italian restaurant there and also the room service and the food was lovely. The bed turning before bed was also a nice touch. Close to everything but not too close to where everything. Horizon club rooms are the same as the normal rooms but just that you get to use the lounge and have breakfast there. If your meetings aren't going to be at the hotel there isn't really a need. Overall, lovely amenities and service I love from the Shang.

Room Tip: I preferred the pool view side instead of the City side so I don't get the noise of the motorbik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is one of the best 5 stars hotel in Jakarta, which located in behind BNI 46 Building in Sudirman area, but the access location is free from 3-in-1 area. So very convenient to reach without time limit. The room is excelent, amenity is full, bath tub and shower is separated. Bed are comfort and cozy, too bad they only provide small chair instead of cozy sofa.

The breakfast, is Excellent at Satoo restaurant, one of my favourite buffet restaurant in Jakarta.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

In addition to being populated by lovely people who smile a lot, the rooms were huge, linen fresh and delightful to get under.
Live music in the evenings in the bar, a lively bar downstairs (mainly ex-pats) and Japanese restaurant.
The Italian restaurant is overpriced and service is so far below everything else in the hotel you wonder why they allow it to stay - vote to get rid of this particular restaurant or the manager :-)
If you get to stay a little, there is a lovely pool, wonderful for relaxing in and lounging around surrounded by a luscious park in the midst of this urban sprawl.
Good business service - would always recommend using the Exec floor where everything is thrown in....brilliant!

Room Tip: Nicest rooms look out over the canal at the front of the hotel. The ones at the back overlook the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I reserved a Horizon Club room at the special rate that my national business organisation has recently negotiated. On arrival three weeks later, that class of room was not available. We waited 30 minutes while they tried to find a room. Finally, they offered a downgraded room, but neglected to reduce the tariff. On my suggestion that an upgrade would be appropriate (as is usual practice when reserved rooms are not available), they said that it was only possible if we paid approximatley USD80 more per night. The executive room we were allocated was noisy - we could hear the lifts going up and down. When I complained, a marketing executive met with me and offered an upgrade and a tariff reduction on my current room. When we went to the new room (an unrenovated suite), it stank of smoke. Even the porter agree that we could not stay there.

Horizon Club is nice with efficient but unempowered staff (at least for check-ins). Prostitutes with clients late at nigh emerging from BATS are not a good look.

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms near the lift shafts - even rooms two away are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I love this hotel as the staff is courteous, people are friendly and polite, security is smooth and apologetic (for the inconvenience). breakfast food (Satoo) has a vast selection and you would never leave hungry, only confused on what to eat as there is too much (good problem to have). spa is also nice. room is spacious with ample space for working and a bit larger than the normal hotel room size, with fruits replenished daily. my only complain is that it seems to be far from everything and it's a bit of a walk to go outside the premises or you may have to take a cab (usually just Silver Cab is around). would definitely recommend this hotel if location/transportation is not an issue as it is very relaxing and sometimes there is no reason for you to leave anyway, except for business

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Address: Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#6 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#7 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.